1997 Plymouth Breeze Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance81000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

My second 97 Breeze, both good for about 75,000 Km then the repairs start to really kick in

Faults:

Left front window jammed, took several tries for the dealer to get it adjusted.

Steering wheel worn and disintegrating, repeat item my previous car was also a 97 Breeze and it had the identical problem.

Severe oil leak just started, may be head gasket.

General Comments:

Excellent gas consumption.

Interior space and trunk are excellent.

Very comfortable for a large person.

A little under powered, but a reasonable compromise for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

16th Jun 2003, 20:38

I have owned my 97 breeze for two years it had 70,000 kms when I got it and now it has 120,000. I have replaed the brakes once both outer front tie rod ends and now I have the oil leak problem. Not sure what it is. Other than that Great car no majors YET!!!

1997 Plymouth Breeze normal from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission normal Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance136935 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

An awesome car!!!

Faults:

- (Driver side) inner tire rod.

General Comments:

The Breeze is a very good car weather you are a beginner or an expert. I got the car about two months ago and only had one thing go wrong with it. All in all it is a very reliable car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.4L I4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L I4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A beatiful looking car, that is original to modify for looks and performance

Faults:

My Torque Converter blew at 210,000KM.

My Heater Coil died at 190,000KM.

General Comments:

For a 4 cylinder, this car has very quick pick-up.

The interior of the car is inpeccable.

The most comfy car I have ever driven.

The handling on the car is astounding even at high speeds (180km/h still handles great)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

1997 Plymouth Breeze sedan 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I definitely did not get what I paid for

Faults:

This car has had many problems in the last 2 years.

The brakes have been replaced 3 times.

The rotors have been replaced recently.

The power steering reservoir had to be replaced.

The transmission had to be rebuilt.

My head gasket also blew out at about 40,000 miles.

Seats began showing wear almost immediately.

General Comments:

This car is a nickle and diming me to the point that it has almost all new parts.

I do have one good thing to say about it. It is very economical on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance34777 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A bargain for the money

Faults:

At 5,000 miles the main computer had to be replaced because the wipers would not switch from low to high. This was after a new column switch and wiper motor was installed.

I have developed an oil leak that seems to be coming from the cam sensor. A repair is in the works. I hear that it is just an O-ring?

Ocasionally, the idle revs high at a stand still and if you apply the clutch during driving, the tach will race anywhere between 1000 to 3500 while shifting. The RPM's tend to race high at stops as well (only when acting up.)

General Comments:

A great little family car. A lot of room and great to get out on the highway with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

1997 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A money vaccum for repair

Faults:

Head gasket blew @ 38,000 miles.

Head gasket blew again 67,000.

Front End Tie rods @ 72,000

Both wheel Bearings @ 75,000.

Noise from front end which they can't find after $200.00 in diagnostic fees.

Still have clunk noise in turns. Sounds like its going to fall apart.

General Comments:

Biggest piece of garbage known to mankind!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2002

20th Jan 2003, 10:12

I also have a 1997 breeze. I also had my head gasket go @35,000 miles. We are now experiencing a clunking noise when turning the wheel, sounds like two very common problems with this make of car.

3rd May 2003, 08:19

I think that "clunk" noise your hearing is the axle going bad. I own a 97 Plymouth breeze and I've only had one thing go wrong with it since I purchased it 3 months ago. The Breeze is an awesome car!!!

15th Apr 2004, 21:13

I have had numerous problems with the 97 Plymouth Breeze I purchased. The primary problems include oil seal leaks, the U-joint and at present I have a terrible squeaking sound coming from the front of the car. I am very disappointed in the car overall. I think that Chrysler should fix these problems or I believe it is time for someone to sue them for selling a faulty product. I am a single woman on a very fixed income and it is important that my car runs well.

27th Jun 2004, 14:35

Has anybody got a warranty repair for a car under the mileage, but past its time frame? I have a 1997 Plymouth Breeze with 27483 miles on it with a blown head gasket. I can do this repair myself, but would like it done for free since this car is an inferior product from Chrysler! Thanks for your help!

14th Jul 2005, 21:24

I have a 1996 Plymouth Breeze (stick shift). I have over 227,000 miles!!! Replaced Front bearings twice during that time and the head gasket once. Have also replaced ball joints, but can't complain at the car based on the mileage I have squeezed out of it... guess I must be a lucky one... the stick is obviously way better than the automatic.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 49 reviews