1995 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 18 of 19

1995 Plymouth Neon 2 door Highline 2.0L dual-overhead cam from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L dual-overhead cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

The most beautiful piece of machinery ever built

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car at all!!

I don't know if I just got lucky or if everyone else's car just sucks because my head gasket never blew, it's in perfect condition, fast as hell, and it takes me where I need to go whenever I need to go.

But I would most definitely purchase another Plymouth Neon. The only problem is, I don't need to!!! Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

2nd Sep 2001, 00:07

I have an Expresso and the tranny went at 100K km. It's a junker. Good engine though. Everything else sucks!!!

1995 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 kilometres
Most recent distance154000 kilometres

Summary:

Mine is an absolute piece of garbage

Faults:

Leaking head gasket.

Piston shot out of the engine (blew up).

Replaced the engine, the replacement was faulty too.

Endless number of sensor problems.

Check Engine light on/off all the time.

Paint peeling and chipping.

Windows let in a lot of air.

Air conditioner doesn't work despite the fact that it was "repaired".

General Comments:

The previous owner lowered the car which makes it great for handling, but there isn't a speed bump in town this puppy will go over.

I like the way it looks, and the interior space, but walking down and starting it every morning and worrying about what will go wrong next is giving me an ulcer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

2nd Jul 2001, 11:57

I have had a 1995 Neon for seven months. I still owe like $4,000. I drive a 80 mile round trip to work. My husband wanted a dependable car for me. I am pregnant.

The head gasket went out.

There is water in the fourth cylinder.

Check engine light is coming on and off.

Sensor problems.

The shop wants $850 to fix the head gasket, and warns there are probably more engine problems caused by the head gasket. If I could afford $850 I wouldn't be working pregnant, besides I have to keep up those car payments!!!

1995 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Would never buy another one

Faults:

My head gasket is leaking.

The brakes constantly squeak.

Door seals are bad.

General Comments:

This car gets excellent gas mileage.

The seats are very comfortable.

Handles very well.

Very disappointed with the way Chrysler is handling the problem with the head gaskets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

2nd Aug 2001, 07:35

I agree. These Plymouth Neons are junk. Mine sucks oil and if it is not sucking oil it is sucking transmission fluid.

I had argued with the dealer when I found out about the head gasket problems, the dealer was all interested in helping me until it came time to pay the bill. I found out that there was a recall, but only the mechanics were supposed to know so they would know exactly what to fix, but the cost was still up to us.

I have replaced so much in this car and I only paid about $9,000 for it. The car doesn't start when you need it to, it has started to cut off on me at stop lights, radio comes in whenever it feels like it. I will never invest my money in a Neon product again.

7th Sep 2004, 15:22

I also am always having problems with my 98 Neon.

I only paid 5000 and I've probably put close to another 2000 into it. The brakes squeak, even when new. The door seals are horrible. I would never tell someone to invest their money in this car.

1995 Plymouth Neon Sport 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Cheaply made time-bomb in a cute-quick package

Faults:

Numerous recalls.

Fuel sending unit did not work from day one and then broke again at 40,000 miles - leaving my wife on the side of the road.

Clutch went out at 53,000 and then I was told the transmission was broken as well ($900 for clutch, $2000 for tranny).

Many small plastic pieces fall off inside the car.

Paint on hood peeling off.

General Comments:

Car costs as much to maintain as it did to purchase. I understand that the head gasket is not long for this world and I am thinking of driving it into a river.

When not in the shop - it is very fun to drive and handles well. It has great quickness.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

15th May 2001, 10:05

Chrysler responded by mail and by phone telling me to go fly a kite. Great customer service, guys! Thanks so much for selling me this hunk of garbage.

10th Oct 2002, 13:28

I own a 95 Plymouth neon. I have had the cam sensor, oxygen censor, head gasket, radiator fluid leak, and several other parts replaced on my engine from 60,000-90,000 miles. At 90,000 miles my engine totally died and left me stranded on the side of the highway. I put an engine with 60,000 miles in my car at that time. Now, this engine has 70,000 miles on it and the cam sensor and oxygen sensor is bad. Has anyone else had these problems?

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews