1989 Mazda B2200 Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1989 Mazda B2200 Cab Plus 2.2 cid 5 speed from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 cid 5 speed Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99980 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Truck has a smooth ride when working properly, but when it breaks, there goes your wallet.

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 120,000.

Clutch at 140,000.

Motor, radiator, heater core, and carburetor at 180,000.

Head blew again (i hope just gasket) in shop now 10/04/2005 at 225,000.

Rear end at 200,000.

General Comments:

I am kinda glad I got the truck, but it's sucking up my money for repairs. I now have a bad back so I cannot do the repairs myself anymore.

Excellent truck for booming stereo's!!!

I have repaired or replaced majority of truck parts except transmission (which I have done clutch with accessories).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

1989 Mazda B2200 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carDodge Power Wagon

Summary:

Good work truck or runner

Faults:

Replaced radiator (header block cracked)

Replaced rotors, brakes, tires.

Massive oil leaks... had to replace the head gasket @ 100,000. Replaced the timing seal, valve seal, all belts.

"fast idle" sticks in winter time; idles at very high rpms.

Noisy lifters.

Squeaks and rattles throughout the truck.

Ignition has locked before.

Cracked radiator hoses.

Engine has been dying unexpectedly for the last 3,000 miles... mechanic unable to figure out the problem.

Windshield cracks.

Tailpipe rusted right off.

General Comments:

When it runs, it's a great truck. Excellent mileage, great heater, awesome runner. Bad on the highway and for long distance trips. Slow and difficult in the winter. Burns oil, prone to oil leaks. Nice cab and simple design. Wouldn't recommend this model-year. Go newer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

1989 Mazda B2200 Extra Cab 2.2 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance247400 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good truck and the right size, but it is starting to fall apart

Faults:

The rings failed at about 120,000 miles and may be failing again. I have been told that it has serious blow by. This blow by is forcing oil up through the valve cover to the air cleaner then out through a drain hole.

The fuel pump failed at about 200,000 miles.

The oil pump started to go out at 180,000 miles.

The water pump started to leak at about 170,000 miles.

The blower for the air conditioner/heater failed at 80,000 miles and again at 210,000 miles.

The air conditioner continues to loose coolant if it is not run every other day.

Air conditioner updated to R134 at 246,000 miles.

Catalytic converter replaced at 40,000 miles and at 190,000 miles.

Valve cover loosens up all of the time starting 10 years ago.

The clutch went out at 60,000 miles and at 180,000.

The radiator started leaking at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice size for a small pickup used for city driving. I would love to keep it as a secondary vehicle, but the failing rings maybe the last straw. I cannot get anyone to give me a quote for a ring job so it will pass smog check in California. Everyone wants to rebuild the engine. With the engine oil going up through to the air cleaner would a ring job be enough to fix the problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2005

11th Sep 2005, 21:42

My dad had an old mazda that smoked, the rings went. But I think its in your best interest to rebuild cause the truck is old and you will likely be replacing some other things soon anyways.

16th Sep 2009, 09:47

My friend bought the 89 truck. The truck is nothing but trouble. Had the motor rebuilt, 20,000 later broke again. Carb problems, radiator, fuel pump. Worst deal ever...

1989 Mazda B2200 extra cab 2.2L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance370000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Slick little truck.

Faults:

The prior owner of this truck abused it severely. This included the lack of any preventative maintenance whatsoever. All of these problems were related.

I had a recurring problem with the clutch slave cylinder blowing out, twice now. This was in part due to the replacement of the clutch and the pressure difference. Replaced now for the second time and now doesn't seems to be a problem.

The shocks were blown when I bought the truck, and I replaced those. It now handles well.

The head gasket blew. I replaced that, very easy job.

The drivers seat has more or less fallen apart. This seems to be a problem with these trucks, as I am having problems finding a new one, even from wreckers.

When I bought it, the steering was extremely stiff, to the point that my wife couldn't drive it. I replaced the tires and it helped, but it was still inconvenient. I replaced the tires this week with new ones, and now it is much better.

My biggest problem and only real beef with this truck has been a stuttering on cold or wet days. I don't mean anywhere close to freezing temperatures, but even a little chilly wind with rain it will do it. I can't figure this out. Since I replaced the head gasket, the problem has considerably reduced, but it is still there. Where it used to just shut down, now it only stutters and loses power. Any suggestions for a fix?

General Comments:

This has been an incredible truck. Extremely reliable, fairly fuel efficient, and it drives like a car. I especially like the comfort level and the space that the extra cab offers. The maintenance that I have had to do on it is minimal for the mechanical condition that it was in when I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

2nd Feb 2005, 12:37

Funny that you have the stuttering problem. I have the same thing, especially on damp and wet days. No problem with cold, just wet days. I've replaced plugs, cap, rotor, wires, fuel filter... I even had the Mazda dealer look at it. They said, maybe a rusty fuel tank?! But when I asked why only in the wet weather, they just shrugged and said they didn't know. I just noticed a bubbling in my radiator overflow- I suppose I've blown the head gasket. I'm hoping that that when I fix this the stuttering might stop, but it sound like that didn't completely help you?! I'll keep you informed if I fix my problem, good luck with yours.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews