1995 Pontiac Firebird Base 3.4L from North America


NOT that fast, NOT that furious, NOT really worth it


- Shifting linkage needed adjustment at 105K. (Shifter indicator was in park and went into reverse.)

- Thermostat stuck open at 108K.

- Water pump went out at 112K.

- Turn signal switch stopped working at 113K.

- Starter solenoid wouldn't work also at 113K. (Required to start the car.)

- Headlights and taillights were very dim at 116K.

General Comments:


- Looks nice

- Great on gas

- Can do burnouts (but not big ones)


- Frequent mechanical problems

- Frequent electrical problems

- Rusting inside engine block.

I had this car for over a year and already had to dump at least $4,000 into it. Engine has not been reliable at all. Coolant was brown and engine block is rusting on the inside. Water pump and starter solenoid both went out in less than a month. Although the engine great on gas, they're a huge pain in the butt to work on. You have to take out so many components just to replace one!

Firebird is a great car, but the 3.4L engines lack horsepower and torque! GM should have only put V8's into Firebirds, considering it's an AMERICAN MUSCLE CAR!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2008

7th Mar 2008, 10:41

Common universal question everyone gets with an old car at some point - When do I stop putting money into it?

11th Mar 2008, 21:52

I've owned 7 Mustangs, including V-8's. With insurance and gas prices as high as they are, I would not have bought my 2007 Mustang unless it had the 6. Many people prefer muscle car looks, but without the 12 mile per gallon mileage and outrageous insurance. If I were in the market for a used Firebird, I would ONLY look for a V-6.

1995 Pontiac Firebird 2 door coupe 6 cylinder from North America




Alternator in 2001, wiper blades, tires changed twice in 11 years, right headlight motor.

General Comments:

Almost new when I bought it, has been very reliable. Handles and feels well when driving. Cruise speed 75-80 at 2500 rpm on highway, I may sell it due to growing family. Tuned up car/changed timing belt at 100,000.. Never broke down, definitely a fancy looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

1995 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 350ci from North America


Best car in its class for its time


The torque arm bushing wore out at about 97,000 miles.

Wears through tires very fast.

General Comments:

Super fun to drive because it is very fast.

The interior makes you feel like your in a race car which adds to the pleasure of driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2007

14th Mar 2007, 16:31

I'm jealous. I've been wanting to find a good used Firebird, as I think they are awesome cars and better looking than the Camaros. Congrats on a great car.

15th Mar 2007, 00:28

I own one and I must agree with you, yes they do run through tires fast!!! wooohooo!!!

1995 Pontiac Firebird base 3.4 from North America


Sports car without paying a sports car price


Needed brakes all the way around $ 518

Belt tensioner went out $ 110

Other wise just all normal maintenance.

General Comments:

When I bought this car last year I was under the impression that it would need a lot of work due to the fact these cars are seriously neglected and raced around a lot. Its been very reliable and I'm surprised with it being a very small v6 engine.This base model is very easy to repair and doesn't kill your wallet. The car is for people that want a sporty look without paying for it,the only thing I can say that's expensive is the insurance premiums. Performance wise its no trans am or formula, but its no hamster on wheels either.

In the summer the car turns heads from everyone of all ages.Highway traveling is great for just two people and that's it car has very small cabin!!! The only complaint I have about it is I'm 5 foot 6 and I need a pillow to drive it the seats sit very very low. If general motors started making the firebird again I would be first in line to buy one. Would not recommend driving car in bad winter weather you will get stuck, I live in Denver Colorado and most of the winter I drive my suv. Would recommend this car to anyone that loves sports cars just keep in mind its for looks and

transportation only not a trans am by any means

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2007