2002 Lincoln LS Reviews

2002 Lincoln LS 3.9L V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2014
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 3.9L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carLexus LS

Summary:

Best performance, dollar for dollar

Faults:

It's 2014, and the car is now 12.

Paint, interior, handling, MPG, performance - all are nice!

It seems the problem people most have with an auto that needs maintenance, is KNOWLEDGE! The coils do go out, if you let the valve covers leak oil. But some have simply replaced the valve cover gaskets, cleaned the coils, and reinstalled. Others it take to the gas station, and let someone tell them it's $2500.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2014

2002 Lincoln LS Sport 3.9 V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

An exceptional vehicle that suffers from having become an orphan

Faults:

Virtually nothing wrong for first 90,000 miles.

Then, in fairly short order ---

Clock spring failure.

Heated seat failed.

Alternator required replacement.

Disk player required rebuild.

Please note that the above list does not include normal wear items, such as tires, brakes, battery, etc.

General Comments:

I tried a Jaguar, between several Town Cars, before I decided on the LS. The LS V-8 provides better performance and better mileage than the Jaguar did. The Jag, new, cost almost $70,000. The LS cost a bit over $40,000. The only area in which the Jag out-did the LS is that the interior of the Jag, with the exotic wood veneer, was extremely nice. On the other hand, the veneer had started to come loose by the time I got rid of it in 1999. Now, after eight years and 140,000 miles, the LS still starts easily in all weather and is ready to go. It is time, though, for a set of premium shocks and a new set of brake rotors.

On the other hand, there's no excuse for the failure of such things as the clock spring. That's just cheap engineering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2010

2002 Lincoln LS 3.9 V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good on the inside and out, but the car was poorly built

Faults:

Wen I bought this car, it was an eye catcher, people loved it (ladies). I bought it at 95000.

A couple of months later, 103000 miles, the battery kept dying on me. One morning I tried to start it up and it wouldn't start. I thought it was the battery, but it wasn't. I've had to two different mechanics, and they told me it was the engine, $3500 for the engine repair, wow what a piece of crap.

General Comments:

It's a nice ride, luxury, handles like a race car, but a smooth ride.

I love the car, but I think the Europeans should take over the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2010

2002 Lincoln LS 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

It could be bit more reliable, but it was pulled from production before the bugs were worked out

Faults:

COPs.

Breather hose.

Front sway bar.

Rear window lift mechanism.

Front seat backing fell off.

Clock spring.

Radio CD player.

Speaker buzz.

General Comments:

Good ride and fun to drive.

Great fuel economy.

Smoothest engine I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2009

2002 Lincoln LS from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Previous carLincoln LS

Faults:

Fuel pump, motor in window.

General Comments:

Pretty car, but would never own another Lincoln product. After having the fuel pump replaced twice it went out again. Had to have it towed 4 times!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2009

2002 Lincoln LS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance89400 miles
Previous carFord Cougar

Summary:

She is a classy machine

Faults:

I had one of the coil packs go out, but had them all replaced at the same time.

I had the valve cover gaskets replaced. I haven't had any issues with that since.

I am having what I think to be tie rod end squeaking, and will probably replace those myself.

General Comments:

I have to tell you that I have been extremely pleased with the quality of this vehicle. It has served me well, and I have had very little need for the factory warranty. I may have to replace a few more things in the future, but isn't that the trade off? Make a car or repair payment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2009

2002 Lincoln LS 3.9 V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.9 V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

It is such a waste for such a beautiful, sweet ride to be so mechanically unsound!!!

Faults:

2 window regulators have gone bad.

Rear view mirror stays loose.

Rear bearing went bad.

Anti theft device got tripped while changing the battery, and cost a minor fortune to fix after I paid the tow truck to tow it; ironically to the dealer who was the only person who could reprogram the car.

Have replaced 4 coils already, and have 3 more gone bad.

Thermostat has been replaced.

Now the dealer says the cooling fan is bad.

AC vents on drivers side blow hot air at times for no reason, AC control head is bad.

Dealer told me last year it needed a new driver information display center, but fortunately God fixed that one for me.

Air bag light stays on all the time.

Heater in drivers seat has never worked since I bought the car.

Backs come off the front seats very easily.

CD player in this car is a nightmare - it gets jammed all the time, and the last time it got jammed it never unjammed, and now has 5 of my CD's permanently stuck inside of it - what a bad design for a 6 disc changer.

Aside from all those issues, I love my LS!! It is a sweet car; sleek, sporty, beautiful, and handles like a dream. I could go on and on about that part of it.

I bought this car because my Eagle Vision TSi had 200K plus miles on it, and I was ready to give it to my teenage daughter, so I drove an LS and fell in love with the car, but not the price. I shopped around and found one that had a great price, so I bought it.

I got spoiled on the luxury and power in my Eagle, as it had a 3.5 hemi V6 in it and it also had leather interior, sunroof, premium sound system, the whole nine yards, and I wanted the same luxury at an affordable price. The Eagle actually still runs with over 300K miles on it until it was wrecked about 3 months ago, and even now the engine is running well, but the LS on the other hand I have already spent as much on it in repairs, and I actually put a brand new motor in the Eagle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2009

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 33 reviews