2001 Pontiac Aztek GT 3.7 from North America


Provides comfort and security


Absolutely nothing. For people who are afraid of the future; they might not like the "futuristic" look of the car.

When the oil light comes up, most likely it's because it needs a little bit of oil, or because it is time to change it.

The rear door takes two hits on the key-less remote to actually open, but I can live with that.

General Comments:

The reliability and security that it offers are priceless. With a wife and a new-born baby, I could not be happier knowing that they are safe in a car that can handle the road very well.

The spacious interior and the easy access to controls are a plus. This adds security and it's safer for the road, since you don't have to take your eyes off the road to change stations or change the volume.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

13th Jan 2004, 14:29

I hope by "oil light" you are not referring to the oil pressure warning light? If so, you should not be waiting for it to come on to find out it "needs a little bit of oil"? If you do, look forward to a short, unhappy life for the engine in your Aztek.

16th Jan 2004, 18:11

The two clicks to open the doors is something you should be able to change (I did it on my car). Look into the remote entry instructions in your manual. I believe this was covered under "Personalization" settings.

2001 Pontiac Aztek Base V6 gas. from North America


The brakes were grinding when I purchased the car. Dealer had promised to fix the trouble, but they did not. I found a closer Pontiac dealer to use, and they fixed the problem. It was a case of badly warped rotors.

The sunroof has been a bit of a pain as well. It developed a leak about a month into my ownership of the vehicle. Took it to dealership, and they cleaned out the drains that filter away water that has gotten past the gasket around the glass portion of the sunroof. It began to leak again, and a whole new sunroof was installed. The leaking stopped for about 8 months, then began again. Dealer couldn't make the car leak, no matter how hard they claimed, they tried. After another big rain, and water found in vehicle, windshield was resealed, and the headliner was replaced due to stain. Dealership has been very helpful, and the service technician I work with is also an Aztek owner.

When I collected car, after 4 days at dealership, I discovered that the internal lights stopped working. Dealer corrected this, and said that a wire was "crimped" by the sunroof, and caused two fuses to blow.

General Comments:

Very functional vehicle.

Handles well, but a little on the top-heavy side, due to the height of vehicle.

Usual "first year of model" issues. Fit and finish off in some cars, better in others.

Well laid out dash, and gages.

If you have a yellow one, you will NEVER lose it in a parking lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

2001 Pontiac Aztek 2wd 3.4 Gas from North America


This car was a great bargain at a time when I needed a vehicle and I had very little cash


Peeling clear coat on taillights. The dealer said it was caused by a buffer and would not correct under warranty. I am now finding out that it is a common problem.

The engine occasionally makes a very strange noise when starting.

Windshield cracked twice so far.

General Comments:

I thoroughly enjoy this vehicle.

It's roomy, comfortable and has a very nice ride. I am able to carry large items without too much trouble.

Acceleration is adequate, but I wish it were a little more powerful.

I am a little concerned with some of the problems I hear people are experiencing. They all seem to experience the same problems; air conditioner and seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

14th Sep 2003, 19:49

I just took my 2001 Aztek to the dealership with an air conditioning problem - my condenser went bad already - anyone experiencing similar problems?

15th Oct 2003, 08:04

I had the same problem with my 2001 2wd Aztek. In may 2003 I had to bring it to dealer twice to fix the AC.