2000 Lincoln LS Reviews - Page 21 of 22

2000 Lincoln LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A once excited dream turned disappointment

Faults:

The rear window regulators on the driver's side have failed four times.

The passenger side has failed once. The plastic clips holding the license plate lamps have broken five times.

The heated seats do not heat. The door posts have lost their luster.

And now my air conditioner compressor has quit pumping cold air. I was told that the interior piston has fractured and is blowing metal fragments throughout my coolant system.

$2500.00.

I thought quality was job 1.

What have all you other Lincoln owners done with your problem cars?

smayner@oz-ar.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2004

1st Aug 2005, 22:23

I bought my 2000 Lincoln LS with 18,000 miles. It has been nothing, but one big headache. All four window motors have broken. Now, the back window is going to be going for the second time. At 30,000 miles a whole new rack and pinion was put on the car. The windshield wiper fluid motor has been replaced twice. The passenger rear view window has popped of three or four times and has been replaced once. New tires were put on less than one year ago, had a blow out the other day. My auto mechanic says that the wear on the tires are not right and look defective to him. The whole experience makes me sick, The care was 40,000 miles on it now and I am so looking to dumping it and never, ever buying another Lincoln. I guess I should not expect to receive a luxury car made by Ford. This car was been a problem from day one and a huge waste of money.

12th Jan 2006, 18:24

I have a 2000 ls v8.I'm buying an Acura 3.5 rl. Too many problems.

2000 Lincoln LS v8 sport pkg 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance166000 kilometres

Summary:

High performance with luxury

Faults:

Rear window would not move up or down.

General Comments:

This is the best car when dealing with luxury and performance. I have had no major problems and it has been well worth my money. I would buy again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

2000 Lincoln LS 3.9 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

A complete rip off

Faults:

Advance Trac failed in the first 3 months (< 3000 miles) four trips to the dealer were unsuccessful. On the last visit the dealer (Courtesy Lincoln Mercury Moline Illinois) replaced all sensors with manufacturer engineers advising the final repair - only after I requested Illinois lemon law protection.

At 35,000 miles the right rear window regulator failed the first time it was lowered. Neither Lincoln nor the dealer would cover it.

At 50,000 miles the AC intermittently blows hot air. Sometimes out one side, other times out of both sides. After adjusting the temperature setting up to 90 F for a few minutes, I can generally get it to blow cold air for a random interval.

The rear sub woofer speaker buzzes with alternator noise, this starts or goes away after a bump in the road.

General Comments:

I did receive lovely Waterford Crystal in the mail after buying the car, and a dandy ink pen. But the accompanying paper describing The Lincoln Commitment does not have much use outside of a bathroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

28th Dec 2004, 11:10

I had a similar problem with my 2000 ls, it intermitently blew hot air and everytime I brought it to the dealers (3 different ones) they could not make the problem happen. Like I was making it up to waste my time... I would arrive for court sweating... the problem was a nightmare... One time I called a dealer from my car and asked if I could bring it over to see the problem as it was blowing hot air and they said no, not now... I asked to just have a tech verify the problem, but they refused.. I am convinced they were aware of the problem at Lincoln, but would never admit it.

2000 Lincoln LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Not worth the price tag

Faults:

Air conditioning went out within the first month. (Just started blowing out hot air). Was covered under warranty.

Coil burned up and it was not covered under warranty. Approximately $200. to fix.

Suspension brackets needed replacement.

Passenger seat warmer doesn't work.

Driver door handle broke inside. Not covered under warranty. $300. to replace.

Air conditioning unit blowing out hot air again.

General Comments:

The LS handles great. It is a fun car to drive.

Offers a lot of luxury extras.

Small, but comfortable.

Trunk has a lot of space.

Too many things went wrong for a car of this professed quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

28th Apr 2006, 08:11

Good car, but need recalls on the engine, transmission, and sunroof and headliner does not hold its value.

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 83 reviews