2001 Pontiac Aztek Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2001 Pontiac Aztek AWD 3.4 Ltr V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Ltr V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

Everything I always wanted, ride comfort and spacious

Faults:

I have absolutely no problems with my Aztec. I had a 2001 and now have a 2002. The 2001 was written off and I liked it so much that I had to buy another one. This vehicle is the most versatile vehicle I have ever driven. For camping, biking and hiking. For what I use it for, Perfect.

General Comments:

This is a vehicle that is made with the purpose if general use, not for performance or handling. It has the benefits of a truck, carrying capacity, a car, the ride is very smooth, and a van, cargo and people carrying capacity.

All I can say is wow what a great vehicle. I have always been loyal to GM and for those who take care of their cars and I do mean take care of their car, their cars will take care of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

2001 Pontiac Aztek GT 3.4L/V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L/V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 kilometres
Most recent distance59000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very cool and unique!

Faults:

Not too much, fuel pump failed, replaced under warranty. Cracked windshield from a flying rock on the highway.

General Comments:

The Aztek is very cool and versatile. Gt fully loaded with all the bells and whistles and high tech gizmo's.

You get a lot of second looks from people walking down the street, and the babes dig it.

Center console cooler very handy for keeping drinks cool on long trips.

Tonnes of versatile cargo space with the rear seats removable.

Camping/tent option is very cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

2001 Pontiac Aztek GT FWD 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1281 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

A quiet, comfortable, economical vehicle

Faults:

So far, nothing.

General Comments:

During the test drive, I was quite at home with the way it handled.

My legs are short and the driver seat seemed to press against the back of my knees. With appropriate seat adjustment, this was taken care of.

Since delivery I have found the car, quiet, responsive, very good on fuel and very comfortable.

It has a firm, but not bumpy ride. I like that.

Even though it is considered a reasonably higher vehicle which should be treated with respect when cornering, high winds, etc., I have found that the handling is quite stable.

All the 'Extras' that came with the car, including the camping package, the stereo, air conditioning, cruise control - and the list goes on, have worked flawlessly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Beyond ugly

Faults:

Windshield started leaking at about 1000 miles, radio stoped working for some reason shortly after it was bought. Uses a lot of oil for such a new car.

General Comments:

I really hate this thing. My wife decided to buy one and it handles awful and it has to be one of the ugliest things I have ever seen. I cannot wait to get rid of this ugly car/truck/minivan thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

13th Sep 2002, 19:00

I am not really sure that this reviewer really owns an Aztek. He does not even know the engine and transmission of the car something that anyone that actually owns or even just considered buying one should know. This review seems, in my humble opinion, to be one of many negative reviews I have seen on this vehicle by a non-owner, but disguised as an owners review. The review just does not ring true.

25th Jul 2003, 17:22

At least it's not like some of the other reviews I've seen elsewhere, threatening physical violence and actual damage to the car.

Some people never get past a first impression. I had to be talked into an Aztek by my wife. It's grown on me.

This guy probably hasn't even seen an Aztek. He's working from a picture or something.

30th Jan 2005, 13:54

I don't drive and Aztek, I have been hoping to get a second hand one some day, now I am not so sure. But as for this poster not being an owner of an Aztek, I own a Jeep, don't ask me specifics on it, I don't remember. I knew them when I was looking for one, my husband never bothered to learn them. Wasn't his vehicle and he wasn't going to be working on it so why bother. I know it's an inline 6, 4.0 but everything else is just a foreign language to me. So just because he didn't fill out everything doesn't mean he doesn't have one. Might mean he doesn't care to know. And considering he can't stand the vehicle, that sounds about right. good luck and happy driving.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews