2001 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 31 of 34

2001 Honda Civic EX 1.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Car is economical and convenient to drive, but not comfortable

Faults:

The most disturbing problem is the drivers seat rocks and moves during stopping and turning.

Other problems include center dash finish bubbled and peeled (being replaced) breaks dust accumulates and wheels make noise when braking (clears itself)

Cool morning start, car makes clicking and clacking noise in front and rear. Sounds like 'play' or something is 'shifting'. Happens on breaking and turning.

General Comments:

The car is roomy, comfortable on short trips. good on gas consumption. The trunk is very large and has lots of room, but still allows for two adults in the back.

Acceleration is slow on starts especially with AC running.

I recently developed a 'whistle; or 'squeal' when the driver's side window is full down. Sounds like air circulated in the window track on the side of the door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th October, 2002

4th Jun 2003, 02:52

Has anyone figured out a way to stop the clicking-clanking noise when the car breaks or turns on cold-starts?

2001 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance11600 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A comfortable.,good on gas, fast, car

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with this car as of yet.

The only thing that I have noticed was the side restraint system light that would not go off.

A major defect with the car is the tires, these tires do not hold the road well, in any non-dry weather.

General Comments:

The Honda Civic is a great car for someone who travels a lot.

The car is really good on gas.

Although it is a comfortable car, my legs still hurt after a long drive, this is because I'm 6 feet 4 inches.

The car is really good with the acceleration, this car is extremely fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

2001 Honda Civic TYPE R petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15005 kilometres
Most recent distance17800 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Amazing car from Honda..

Faults:

Noise from the wheels. went to dealer. turns out its the bridgestone potenza tyres that come with the car that do the noise.

General Comments:

An amazing sports car for a family guy. Very thrilling and yet economical. couldn't be happier with it.

Went to 240Km and had to remove the foot from the pedal... it wanted more...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

2001 Honda Civic Si-G (American equivalent = EX Vtech from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Vtech Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance8900 kilometres

Summary:

High performance dream car

Faults:

I haven't had any problems with the car. I absolutely love it.

General Comments:

My 2001 Civic hasn't given me any trouble whatsoever. It is a dream. It turns on a dime and has a smooth ride. I will never buy any other kind of car. It's smooth, quiet and gorgeous!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2002

2001 Honda Civic LX 1.7 liter 16-valve SOHC I-4 (1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 liter 16-valve SOHC I-4 (1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carHyundai Scoupe

Summary:

Performance sedan on the cheap

Faults:

- A rubber seal is loose around the rear right window, causing noticeable wind noise at higher speeds (fixed under warranty)

-paint chips very easily when hit with minor road debris.

General Comments:

I really love this car for what I paid. the engine is smooth and I love its high-revving nature (all the way to 6800 RPM!). The 5-speed manual tranny is also excellent Its light weigh and decent power allow me get ahead of most people with ease - passing is a no-brainer.

That light weight is also a fault because it gets blown around easily on a windy day or when you get in the wake of a tractor-trailer.

Fit and finish are superb, and it is roomier than my 1997 Accord, with much more headroom and even more trunk space. My only major gripe is that it feels less stable at higher speeds (above 100 mph) than other cars because of its tall profile. I partially solved that by getting a new set of Michelin T-rated tires (118 mph). I was really dissatisfied with the original tires (Firestone FR690s) that were rated for only 112 mph when it easily goes a governed 117 mph.

Other than that, I get excellent gas mileage and have never had even one mechanical problem. Hondas kick serious butt, and that's why I bought another one just a few months ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2002

2001 Honda Civic EX 1.7 SOHC VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 SOHC VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance5900 miles

Summary:

Great moves, good looking, and hot to trot - the Honda Civic!

Faults:

My car is by no means a lemon, but I think some of the common 2001-2002 Civic problems are starting to appear.

Gas gauge is erratic; I trust the odometer more than the gauge. Dealer says the gas light is supposed to come on at 1/4 of a tank... I think not.

Driver's seat rocks and clicks/rattles in turns.

Occasional interior rattles.

Gas mileage has been low. I am not a crazy, lead-footed driver, but even so my miles per gallon in the city has been around 22-25, which is lower than stated on the window sticker, and far too low for a supposedly gas sipping Civic.

General Comments:

Although it may seem otherwise by the problems listed above, I love my car.

It drives really smoothly, and there is a general feeling of quality all around. The engine is very rev-happy and willing, but to make the most power for hills and acceleration it is really helpful if the AC is off. In general though, the car is peppy.

The car is a confident handler; by no means a BMW, but it isn't a shopping cart either.

Really, really roomy inside. This is the first Civic not classified as a subcompact, but rather as a compact, and the roomy nature of the car can really be felt by the back seat passengers in terms of legroom. Also, the trunk is quite large, and it is able to hold lots of stuff with room so spare.

There is just a feel-good sense about the car that makes it fun to drive every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

23rd Jul 2002, 13:22

I agree with you completely. I too have had the same problems with my 2001 Honda Civic. These problems include Interior Noises especially on bad roads, not so reliable gas gauge, and extremely low gas mileage. When driving over bumps the ride is not cushioned and you really feel each bump. I have the same problem with the gas gauge in that I thought I had gas, then all of a sudden the next time I use the car it is on empty. The mileage I get for this car is low as well, I average 20 to 22 miles per gallon.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 115 reviews