1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 7 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 I-6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Jeep Cherokee is a sturdy, reliable, well built car

Faults:

An extremely reliable, trustworthy car. I used it to tow a camper, a motorboat, a sailboat, and a utility trailer grossly overloaded with junk. I replaced the starter at 130,000 miles. Brakes, battery, tires, and usual stuff as expected. Working on this car is a pleasure and a breeze!

General Comments:

This is an extremely useful car for towing, camping, or anything. Plenty of lockable storage, great towing capacity, good looks and reliability. My favorite car, by far!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

1998 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Love it, will have it for life!

Faults:

Electrical mainly.

Horn, cruise, radio, door locks, odometer

They all cut out. I found out it was because of a ground. Above the pedals.

General Comments:

Has anyone installed rear door actuators? How do you install them? THANKS!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L six from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance247000 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

Best SUV ever made

Faults:

Nothing, I have just kept up with the regular maintenance; oil changed every 2K, transmission, transfer case, and axle fluid changed every 10,000.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable. It's got 247,000 miles on the original engine and transmission, and still runs strong. I go off roading with it at least once a week, and I have never gotten stuck or broke anything. You will not regret buying a Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75528 miles
Most recent distance75528 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

So far I love it

Faults:

Gas gauge is starting to malfunction.

Clunking noise in the front end when traveling on bumpy roads.

Windows only work from the drivers side switch.

General Comments:

This machine has tons of power and is very fast when you need to pass another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Simple, reliable, no-frills 4x4

Faults:

We have had a radiator get plugged and cause the vehicle to overheat.

General Comments:

The vehicle is actually a very nice machine. So far, very reliable.

Excellent in the snow, but I do wish I bought one with full-time 4wd.

Actually, it is NOT so great in the snow unless you get REAL snow tires and put about 175 pounds of sand in the back.

After that, it is the BEST car I have ever driven in the snow. (no kidding!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic Six cylinder 4 litre from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Six cylinder 4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Generally reliable and basic SUV at a good price

Faults:

Emergency Brake handle broken - 80,000 miles.

Battery replacement - 40,000 miles.

A/C broken - 90,000 miles.

Serpentine belt replacement - 90,000 miles.

Replace front brake pads - 85,000 miles.

Gauges can be finicky. Sometimes don't always work. Started at 80,00 miles.

General Comments:

I have talked to several Jeep mechanics and all have said that these problems are generally pretty common on mid size Cherokees.

They have also all said that the 4.0 liter is a rock solid engine. It has 99,000 miles and I hope to run it until about 150,000 miles.

I have driven my Cherokee all over the east coast and put about 20,000 miles a year on it. I have taken pretty good care of it. I change the oil regularly, change the spark plugs, change the air filter, flush the transmission fluid etc.

Its generally very reliable and, other than the quirks mentioned above, has been an inexpensive no frills value for an SUV. I'd like to buy another Jeep in a few years, but I'm not sold on the Liberty yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

2nd Oct 2007, 17:36

I have the same jeep with 200,000 miles on it and it runs like new they r good trucks.

23rd Mar 2008, 21:09

I too have the same Jeep. Could a cracked exhaust manifold cause the engine to suddenly run poorly? I also have 200,000 on my Jeep.

18th Sep 2009, 11:04

I am 17 years old and I'm looking for a Jeep Cherokee Classic. I have found one from an offroad body shop mechanic who has 6.5 inches lift on it. It's a 98 and has 200,000 miles on it. It's going for $3000. I know it has a lot of miles, but it's my dream Jeep, lifted and everything. Would it last a while longer, say 50,000 miles? It's most likely been taken good care of maintenance wise.

18th Sep 2009, 15:17

To the 17 year-old looking at the lifted Cherokee.

As a lifelong Jeep enthusiast & owner I would have to say stay away from a highly modified, high mileage Jeep such as this one, as you should start off with a lower mileage stock Jeep. Please remember that any older vehicle can be a money pit, but also a 6 1/2 inch lift can make the vehicle a handful to drive.

18th Sep 2009, 19:41

That's a bit iffy. It might, but you have no way of knowing if he has ever rolled it or done any serious damage to it. If it's been off-roaded frequently, that would be counted as a abuse. It may last another 50,000, or it could be totally dead within a thousand. Plus my advice is that you never buy anything being sold at a body shop, because that is basically a dead give away that it has been in an accident. In any case, if you do decide to buy it, realize this, $3,000 is way too much money to pay for it.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews