1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited I-6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Good truck

Faults:

My jeep has developed a suspension thump when I hit bumps or ruts. The thump almost sounds like the spring is hitting the frame!

General Comments:

The jeep is great except for the bad gas mileage (I live in the mountains), and the suspension knock! any ideas on how to fix the suspension would be appreciated!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

16th Nov 2005, 08:42

On my 98 cherokee, I had the same suspension knock, but I ended up replacing the rubber bushings where the back shocks connected to the vehicle and it fixed it right up. $3 rubber bushings and it was good as new.

25th May 2008, 12:07

Yes, check the shock bushings - this is common, these wear out.

And, leave the 3" lift alone - this ruins the vehicle and creates driveability issues. There's a reason only 19 year old kids do this; big waste of money and time.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 I6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great SUV and very reliable

Faults:

No faults with tis car. I have maintained the vehicle myself and have taken great care of it.

General Comments:

The only bad thing about this car is the gas mileage. If you are willing to pay for the gas you get all the power this baby can pump out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2004

1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Great to look at, but prone to repairs

Faults:

Check engine light came on as I was getting ready to drive it off the lot (bought it used). Dealership replaced the thermostat.

There used to be a loud grinding sound when I made tight turns, but it just went away after a while. The dealership couldn't find the problem supposedly.

Expensive brake repair around 50,000 miles.

Alternator went bad around 60,000 miles.

Battery and cables corrode pretty quickly. I've been stranded a number of times as a result.

Thermostat and water pump went out (again for the thermostat) at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

The 4.0 engine has great acceleration.

Nearly one hundred thousand miles later and it's still a great looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

It's earth-shattering that they have discontinued the Cherokee

Faults:

The exhaust Manifold Developed a crack at 103,000.

Fuel Filter replaced at 102,000.

Oil guage sending unit replaced at 105,000.

Rear main seal developed a leak at 101,000 and was replaced.

General Comments:

I love this car and wouldn't trade it for anything else, except another Cherokee of course!

It performs very well even though it is getting older. I can still blow off a number of cars at a stop light!

It has a solid feel to it when driving it. I've been in some import SUV's and it feels like your driving a toy made of paper. The Cherokee however feels like a sturdy metal car.

This is my first Cherokee and I would buy another one in a heartbeat if they were still manufactured. I would not even test drive it, just walk in and say "give me a new one of these!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

14th Jun 2005, 08:00

I agree. The Cherokee is an awesome and reliable vehicle. I have no idea what to buy next. The Liberty is too small, the new Commander is too big and the Cherokee is too expensive. They really didn't consider the loyal Cherokee lovers when they made the decision to discontinue a vehicle that has been loved by many.

19th Jan 2007, 11:32

We should start a petition for them to start manufacturing cherokee's again! I have a 98 sport pushing 150,000 and I refuse to part with it. It's been a great car and still runs and drives great! It's nice to be driving a car that is made of metal. I've had other SUV's that have backed into me and their bumper fell off. All it did was bend my license plate! Oh well, maybe one day we will see the re-birth of the cherokee!

4th Apr 2007, 15:50

The Jeep Cherokee is the best SUV on the road. I owned a '96 Cherokee Sport and just bought a '98 Cherokee Classic. It is a good buy for the money, and the look and performance of the vehicle is second to none. I agree with the previous comment that a petition be done to bring back the Jeep Cherokee. The Jeep Company would make a killing. They made a big mistake when they stopped manufacturing them. BRING THEM BACK!!!

18th Nov 2007, 10:41

I agree. The Cherokee is a strong and great SUV. My 95 Jeep Cherokee has 220,000 miles on it. I am going for 300,000 but knowing the Cherokee, it might go over that! It shows no signs of stoping. IT RUNS JUST LIKE NEW. With just regular oil changes, the AMC 4.0 I6 engine will run forever. I really don't know what kind of car I will buy after my Jeep. I would be happy if Jeep brought back the AMC 4.0 I6 in the Liberty. I would have to sacrifice the style of the car for the engine. No question!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews