1998 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 16 of 17

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Nice looking, but it can be expensive

Faults:

Rear right door hinge needed to be adjusted at 25,000 miles.

Rear shock bolts rusted and broke at 40,000 miles. Lots of vibration!

Horn had to be replaced at 25,000 miles.

Gas guzzler...

General Comments:

I never had a car that drove so good off road as my Jeep. However the seats are uncomfortable.

Oh yeah, for all you guy's out there, Girls love Jeeps!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.0L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance88000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A tough 4wd...at home in the Aussie Bush!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle in the time I have owned it. The previous owner had no problems from new either, except a few recalls by Chrysler Australia.

Have noted that the paint quality is not the greatest (it is black) and dash rattles are common... quickly fixed with a phillips screw driver.

General Comments:

An excellent car all round. Has tackled Australia's hottest summers (up to 49 degrees celcius) and winters with aplomb.

Is a comfortable and capable vehicle around town and on the open road. Superb performance, although it is heavy on fuel around town.

Well appointed interior, excellent off road and on the beach.

All round, a pleasure to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord mustang

Summary:

Bit of a dog really!

Faults:

Brake rotors replaced twice.

Transfer box replaced.

Steering wheel realigned.

Stereo replaced.

Drivers door seals replaced 3/4 times. Still not right. Wind noise/water.

ABS problematic. Dealer insists it's OK... I drive the car and know better.

Squeaking steering

Indicator stalk sounds like it's shorting/intermittent.

With weight or passengers, the rear passenger side tire rubs on the plastic fender. Only on one side.

Rear view mirror falling off.

Replaced A/C gaskets and recharged the system.

Drivers side window packed up. Motor replaced.

Airbag module. Recall.

Distributor replaced.

General Comments:

17 dealer visits in 2 years. Informed that jeep were losing money after 10 visits.

17500 miles. Car seems to have settled down.

Jeep quality control is lamentable.

Schizophrenic, needing constant therapy

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra Turbo

Summary:

Chicks dig it

Faults:

Both the front passenger and driver window motors had to be replaced (under warranty).

The fog light switch had to be replaced 3 times and is on its way out again.

Had a few vibration problems with the drive shaft which were fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

As far as the motor, it has been sound. The Jeep has a inline six in it which has been great. I live in a desert area and have the tow package and I have not had any overheating problems whatsoever.

My girlfriend also says it looks cool... and she's hot!!! So all you loser dudes out there get a jeep because my hot 20 year old girlfriend says the only reason she's dating me is because of my cool Jeep Cherokee Sport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

13th Sep 2001, 19:48

I agree 100% man. I've got a 97 Grand Cherokee limited w/lift and tires, and the only women who step foot into the aggressive pimp machine are ravishing hotties!!! I'm switching to a 98 Cherokee Sport. Hopefully the results will be the same, or better.

29th Mar 2009, 20:11

I'm definitely buying one now.

1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

The SUV that started it all

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car. It's a great car with no problems.

General Comments:

I love my Cherokee! I live in Los Angeles so it gets driven very rough with all of the traffic here, and I have yet to have a problem with it. It's fun, quick and can off-road very well. It rides pretty smooth even at 100 mph, and it's great for moving stuff or towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2001

1998 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

After you pretty much replace all of the OEM parts, this vehicle will give you years of good service

Faults:

Replaced the radiator.

Replaced the ignition switch twice.

Front disc brake calipers had to be replaced twice because of locking.

Replaced the rear wiper motor.

Replaced engine after 215,000 miles (mechanics fault when replacing rear main seal).

Paint fading horribly.

General Comments:

This vehicle drives solidly.

However, it is very heavy and gas mileage could be a little better.

It is difficult for people to get in and out of the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2001

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 62 reviews