1992 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1992 Nissan Sentra XE 1.6 twin cam 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance241300 kilometres

Summary:

Enjoy the ride!, I sure did

Faults:

Normal wear.

Alternator died at 192000kms.

C.V. boots cracked at 175000kms.

Rust penetrated holes in the rear wheel wells so road salt, gases and etc... were entering inside the car for the family to smell (kids) at 210000kms.

Bad rust is damaging the body at the right front, where you can see when passengers come in and enjoy the ride 210000kms.

Front stabilizer bar bushings had to be changed at 240000kms.

Shocks changed at 175000kms.

Started to have interior noises at 200000kms.

General Comments:

No oil leaks.

Motor still running strong at 240000kms.

Clutch is smooth.

Fast for a 1.6 liter.

Comfortable ride and smooth on the highway.

Excellent gas mileage.

When you have something that is too good, you become very difficult.

With this car you think your next car should last for an eternity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

18th Jun 2001, 16:23

My starter needed to be replaced at 241000kms.

3rd Mar 2002, 10:15

Well here I am with my next purchase, a 2002 Sentra SE-R Spec-V.

22nd Jun 2006, 20:38

Well! my new experience with my 2002 spec-v is completely oposite remarks from my previous experience with 1992 sentra.

Like I was saying, when you get a good experience, there is a bad one waiting for you after...

1992 Nissan Sentra E 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

A high value ride

Faults:

Gone through 9 sets of front brakes, but still on the original rear brakes.

Wouldn't start at 155000 miles, had a service to clean the throttle body and injectors. Also had to replace the front crankshaft seal. It was using about a quart of oil for 20 miles.

Have had sporadic problems where it would miss at highway speeds, never could figure it out.

Had to replace the oxygen sensor at 120000 and 162000. Watch for this, when it goes, your gas mileage will drop to the 10-12 MPG range.

Now needs struts badly.

General Comments:

This has been the most car for the dollar that I have ever owned. It was a "program car", I.e. former rental car. I bought it with 21000 miles and in the 9 years since, I have driven across the United States twice, coast to coast, and driven the eastern seaboard from Florida to Maine and back.

This car has never left me stranded, though it's starting to show it's age, especially with the suspension and the emission controls. The struts are understandably worn out, and I have issues where the emission controls cause the car to burn lots of gas.

The AC still blows ice cold air, and the interior is in great shape. A few rust areas from 8 Michigan winters, and a couple of dents, but I plan on keeping it till it dies. I'll be doing some heavy maintenance this spring, and hope to keep it running for at least the next three or four years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

30th May 2001, 19:19

Explain to me in more details about the oxygen sensor please!,thanks.

Change the bushings for your stabilizer bars, not the bar itself, you will save cash.

12th Jun 2001, 11:11

The oxygen sensor tells the computer how much fuel to inject into the engine, based on the amount of oxygen left in the exhaust. They only last so long, and when they go, the computer decides to dump excess fuel into the engine, instead of starving it. Apparently this was done to keep the engine running versus just quitting on you. But the mileage goes way down -- 10 or 12 MPG, plus lots of black smoke. When you change the sensor everything goes back to normal.

1992 Nissan Sentra XE from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Faults:

Trunk keeps leaking when it rains. Had the tail lights fixed but it still continues to leak. No clue where water is coming from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th December, 2000

3rd Jun 2001, 14:42

I also have the same car and I don't have that problem. You are just not lucky as my trunk is very dry.

31st Jul 2001, 00:43

I have a 1991 SE and my trunk does leak - maybe being rear-ended at 20 mph did not help.

23rd Dec 2006, 20:09

My 1992 Sentra SE had a trunk leaking problem. It was caused by a gap which existed between the the tail light mounting and the rear face trunk metal to which it mates. This problem existed on both tail lights, and allowed water to leak into the trunk via the tail light assemblies in sizeable amounts whenever it rained. I simply took some roofing tar caulk and sealed-up the gap in question on both tail lights, the leaking stopped immediately, and it has never reoccurred.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews