2001 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 32 of 34

2001 Honda Civic LX 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance38500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Worth an extended warranty!

Faults:

Driver seat started rocking at 20000Km.

One of the rubber strips on the roof fell off on highway.

Front left suspension became loose after 30000Km. The dealer changed the whole front left suspension (aren't they supposed to change both left and right in any case?).

Front right suspension became loose rear suspension started squeeking at 35000Km. Dealer will change all three suspensions.

General Comments:

This is my fourth and last Honda. In the past, I went to the dealer STRICTLY for oil changes. I never had any problem with my Civics.

With the 2001, I went about 7 times to the dealer in 1 year!

Bumper-to-bumper warranty ends at 60000Km. It is now at 38000Km and all suspension have been changed. Should I expect to have them changed again at 80000Km? Once the warranty is over, I am not so sure I will appreciate the bill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

19th Jul 2002, 15:17

Give it time we have had our Honda for over 20 years. It will grow on you.

24th Sep 2002, 08:53

I can sympathize with your concerns with your new Honda. I have a 2001 Civic LX as well, and I have had nothing but problems, brakes, steering, even seat moldings and column covers! It seems like every time I bring it in for service, something else goes wrong. They definitely don't make Hondas like they used to. My last car was a Civic DX. I had the car for 6 years, 119,000 miles, and I never had to do anything to it, but change the oil either. Good Luck!

2001 Honda Civic Type-R 2.0 i-vtec from Portugal

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 i-vtec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3800 kilometres
Previous carHonda del Sol

Summary:

Best buy quality/price ratio

Faults:

A lady with a huge pickup truck broke my front bumper, had to wait 2 months for a new one. A very bad Honda logistic service.

General Comments:

A very good car in all means, lots of power, but little grip in the first few meters if you push the gas pedal hard. In bumpy roads your back will complain after a few kilometers, but is a pure sports car, what you expect? You can go side by side or a little in front of a S2000. Best buy quality/price ratio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

2001 Honda Civic LX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance24000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Unreliable, overpriced piece of junk

Faults:

Interior rattles irritating.

Fuel gauge erratic.

Numerous paint chips on the front of the hood and fenders. Many tiny windshield nicks also. Cannot imagine what front of car will look like in a few years!

Buzzing noise from steering column if the key is not turned fast enough - service manager says it is normal.

Standard cassette unit very weak performer - cheap.

Engine noise. Whole car shakes.

Front seats are very uncomfortable.

Low ground clearance. Only car I've ever been stuck in the snow with!!

I've also had trouble with the A/C and the body panels dent if you just look at them.

General Comments:

Gutless, especially when the air is on.

Very bad noise on the shifter - grinds into reverse, they say this is normal, gas pedal sticks, they say this is normal?

Noise from the front windows, window crank digs into my leg, tough getting out of so low to ground. Would really improve if the seat was more height adjustable etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

2001 Honda Civic EX 1.7 VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 VTEC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired128 miles
Most recent distance4055 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

The car is just fair

Faults:

Since I have owned the car new for two months now, there has been a vibration in the steering/front end at 50 MPH and up. It has been to the dealer at least three times. The rims have been replaced and the wheels balanced along with a complete front end check. The vibration is still with the car and I am waiting for Honda of America District Manager to observe the problem. Has anyone experienced this problem with the 2001 Civic EX Sedan?

General Comments:

Overall the car is fairly nice. I did have some problems with the assembly such as loose molding and a flaw on the rear seat. I have heard so much about Honda, but I am somewhat disappointed so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2001

26th May 2002, 07:18

Try changing brakes, worked for me.

31st May 2002, 01:09

The problem with vibration above 50 MPH is with the struts, have it replace. This is a defect in some of Civics made in 2001 . A Honda Civic Owner.

8th Oct 2002, 16:54

I have a 2002 Civic and I think I have the same problem. It sounds more like a "tick". I took the car back to the dealer 3 times, and they found it was the front strut. They tried various things such as lubricating parts around the strut. It did not work. The strut had to be replaced...

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 115 reviews