1995 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 15 of 19

1995 Plymouth Neon Highline 2 door Coupe 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A fun car to own, but I needed a lot of things fixed early on..

Faults:

Transmission needed to be serviced the day after I bought it. The car was not shifting at the proper speeds and RPM.

A week later, the climate control light went out and was replaced.

Also, there was a spark plug that was misfiring, so that was replaced, along with the wires.

A loose exhaust bracket was tightened on the same service date.

The windows are VERY leaky and loud at high speeds.

Engine is very loud at high speeds and RPMs (such as on the highway).

The brakes squeak.

General Comments:

Even though I have not owned a Neon for very long, I love the car already! All of the problems I have listed (with the exception of the last three, which are typical Neon characteristics anyway) were fixed under warranty, and I have not had a problem with them since. I had to take this car cross country on a move a few weeks after purchase, and it performed very well on the long drive, without so much as one service light coming on or a leak.

The car handles very well, with great maneuverability and braking.

All of the features (AC, cruise control, etc) work well so far.

Overall, very fun to drive, but since I have not owned it long I'll give an update review in a few months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

19th Jan 2002, 23:46

The engine is noisy because Chrysler refuse to install an overdrive automatic transmission in neons to this day.. WAKE UP CHRYSLER.

24th Jan 2004, 19:21

I was the original writer of this review, and now, 2 years later, the car is no good. It POURS out oil at a rate that you cannot drive it for 5 minutes without it losing 3 quarts, it is on its 2nd transmission and power steering, which are both going bad AGAIN, thermostat is messed up, and O2 sensor it messed up. Not worth my money to fix since the car is only worth about 500.00 Seems like these cars, although fun to drive when they work just DO NOT WORK enough to be worth the money. DO NOT BUY!!!

22nd Aug 2006, 07:58

Man I'm sorry to hear that... I'm in love with Neons and we have 2 of them and they both run beautifully even after 200,000 miles on them...

1995 Plymouth Neon Sport 4 door 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A reliable ride

Faults:

Faulty oxygen sensor.

Peeling paint.

General Comments:

This car has been beyond reliable; it always starts and I've only had minor problems with it.

Plus, it's fun to drive and handles nicely, even in the snow and yuck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1995 Plymouth Neon Sport 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance159000 kilometres

Summary:

I wouldn't give this car to my worst enemy!

Faults:

Severe engine problems resulting in a replacement engine.

Air conditioner doesn't work.

New alternator because the dealership couldn't determine why we were experiencing power fluctuations and decided on a whim that replacing the alternator might fix the problem.

Several sensors have been replaced.

The check engine light is permanently on, but the computers at the dealership don't pick up an error code.

Speedometer stopped working.

The black paint around the doors and on the door handles is peeling off.

We have replaced both the ball joints and the bearings in the front end, and have learned from the dealership that it is very uncommon for a Neon to have ball joint problems.

Loss of power to dash functions.

The car was sold to us in the summer time with snow tires.

General Comments:

The last time we took our car into the dealership and they were unable to determine what the problem was, the parts and service person I spoke to laughed and said, "I think maybe it's possessed!" After spending over $4000 on repairs in a little over a year... I'm not amused.

Last month my car was stolen (and was later recovered after someone had taken it for a joy ride). Even though this car has been nothing but a pain, it worries me just how easy it is to steal a Neon (especially the older models with the windows that pull out from the frame of the car).

I have "Fear This" stickers on the outside of the car and quite frankly I do fear the car's potential for self destruction.

This was my first car, and I have definitely learned my lesson. No more Chrysler products for me.

I used to like the look of the Neon, now every time I see one I wonder how long it will be until that particular car has left someone stranded on the side of the road.

If you want to save a buck, the Neon is not the way to do it because you will spend more money on repairs to keep it on the road than the actual purchase of the car.

It's too late to save myself, but hopefully this message will warn others before it's too late and they've made the same mistake that I have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

23rd Apr 2003, 14:36

I agree 100% with what this particular individual has written.

30th May 2003, 19:35

Yes, I agree as well. I have a '95 Dodge Neon Sport 4D and have had similar experiences. I can't start the thing without fear that something else will or has gone out on the thing. The cheap door/window design is particularly aggravating. Can't drive down the road without about 80dB of wind noise coming off of what is supposed to be the window seal about 8 inches from the drivers ear...

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews