1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 14 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

A great inexpensive macho mini-van

Faults:

The car knocks and pings using 87 octane.

The front passenger window regulator stopped working at 63,000 miles. It left me with the window half-way down (however, the motor still works).

The luggage racks were stuck since day one. I could not get one side to move at all.

The steering wheel squeaks when it is cold outside.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable and I have not experienced any back discomfort while driving my bi-monthly 1000 mile trips.

It handles well in the mountains and during rainy weather.

I feel it to be a safe vehicle. It isn't the biggest of SUVs and I like that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st June, 2002

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired322 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A true Sport Utility

Faults:

I needed to get the front wind sheild wiper fixed right after delivery.

General Comments:

I would buy another Jeep Cherokee in a heart beat. No, Jeep Cherokees aren't for everyone. If you're looking for a luxury ride at an economic price don't, but a Cherokee. Cherokees are still one of the few true "Sport Utility" vehicles out there, or should I say were out there (last production was 2001).

All around I've had few problems with my Jeep. I perform all required work in a timely matter and have had no major problems. Beside the occasional clank, which I attribute to being a Jeep, there seems to be little to complain about considering break-in time and price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2002

25th Mar 2005, 21:21

Hey. I am on my second Cherokee ('98 Sport). My first was a 1990 Limited... Yes you can have your luxury in a Jeep. That thing had nice leather, power everything and everyone loved it because it was a wolf in sheep's clothing. Meaning I could go get muddy like a true Jeep- wash her up and be at the jazz club and fit right in.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great!

Faults:

All the minor 98 Cherokee problems, 1. fuel sending unit, 2.instrument panel goes blank, 3. knock and ping using 87 octane.

Number 1. dealer fixed never had the problem again, number 2 the dealer played dumb even thought it was a common problem, fixed it myself, number 3 gave up and ran 89 octane.

After that it was completely trouble free.

General Comments:

I really enjoyed both Cherokees that I owned. They aren't the smoothest riding vehicle in the world but are the most bang for the buck in the small SUV class.

If you drive your cars 200k the Cherokee's with the 4.0L automatic are up to the task.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

15th Oct 2002, 22:54

How did you fix the problem of the instrument panel going blank? I have the same trouble.

Thanks,

Sherry

sherrybdunn@hotmail.com

13th Jun 2003, 16:14

I have an 1998 Jeep Classic. Its great. The ride is pretty smooth and I enjoy having a newer car. The interior is pretty nice as well. I really enjoy this Jeep. MIKE.

19th Feb 2011, 16:04

I would also like to know how you fixed your display? Mine does it all the time. I don't feel like over paying someone to fix it though.

adcurcie@aol.com

1998 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I don't know

Faults:

I hear a clicking noise when the transmission changes to the last gear. I think it is the valves.

The brakes make a popping noise when you take off from a stop.

Seats have started to wear.

The carpet bunches into knots.

The car rides wonderfully, though it has minor cranking problems.

General Comments:

The truck won't run good unless you use 93 octane or better gas.

It has a lot of power.

The passenger side window motor no longer works.

The cruise control only works some of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

Good to drive if it's not stuck in the garage for weeks on end

Faults:

Radio reception is always poor. This appears to be a fault with only the Cherokee. I have had loan cars such as the Voyager and Neon, all with excellent radios and reception. I was told by Chrysler that they could do nothing to rectify the fault, that this problem was the same with all UK Cherokees. It was suggested that I bought a new radio.

Brakes pulling to the right - fault normally found under heavy braking where the car pulls towards the middle of the road. The fault is intermittent, but happens when you least expect it. The dealer could not find the fault.

Split radiator hose causing the engine to overheat.

Faulty low coolant sensor which is currently still faulty. I am still waiting for a part from Jeep three months later.

Blocked radiator causing overheating problems. This problem was rectified by fitting a replacement radiator.

Suspension problems.

Problems with rear differential locking itself.

At 83000 miles four severely cracked cylinder heads. To be replaced at a cost of £1550.00.

General Comments:

The car when running correctly handles and performs very well for a 4X4. There is more than adequate pulling power which makes it very suitable for towing.

The downside is poor reliability and poor dealership service.

The problem with the cracked cylinder heads at 83000 miles is totally unacceptable.

I have had a Nissan Terrano 2.7TD in the past. The build quality and reliability of the Nissan was vastly superior to the Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews