1995 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350 5.7 V8 from North America


A god damn sexy missile


Just an oil leak, but that comes with a performance car.

General Comments:

This car is like a missile. When you're on the highway and hitting the gas, it always has more left.

It also looks real sharp. The body style is very similar to the new one, so it never looks outdated.

The car's handling could be a little better, other than that the car is a true girl getter, missile, that looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

1995 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 LT1 from North America


An extremely fast chick magnet


The fog light just went on the car. Also just replaced the wipers and the power antenna. Previous had raced the car so the rear end clunks a little bit at low speeds (going to rebuilt it this winter though). Service Engine light comes on when the car warms up (believe it to be because a K&N cold air kit was installed). First owner was a smoker so I had to take all the seats out to steam the carpets and get rid of the left over cigarette butts (I'm a cleanliness freak).

General Comments:

For the price, nothing beats this car on the road. Extremely fast (just have to be careful, this car was basically bred to race), and loads of fun with the t-tops off. Get the manual transmission, it's a lot more fun to drive. The only problem with the manual, is the Skip-Shift feature, it can be an annoyance. Around town, I only get about 13 MPG a gallon. Highway though, I can get a lot better. Insurance isn't too bad where I live, considering I'm only 18.

My car is black with the chrome rims and it looks absolutely sweet when cleaned and waxed. I just go paranoid because you can see dust and fingerprints on it very easily. I would only buy black again as a show car, because of that fact that I like my cars to look absolutely clean all the time. The girls also love this car; I get all the looks in it :)

I'm going to keep this car as long as possible, hoping to one day build up a collection of Firebirds and Trans Ams.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

10th Jun 2003, 02:31

The skip-shift on the manual transmission is easily disconnected. I'd try to describe it on here, but I don't have the time. Look up how on the net or ask a mechanic familiar with the car. I did it on my 95. Makes all the difference in the world.

1995 Pontiac Firebird t/a 5.7 LT1 from North America


Should have bought a Ford


The first night he got it it over heated, lifter made noise for 10000 miles under powered (compared to my 03 lightning),traction control is a tid bit screwy.

General Comments:

Apparently if you hydroplane at 70mph lifter will correct itself, traction control has a mind of its own, you just can't beat a truck that can can out perform a car in every way, but seating arrangements.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

1st Jun 2003, 04:29

You're an idiot.

2nd Jun 2003, 21:48

And I'm sure no one in the history of mankind has ever dogged a car out and just so happened to hit a spot of oil.

28th Sep 2003, 20:05

Why did you buy a car with so many miles on it, in the first place. Why are you driving 70 miles per hr in the rain? While a 03 Lighting may be slightly quicker than a used 95 LT1 stock powered car. The mustang GT's or Cobra's (except 03 SC Cobra) don't have a chance against a LT1 in the 1/4 mile! Oh and one more thing- the 98-02 LS1 firebird TA will spank a new Lightning- no contest!

10th Mar 2005, 22:20

Hey man.. you must be insane if you think you should have gotten a ford over a pontiac... my buddy got an 02 mustang gt and is going to race my other buddy with a 96 Z28...and the mustang is going to SMOKED like a chimney.

20th Aug 2006, 14:05

Why are we comparing a 03 lightning to a 95 bird anyway? what relevance is that?

7th Aug 2007, 02:01

No KIDDING... why would you compare the two. From what how it sounds... you don't take very good care of your cars. By the way a lightening is a waste of a truck. I might as well compare my 07 Dodge sport turbo diesel to your lightening. In fact it would probably hang considering it is a diesel. WAY TO GO BUD.

27th Dec 2007, 00:26

Just bought a 95 formula (LT1) with 127,000 miles on it... It is amazing and in great shape. As long as you take care of the bird it will last a long time. This one looks brand new and according to 3 mechanics is an amazing car all around.