2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 2 of 38

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance145234 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

So far, it seems like a good car

Faults:

I just bought a Jeep GC, and I'm just now learning about all the problems with them!!! It runs great, so I HOPE I don't have all these problems!!

General Comments:

The only problem I can see with the car, is with the driver's door, as the bracket is broke, but that's an easy repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2010

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.7 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Very very unhappy with my 2001 Grand Cherokee. I got it brand new in 2001, and first the wheels start to rust all over, the rotors went bad, the heater core went bad, the evaporator went bad, the transmissions went bad, etc... etc... etc...

Chrysler cars are piece of junk... Did not know that.

Will go back to buy this time a German car.

No more Chrysler cars, oh no.

Thank you Chrysler... will remember you and your cars forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2010

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee LIM from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Don't BUY IT!!! and Gimme MY MONEY BACK!!

Faults:

Replaced window motors, replaced back brake light and head light, replaced A/C, check engine light on, replaced tires 3x, replaced steering, fixed A/C hose, A/C leaking, causing a pond in passenger seat, headlight's "sand like" covering won't come off, car just stops, or won't turn on, rear window spring broken, hood spring broken, back windows "sticky", paint chipping, squeaky when driving..

General Comments:

OK, this is my first "main car" I've ever owned, paid it off myself, and therefore loved it.

Man oh man, did I get a run for my money. I paid it off last year, and all hell broke lose, everything is breaking on the damn car!

I love the shape of it, and when it works, it's awesome, but note how I said WHEN it works. Every possible problem has happened with this car, and most car places as well as Jeep themselves have no idea what is wrong with it half the time. Honestly, this Jeep is crap... it's a good idea gone terribly wrong. Anybody thinking of buying this car, don't! Actually buy mine... I'm trying to trade it in :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st October, 2010

18th Mar 2014, 19:06

Most second owners will have a hard time with Jeeps over 200K.

However, most foreign cars of the 2000's with less mileage will show unrepairable issues with less.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 I6 from United Arab Emirates

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Tiida

Summary:

It's a weekend car, not for the daily use

Faults:

The rear windows are not working.

High maintenance cost.

Eats fuel like a hungry monster.

General Comments:

The things which are good:

Full of options.

Heavy on the highway.

So comfortable on long journeys.

Excellent, excellent, excellent off-road ability.

Buy it only if you do not have daily heavy use, because it eats fuel like monster.

Things which are bad:

It is a disaster in fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2010

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

I love my Jeep!!!

Faults:

I just recently got my first Jeep. Previously I owned a 2001 Eclipse. And I love my Jeep so much more.

Besides simple bulb and battery replacement, I have had no problems. All I know is I will always own a Jeep.

General Comments:

My Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited is amazing. I have been off roading and it handled great. And it is very smooth during everyday driving. Aside from gas prices, there isn't anything I would change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2010

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles

Summary:

Very expensive to keep it running!

Faults:

Had to replace power window motors in driver & passenger doors.

Had to replace transmission.

Had to replace timing belt.

Had to replace A/C blower.

Had to replace alternator.

Had to repair 2 oil leaks.

Had to replace several belts & hoses.

General Comments:

A lot of room for the family, but I've probably spent the price I paid again in repair bills. Every time I take it to my mechanic, he always says, "Yeah these Jeeps are bad for that." They're bad for everything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2010

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

All around great vehicle with poor mileage

Faults:

Water pump at 125,000.

Passenger window regulator at 130,000.

Transmission sensor at 116,000.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive. Seats are great for long trips. 4 wheel drive is exceptional in inclement weather.

4.0 is not powerful enough for this size of vehicle. Still does the job, but with absolutely nothing left over. Gas mileage is not too great either. If looking for one, go with the V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2010

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 129 reviews