1989 Mazda B2200 Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1989 Mazda B2200 2.2 four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 four cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118900 miles
Most recent distance146003 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A very reliable truck for the year it was built

Faults:

My ignition switch locked up at about 133,000 miles.

At 138,000 the rear end started leaking.

The Master Cylinder for the brakes went out at 140,000 miles.

It uses a quart of oil every 1,500 miles.

The valves tick constantly.

The choke gets caught up in the winter time and will not idle correctly.

It uses excessive gas in the winter time.

General Comments:

This truck is very low on power.

The manual steering makes it rough on even the strongest of people.

The bucket seats are fairly nice. The interior in the extended cab has decent space.

The paint and body are in near perfect condition.

Peers at school rag me about how slow it gets up to speed.

I still like my truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

1989 Mazda B2200 extended cab 2.2 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired150 kilometres
Most recent distance214500 kilometres
Previous carAMC Spirit

Summary:

Best vehicle I've owned.!

Faults:

Needed new radiator at 200,000 km.

New gas tank at 214,500 km. (leaking at the half seam)

Clutch slave cylinder leaking at 215,000 km. (soon to be replaced)

Valve cover gasket starting to leak.

General Comments:

This truck handles very well. It's been driven through all kinds of extreme weather from -45 below to scorching heat in three countries.

The original battery lasted for 13 years!

This is a fantastic and reliable little truck. Still has lots of power. I hope to get at least another 100,000 km on it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

1989 Mazda B2200 SE5 2.2 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance312000 kilometres

Summary:

A highly efficient dependable truck! Like a Rock!

Faults:

The fuel pump broke last year.

I have also had a leak in the slave cylinder, but that was an easy fix.

I have had a few coolant hoses rupture.

The throw out bearing is starting to squeal, but it is nowhere near the stage of replacement.

General Comments:

I have greatly enjoyed my Mazda pick-up. The only thing I wish, is that I had more storage room in the cab for storage of tools, jumper cables, etc.

But I love my truck and would recommend it to anyone who is looking to purchase a small, and very fuel efficient truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

8th Oct 2003, 18:55

Chevy didn't invent the saying!!! They just stole it for a stupid add campaign. If the Chevy's I've owned are any indication, with the exception of the '51 I had, The only thing you'd want to associate with rocks and Chevrolet is the rocks you want to THROW at it!!!

Den.

29th Jul 2006, 23:02

I bought a 1989 Mazda B2200 extended cab four years ago. It was parked (abandoned) in a farmers pasture because it wouldn't start. I offered them $200 and towed it home. Turned out the guy had the plug wires all mixed up. Straightened them out - it fired up and I have driven it for four years. I love this truck. Incredibly reliable. NO problems at all. Original everything at 300,000 miles. AWESOME little truck.

1989 Mazda B2200 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Worth every dime of the $1200 I paid for it

Faults:

Leaky valve cover gasket resulting in lots of smoke and moderate oil consumption.

Radiator finally gave in at 176K.

Smokes when you start the engine on occasion.

Failed emissions due to bad carbuetor. Replaced the part and it now runs clean.

General Comments:

Dependable truck with only the expected problems popping up from time to time.

Starts on the first try every time.

Fit and finish are bare bone essentials. Makes a good commuter truck or light duty vehicle.

Interior is very basic. I wouldn't want to travel across the country in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

1989 Mazda B2200 extended cab from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance228000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A cheap work horse in the right climate

Faults:

I've had recurrent problems with oil leaks, from blown gaskets. And in our recent -40 C weather something has given and a stream of oil comes out if I start the engine.

I had to replace the clutch at 220,000 miles.

All other repairs combined (brakes, filters, belts, etc) have come in at less than $500, which is pretty darn good for 95,000 miles.

General Comments:

The biggest problem is its performance in the cold. Below freezing the idle can set at an extremely high pace, and may or may not return to normal with tapping the accelerator or switching off the engine. Fuel consumption becomes very poor in the winter too.

At temperatures below -30 C the performance is so tenuous (engine stutters, and lack of acceleration) that I avoid driving altogether.

For a truck that spent 11 years on the coast, and 3 years on the Canadian prairies, it has remarkably little rust. Only some rust blemishes.

For yard work or moving furniture it's great.

I would not recommend this truck for anyone relying on it for transportation in very cold climates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

27th Nov 2003, 16:35

I would agree with that, I just let it warm up for 2 minutes and off I go, I find warming up your truck will lead to better preformance in the long run. I own an 1989 B2200.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews