1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L in line 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L in line 6 Automatic
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great all around vehicle

Faults:

My Jeep shuts off when the gas tank is at 1/4 tank or lower. I have to stop, put in back into park and start it again. It always starts back up. Does anyone know why this happens. It is a Jeep Cherokee Sport 1998.

General Comments:

I love this SUV.

Other than this, nothing has gone wrong with it yet.

I change the oil regularly.

I have replace all tires.

I did the 60,000 mile tune-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2004

2nd Oct 2004, 20:17

My Jeep stalls during left hand turns when there is less than a quarter tank of gas. Does any one know what is up?

9th Dec 2004, 15:23

I think your problem may be electrical, I have a 1998 Jeep Cherokee (and I still have my '87 limited) and it would stall like yours did on 1/4 tank. Brought it to the dealer and they fixed it under warranty. They said it was electrical.

1st Feb 2005, 21:57

I have a 99 cherokee and this is your problem: You have a fuel pump/ filter assembly in the tank which has a weep hole like a water pump. It's bad. The cost in Alabama is 340 dollars. If it takes awhile to crank simple turn the key on and off 3-4 times and she'll crank right up. I don't care for this design flaw, but we gotta deal with it. As far as the left turn signal goes- I got the same problem and I've yet to replace the unit so I keep it at over half a tank.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline six Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59744 miles
Most recent distance64235 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

The rear brake shoe on the drivers side broke apart. It cost me $100 for a brake job.

General Comments:

I love this Jeep.

Performance and acceleration are superb.

This Jeep is very reliable.

Great four wheel drive capability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A wonderful Investment

Faults:

We have had the Jeep since 2000, and it's ran great. We just recently had to replace the transmission, and now it runs even better than before.

General Comments:

This Jeep handles great.

I like how it takes off fast at the stoplights.

The jeep has lots of power.

The Jeep makes a great family car.

I feel safe in the Jeep.

I just wish it had a little more room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

23rd Feb 2004, 01:30

It was said that you had to replace the transmission, anyone know approximately how much did that cost? did you go new or rebuilt? what mileage did you have problems? also cat. converter is going bad, should I go factory or aftermarket upgrade, and what kind of performance upgrades has anyone done?

Rmthomp@hotmail.com would appreciate any comments.

4th Oct 2004, 18:33

I've heard that the Automatic Transmissions on Jeeps often have problems and need to be replaced around 100,000 miles. Does anyone who owns one, or works on them frequently, know anything about this? I'm looking at a 1998 with about 90 thousand miles and I don't want to replace the transmission in another 10. Any comments about this or any other expensive problems they tend to have would be great. Feel free to email me at mpheysey@yahoo.com.

4th Mar 2005, 14:02

The funny thing is that the part that is notorious for having problems, the transmission, is from Japan.

3rd Jan 2008, 09:57

I've just replaced the transmission after 75,000 miles (bought the '98 Jeep used at 50,000 miles 3 years ago). It cost $2400 for a re-built in NY.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48900 miles
Most recent distance60100 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Fast fun four wheeler

Faults:

There have been absolutely no problems with the Jeep. The only thing I've done is take it in for regular scheduled maintenance and changed the oil every 3,000 miles. I also changed the tires as they were old.

General Comments:

-I love my Jeep. Definitely one of the best vehicles ever designed (and by my favorite company AMC).

-The 4.0 is robust, powerful and has a good lineage.

-The Jeep rides a bit rough, but it's not wearing or unbearable.

-The Cherokee is surprisingly powerful, easily cruising at 80+ up steep grades with no problem. The acceleration is also very snappy and it has bested many suprised sport compact drivers at stoplights.

-The Jeep is also very competent off road. It's gone through everything I've thrown at it without fuss.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

15th Oct 2004, 09:45

Just so you know Chrysler Corp built your Jeep better than AMC.

9th Mar 2006, 11:03

Built, yes, but the previous post was directed at the design, which amazingly, was executed at the late and lamented AMC.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews