1995 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 16 of 19

1995 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

A piece of junk that isn't worth riding in

Faults:

The first year I got the car, I had two recalls for it. One was to have the brake lines replaced and to have the steering wheel coupler replaced. Ever since I had the brake lines replaced, the brakes squeak every time I put them on. As with the steering wheel coupler replacement, my steering wheel is extremely hard to steer at times. For the last year, my speedometer has quit working. I literally bang on it at times to get it to start, but that doesn't always work. Two weeks ago, my starter switch burnt out and it got me stranded three hours from home, which wasn't very fun. So I now consider what used to be my fun car a BIG piece of junk.

General Comments:

The car is easy to handle, but I don't feel safe in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 14:07

Also, my O2 sensor went out the third year I had the car. I haven't had any problems with the paint peeling off or rust. I love my Neon, but I don't trust it like I use to.

28th Jun 2001, 20:35

Yeah Chrysler stinks! I have heard a lot of horror stories about other products. My friend's dad has a Neon, but he works for Chrysler and he's had problems.

It's a 2001! Leaking fuel lines and gasket around the fuel tank was leaking and it's cheap. I guess he's lucky it's a lease. And any reapirs are free for him.

I recomnend Saturn. I just bought my Saturn SL. It's a great car so far.

Good luck.

5th Jul 2002, 09:45

I bought a Plymouth Neon 1995 three years ago, and guess where it is? It is sitting in my driveway broken down. I have had nothing but trouble since I drove it off the lot. The second day I owned the car the fan went out and overheated on the way to a job interview. The second week I had it all the gauges quit working, so I never knew how fast I was going or how much gas I had. Within a year my Neon would leave a pile of oil everywhere I went, and no mechanic could ever find the leak. Now the car sits on a trailer with multiple oil leaks and a blown head gasket. The car is only seven years old, and with only two owners ever. My recommendation is Don't Buy A Neon. Spend the same money and buy something with a warranty!

13th Sep 2002, 09:11

I have 1995 Plymouth neon, have had to change front brakes and rotors three times. Brakes still squeak. Speedometer quit working and had it at garage, who diagnosed it as the speed sensor, which I changed. The speedometer still not working. I am getting another from junkyard in hopes it will work.

30th May 2006, 16:57

Not the speed sensor. Look behind the cluster and check the points. Need more help? Go to Neons.org to help you figure out the speedometer problem.

1995 Plymouth Neon Highline 2 Door Coupe 2.4??? from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4??? Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

A piece of crap

Faults:

EVERYTHING, I HATE IT! Engine was blown, head gasket went, radiator, bearings, tie rods... etc. Runs okay when it is broken, but have rarely had it in perfect running condition.

General Comments:

This could have been a nice car, handles excellent and is cheap to run, but is not worth the worry and money. Let alone the insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd June, 2001

7th Jul 2001, 14:49

Always runs, but it is always broken! :) I have one too.

Head gasket, water pump, check engine light, fuel gauge, etc.

Rob.

1995 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Reliable ugly little slob

Faults:

Massive oil leaks (head gasket), not 1 quart per week.

Paint peeling (primer to cover coat adhesion) - sheets fall off as big as your hand.

General Comments:

I bought my Neon new. My family likes this car a lot. They ask to take it on long trips instead of our Chevy Suburban. It fits us better. It holds everything. I put a 10 ft. pipe in it with the trunk closed. I've also had 25 shrubs in it along with a passenger. It's amazing.

It starts with spunk every time. Even with its age it has more acceleration from 70 to 80 MPH than a Honda Civic I drove.

It has never failed me. It is too bad about the oil leak and paint. I've complained to the dealer with no satisfaction. Because of this, I bought a Chevy Cavalier rather than a Sebring Convertible. I don't think Chrysler has it together, after all, oil and paint aren't rocket science.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews