1997 Plymouth Breeze Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1997 Plymouth Breeze from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Hell in good looking wheels

Faults:

Head gasket had to be replaced. Chrysler however paid for all but $50 to get it replaced.

The crank sensor went bad and needed to be replaced.

Basically had the whole front end replaced. That means, bearings, brakes, tie rod ends, callipers, etc...

General Comments:

This car looks great. All I get are great comments on the looks, but if they only knew. I'm still paying over $1,000 on the repairs.

Wish this car wouldn't have so many problems, but I guess that now with everything replaced I can go another 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

5th Jan 2003, 08:52

I agree that the Breeze looks great. My hubcaps are apparently not found on many. I have been told several times how nice the car looks. If they only knew how it runs and all the problems I have with it.

5th May 2003, 10:40

My 1997 Breeze had to have the head gasket replaced twice when it was about a year old. (Oil is leaking again, from the head gasket - I was told, but it is still drivable.) The lights on the panel went off and on and had to be repaired. Other minor recalls were issued. All of these were covered by the warranty. I have paid for new brakes and about $1,000 for air conditioner repairs, which lasted about a year. The air conditioning now needs repaired again! (At the dealer, they charge $65 per hour for repairs.) Also, it had trouble starting, and I paid twice a total of about $500 to get it fixed. A strange, loud popping noise comes from under the hood after it has been driven very far. When it rains, the brakes squeak. Just the other day I was almost stranded at work because it did not want to start. Since the motor is only a 4-cylinder, it does not have the power a 6-cylinder would have on fast starts. Otherwise, when it works, the car looks good, is easy to drive, roomy, and has comfortable features. I wish I had purchased a car without major problems. No wonder they stopped making it! I have had to borrow my mother's car many times to get to work.

19th Dec 2003, 16:58

Would the person who wrote "hell on wheels" follow up with information regarding who he/she contacted to get the repairs covered... this is the second time in a year that I have had oil leakage problems... had a head gasket job done a year ago and now another leak ---- valve cover, cam seal and possibly head gasket again...

Please any one with any suggestions or information as to who contact at Chrysler would greatly be appreciated..thanks.

Please reply here or contact via email at mooseymouse@htn.net (email preferred)

1997 Plymouth Breeze from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

This car is not worth having

Faults:

Head gasket replaced (this was a nightmare to have done). It took the dealership repair shop three times to finally repair the head gasket, when it was what we told them to replace the first time.

Fixing to have the coolant system repaired.

When stopped it sounds and feels like the front end is going to fall off.

General Comments:

This car has very little pick up. It barely makes it up hills without turning off the air conditioner.

The car has lots of wind noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

16th Sep 2004, 08:56

I had exactly the same problems and have taken my 1997 Breeze to three different dealers (for a total of more than 10 times!) in the hope of having the front end vibration repaired, but no one has ever been able to stop this car from sounding and feeling as though it's about to fall apart.

The head gasket was replaced at approx 20k miles, the power steering unit was replaced shortly after that, the brakes have been replaced four times and the car is completely gutless.

This is the WORST car I've ever owned in my life.

1997 Plymouth Breeze from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Head gasket.

Exhaust manifold.

Belt tensioner.

Tie rod ends.

Ball joints.

General Comments:

Nice car, it's a shame about the repairs, will sell it and never ever recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 49 reviews