1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport V6 4.0L from North America


It's expensive to own, but it pays for itself in many ways


My speaker on the front, passenger side does not work.

The screw for one of my door hinges came out. It was re-inserted, for free, by my mechanic.

My heating/cooling system does not work all of the time.

I found out from a friend, and the Internet, that the year of my car was recalled for rusting of the rotor. This is a problem because I live in the "salt belt". Now I have to check with the dealer to see if the rotors have been changed since the recall.

There are too many hiding spaces underneath the car for stray animals. Every Spring, my car purrs like a kitten before I turn on the engine.

General Comments:

When I got the car I was surprised by how fast it can go. Getting on and off Interstate-95 is no longer a challenge.

Because I can see the entire vehicle, parallel parking is easier than in car.

In the Winter of 2002, I parked on ice by accident. If I did not have 4 wheel drive, I would not have gotten off the ice. That season, I also got hit by someone driving an old Ford truck. There was very little damage to my Jeep.

The front of the Ford was badly damaged.

My sister also got into an accident in her Jeep Grand Cherokee. The car that hit her had to be totaled. Her car just needed the tail pipe re-attached.

Once, while driving, a car side-swiped my truck. I did not feel anything. In fact, I wondered why the driver of the car stopped in the middle of the street. It was not until the next morning, as I was getting into the my truck, that I saw small scuff marks and the slightly crooked plastic end cap for the bumper. All of the above is the reason why I only think about getting into car accidents when there is another Jeep around.

The best thing about my Jeep is when my nieces want to, "Step out in style." they park their car and ask to borrow my Jeep. I feel cool, even though I am getting older.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2003

2nd Apr 2004, 11:39

If the recalled rotors have been changed there will be a letter "S" on them.

My speaker does not work either.

Marty (Ohio)

14th Nov 2006, 17:33

My girlfriend has a 98 Cherokee, and loves it.

The only problem we have with it is, the passenger automatic window switch will only work when the weather gets below freezing, funny huh! I can't seem to find the problem. but it keeps me busy searching for it.

26th Feb 2008, 15:38

I have noticed that my windows and door locks only work if the doors are closed.

1998 Jeep Cherokee limited 4.0 from UK and Ireland


A car for occasional use


Wheels have corroded badly.

Steering shock needed replacing at 60000.

Servicing at main agent v.expensive.

General Comments:

Family loves the ride.

Mother says it is the only car she doesn't feel car sick in.

The car feels unsophisticated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America


Gas Hog definitely, but dependable!


The catalytic converter guts broke loose at 80000 miles and would rattle until I removed them.

Very hard on suspension and brakes. shocks have been replaced twice and brakes 4-5 times.

Air conditioning will need recharged this season because it isn't cooling right.

General Comments:

This is my second Jeep I previously owned a 1989 Jeep Laredo 4.0L both vehicles have been very reliable although the gas mileage is lousy at around 15 mpg I maintain my vehicles and change oil every 3-4k miles. If you can handle the crappy mileage it's a great vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

7th Dec 2003, 00:12

I can honestly say I do not know where you would get that the jeep is a gas hog. My jeep I filled up and went on a road trip that was 478 miles and it was barely on a ? of a tank. I also own a 1998 jeep Cherokee 4.0. however do you have the in-line six? or the 4 cylinder? You may e-mail me at warren87401@hotmail.com.

21st May 2004, 20:04

No doubt, Jeeps are gas hogs. Just look at the EPA rating.

23rd Jan 2005, 14:33

I bought my Jeep 2 months ago with 150,000 miles on it. It is in perfect condition. No leaks, problems, etc.

It sucks gas big time!.. I put a cat-back exhaust system on it... since then I get approx 14mpg in city and 21 highway.. It is a bullet-proof motor. I just worry about the cooling system, as living in San Diego the secondary fan keeps coming on.. My coolant has been flushed and changed, however that fan keeps coming on. Also, when I park, after the A/C has been on... the water that drops off of the A/C unit is amazing.. id have to put it at close to a gallon. (a line of water about 30ft long) Is this something to be worried about?..

Please if anyone knows, email me : haggisgood2001@yahoo.com.

I would like to discuss vehicle history, probs, etc.


11th Nov 2006, 19:08

I have a 98 jeep Cherokee sport with a stick shift and I can usually average around 19 in the city and 25-26 mpg on the highway depending on my speed.

7th Dec 2006, 23:54

I have a 1994 jeep sport, yes, I also get a lot of water coming down from the A/C... it's actually weird. As far as gas it's not the best, not the worst. The thing I disslike the most is the ride, it's very shaky..