28th Oct 2004, 10:22

My 2001 Grand Cherokee has had no problems with the front rotors, and I am approaching 70,000 miles. I replaced the front pads at 55,000 miles, and the rotors looked fine; no uneven or premature wear. My 1998 Grand Cherokee did burn through a set of front rotors at 12,000 miles, but was fine after that until I traded it in at 55,000 for my 2001.

I would consider my driving style to be fairly aggressive, although not abusive. My SUVs do see considerable use offroad. I have to suspect that this rotor problem is likely exacerbated by poor driving habits, especially in the cases of people warping rotors within 5-10,000 miles.

26th Jan 2005, 16:32

I have a 2002 JGC with 26,000 miles. I have had to have my rotors replaced 3 times, going on 4. I was told Jeep is aware of the problem and because of that they count it under the warranty. I also just found out today that they guarantee parts they put in your car for a year... something to consider when the pulsating is back.

31st Mar 2005, 08:18

I have an "88 JEEP XJ with almost 193,000 miles on it. The rotors and rear drums have been turned once and replaced the pads and linings once in 90,000 miles. So brake failure is directly related to driving habits, (my opinion).

31st Mar 2007, 10:52

I bought a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 less than a year ago. A few weeks ago it started doing the shaking thing when hitting the brakes at speeds above 45mph. It has 87,000 miles, so I was not surprised when my trusted mechanic told me it needed new rotors. What was frustrating is that this mechanic stated that many customers have this problem, having to replace the rotors very frequently if using standard replacement parts. He put slot brake rotors which he stated should fix the problem (over $400 for just the rotors and brake pads, not including any labor). I love this Jeep and the 1991 I drove before. I just hope I won't have to keep replacing rotors (not cheap!). Also, the check engine light loves to come on. I have replaced the oil sending unit, which fixed one of the problems. Now it comes on and my mechanic is not sure why. I am going to make sure the gas cap is tight each time I get gas, and hope the light stays off! But, I love my Jeep. T.S.

16th May 2007, 21:17

Warping brake rotors - The list of dissatisfied owners of 1999-2002 (and beyond) Grand Cherokees is immense, as demonstrated by the many discussions of this problem all over the web, and the (now-settled) class action lawsuit against DaimlerChrysler.

I own a 2002 Grand Cherokee with 65k miles, and am about to replace my rotors for the 3rd time. I got the manufacturer's recommended "fix" the first time (see this "technical service bulletin" for information http://www.wjjeeps.com/brakes.htm), to no avail. On the second go-round I called the manufacturer's customer service line to complain that the rotor warp was not "normal wear", and was told Jeep would not consider lowering the repair costs for me because I had "not shown any loyalty to the dealership" by using them for my routine maintenance! I beg your pardon, but you must EARN my "loyalty," and this is not the way to do it!

I then wrote to DaimlerChrysler to protest (including links to websites as above), again to no avail. DaimlerChrysler has "vigorously" (per lawsuit wording) denied claims that the engineering/design of the brakes is at issue and that they should be held responsible for these repeated failures. I got great sympathy from the service manager at my dealership (Town & Country Chrysler/Jeep in Seattle), since his wife had the same vehicle, and he negotiated with the district rep to pay for 50% of my costs. I also filed a complaint with the Washington State Attorney General to make them aware of the problem.

I think we ALL need to keep hammering at Daimler/Chrysler (or is it now just "Chrysler", since Daimler is finally able to sell them off), and perhaps getting the media involved, to see any relief.

To those who see fit to insult the thousands of Jeep Grand Cherokee owners who have faced the warped rotor issue repeatedly by claiming we don't know how to drive an SUV, allow me to point out that my previous vehicle was a 1991 Chevy S-10 Blazer, which I bought new and drove for over 10 years and 140,000 miles, with not a single new rotor needed. 'Nuf said.

19th Nov 2007, 10:06

This is my second jeep, no problems with the 97, but the 2001 jeep limited has been nothing, but problems! the following are those problems, brakes, rotors 5 times, heated seats don't work, constant chirping sound left front wheel, ac, heater problems etc. I am someone who takes excellent care of my cars. My son has a 2002 limited heated problems, ac doesn't work, driver window not working! Will never I mean Never Buy another Jeep again and I was a loyal customer!!! Jeep should be ashamed!!

21st Jan 2008, 17:46

I've got a 2001 Jeep GCLarado, bought new in May, 2001 in Minnesota. I have only 11,200 miles now on it and it has been vibrating and pulsating since 4,000 miles getting progressively worse. Just had the rotors and pads replaced, $360. job. Only waxed it once and it's mint. It's my 4th and last jeep. My daughter bought the same vehicle one day after me, had two rotor/pad replacements over two years/23,000 miles--traded it on a Nissan.

Chrysler/Jeep should be real happy to lose two loyal customers over a stupid problem of their making--their customer service stinks, and they tell you this is "normal wear and tear". I'll be in the Toyota/Lexus camp from now on. Tom L.

25th Feb 2008, 22:58

I purchased a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited Edition last February. I loved the vehicle at first! Then my driver's side window stopped working. That was fine, I could deal with that. Then the heat and the a/c stopped working. Apparently the doors that regulate the heat are broken. That's fine, I can deal with that too. However, recently my power steering pump has gone out, 3 times to be exact. Unfortunately for me, my service guys cannot find out what's wrong with the Jeep that's killing the pump.

Has this happened to anyone else?

I too have experienced the shaking and rattling at high speeds going down hill. I assumed it was part of being an SUV owner, I suppose now I will have to replace rotors.

Does anyone have any past experience with the power steering pump issue? Or any advice for me.


29th Feb 2008, 12:55

In 2001, I purchased a new 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. It now has 92K miles. I have replaced the drivers and passengers side power window motors. I replaced the starter last week for the second time. I replaced the power steering pump this week for the second time. The dealer claims that these (starter and power steering pump) problems are not typical. A few years ago I replaced the A/C condenser. No other major problems, but it eats tires and brakes...What's next?

7th Mar 2008, 13:30

I have had the same problem as you with the power steering pump, it is very frustrating, I have put three new ones in!!! One thing that you can check is, are the power steering pumps that your service guy is putting in aftermarket, not Mopar or Genuine Chrysler. I have finally put a chrysler one in and haven't knock on wood had a problem since, I currently need to change my starter, works sometimes and other times not!