1995 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7 LT1 from North America

Summary:

This car is a dream come true

Faults:

I have replaced the spark plugs, and the wires, the opti-spark, the transmission, and the driver side window motor along with the track. Just recently the fuel pump went out which the dealer charges $950 to change, but I found a much cheaper way of just cutting a hole in the back to get right to the pump. Less than two days after fixing the pump, my transmission mount went on me and I had to fix that myself to save $150. My power antenna has also quit working, but I have my mp3 player to get me out of that one. Other than that I have to replace the tires because the cars so fast it is hard to go anywhere without lighting them up.

General Comments:

Unbelievable car. When this thing is running, which now its running perfectly, it's got to be the funnest car on the planet. T-tops down, flowmasters rumbling, the most fun you'll ever have. The torque is amazing and the body is immaculate for being ten years old. It handles like a dream and the low to the ground feel of it just makes you want to blast everywhere. I want this car as long as I can, considering I'm only 17, I'm not sure how long that will be, but it is awesome even with all the repairs I've had to do to it, I mean, isn't working on the car half the fun?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

1st Nov 2006, 11:54

I just turned 18 and I seen your 17. I was looking into buying one hows the insurance cost on the formulas?

20th Jan 2007, 02:05

Insurance for these things suck... I'm also 17 years old. I'm currently looking for a muscle car and decided to go with the trans am. the one in particular is a 95' trans am, the insurance quote on it for me was 350$ a month for full coverage and I think around 150$ a month just for liability. So what engine does the trans am come stock with LS1 or LT1?

2nd Mar 2007, 13:10

The F-bodys had a LT1 all the way up until 1997. After that the Trans Am and Firebirds had the LS1.

22nd Jul 2009, 10:14

I'm 19 myself and got a Firebird a few months back; it's the 3.4 but I'm not complaining since I can now change out the engine, and by the time I'm done with it I'll be able to take on the legendary Firehawks ha ha. Maybe not, but that is my dream for this car.

1995 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 350cid from North America

Summary:

This Trans Am offers the most bang for the buck

Faults:

Nothing major yet, but one fog lamp is out due to a rock or pebble.

General Comments:

This LT1 engine has a lot of torque. It pulls very hard to red-line. The 6 speed T-56 doesn't hurt either! The handling is great even with the smallish 16 inch rims. There is no interior noise at any speeds. This car will easily do 150 MPH. I currently have no complaints on this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

1995 Pontiac Firebird from North America

Summary:

Beauty, but high maintenance

Faults:

My driver side window motor went out and I had it replaced, it just went out again about 2 months ago. My passenger side window motor is fixing to go out. It can get up and down, but takes a lot longer than when I first got the car.

Had my brakes replaced in November 2003, and have been having trouble with them again.

Both my turn signals have shorts in the wires causing them to barely ever work. Someone told me it's real expensive to have that problem fixed.

My air conditioning is cold for about 10 or 15 minutes and then blows warm air.

It started making a weird noise in the engine about 4000 miles ago, I brought it in once and they said it was nothing important.

I also recently noticed it's began to leak oil. Someone told me the harmonic balancer is going out?

Though the interior and exterior hold up real well. Physically it's still in immaculate condition.

General Comments:

Personally, I've had a lot of trouble with the car. I realized that things are going to keep on going out and am currently looking into a new car.

I loved the way the car handled, but I've noticed it seems to guzzle gas and has a lot of outside noise. I also have a lot of trouble with seeing my blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 12:50

I've been weeping over trading in my 1995 Firebird (that I absolutely love!) to get a new 4wd truck because I'm pregnant, until I read your review. My bird has the same trouble; ds window motor going/ps window starting to go, constant brake problems, directionals go on when they feel like it, and my brake light is constantly on. The oil isn't leaking (thank god). I was going to have these things fixed because I didn't think they would be that costly. I decided to trade it in because it's not at all a family wagon and I couldn't afford a new truck payment without the money I got for the trade. I feel better about not fixing them and trading it in after reading your review. To anyone thinking about buying this car used, go for it if you don't mind fixing these things. I've had mine for 7 yrs and still am not tired of it (even with it's faults). It's a great ride with an awesome sound. Still has get up and go - nothing better on a hot day, tops down, stereo going... this car will be VERY missed!