1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 13 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Best SUV for the price

Faults:

There has been a slow oil leek under the oil pan for a couple months now and I nor the dealer can figure out where it's coming from. The driver door bolt busted off causing the door to swing loosely and not stay open it self.

General Comments:

This vehicle is the best all around package in one. It is a fun vehicle to drive in the city. It can pretty well beat any sports car off the line and has great passing power and speed on the highway. Off-road is where this vehicle shines. It has the power to climb and the wheel base to get pretty well anywhere. The only thing lacking in this vehicle is a little more ground clearance and a little softer suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2003

1998 Jeep Cherokee 6 cylinder petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

A lemon, an overpriced one at that

Faults:

The first thing was the fuel gauge, it read 3/4 full, to the point where it ran out of fuel.

The brakes went next, and then after 20,000 odd kilometers, I was up for new tyres, already.

The computer then stuffed up, the car would stall, wouldn't restart, would miss badly on acceleration.

The outer "good looks" are only skin deep..

General Comments:

The cabin is quite comfortable, but the rest really doesn't come up to standard.

The seat fabric material splits easily.

Not worth anywhere near the asking price, for a "top of the range" so called, 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A Tough and Stylish Mid-size SUV

Faults:

The back doorlock failed at 50,000.

The fog lamps never worked (I bought it used).

General Comments:

I loved my Cherokee. It had classic styling and a rugged feel and never failed me, dispite the fact that I drive 30K miles, and drive hard.

I crashed it into a freeway median at about 60mph on 11/10/02 and it was a total loss. But I survived with only a minor concussion. Both airbags deployed and the car spun 180 degrees, but never felt as if it were going to rollover. My BMW's life ended in the same fashion, but it didn't seem to hold up as well as my Jeep. However the fact that my Jeep's body didn't fold or crumble is probably why I had a concusion.

I'm now actively shopping for a replacement. I think Chrysler really screwed up by replacing the Cherokee with the Liberty, so I have to buy another used Cherokee. I've never bought the same car twice, and I've gone through a lot of cars, so that says something, at least to me, about the Cherokee. I love em!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2002

9th Apr 2003, 20:32

Buddy, you really need to stop running into those highway medians.. Stay on the road and stay safe.. Thanks for your review and comments..lol.

23rd Feb 2004, 19:54

Seriously dude, stay away from the medians, and I own a Liberty. I've also driven my friends 98 Cherokee, as well as my other friends 98 Wrangler. I find that the Liberty reminds me of both. The trick is, to get the renegade, cause it looks the coolest.

--Jeep on!

Remember, stay AWAY from the medians.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

I love this Jeep and would not trade it for anything. It is a real, rugged SUV

Faults:

My fog-light switch sometimes does not work.

There is a lot of rattling from the cargo area.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep! This vehicle handles exceptionally well for a sport utility vehicle.

It is phenomenally fast and powerful for a six cylinder!

It's classic looks are a real plus.

The Cherokee rides very stiff and bumpy, but most people don't buy a Jeep for a smooth ride.

It is hard for me to find a comfortable seating position, this could be because I do not have the power seat option.

This Jeep guzzles gasoline worse than a Suburban, and it only has six cylinders!

It is unstoppable off-road!

I would love to buy another one if Jeep still made them. It is quite a disappointment that they are discontinued. The Cherokee and the Wrangler were the heart of Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

11th Nov 2004, 15:01

I too have banging and rattling in the rear. Does anyone know what is causing it. We have tried to locate the source with no success.

29th Jan 2007, 10:25

Hello fellow Cherokee owners;

I own a 1998 Cherokee Classic with 175,000 miles and still going strong! A few years ago, the lift gate would not stay up on its own so I decided to replace the struts. They were about $80 each at the dealer... After replacement, I noticed that most of the squeaking I had heard previously was now GONE!

The moral of the story is that if your struts are weak, the door is allowed to move around and make noises whereas if you have strong struts, the door tends to stay in place and not squeak as much.

I hope this works for you and Good luck.

25th Oct 2009, 17:20

I have a 98 Jeep Cherokee Classic, and it is the best. I had a little rattle, but that was fixed by getting new exhaust. It handles great off road. I take it mudding and it hardly ever gets stuck.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews