1995 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 350cid from North America


This Trans Am offers the most bang for the buck


Nothing major yet, but one fog lamp is out due to a rock or pebble.

General Comments:

This LT1 engine has a lot of torque. It pulls very hard to red-line. The 6 speed T-56 doesn't hurt either! The handling is great even with the smallish 16 inch rims. There is no interior noise at any speeds. This car will easily do 150 MPH. I currently have no complaints on this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

1995 Pontiac Firebird from North America


Beauty, but high maintenance


My driver side window motor went out and I had it replaced, it just went out again about 2 months ago. My passenger side window motor is fixing to go out. It can get up and down, but takes a lot longer than when I first got the car.

Had my brakes replaced in November 2003, and have been having trouble with them again.

Both my turn signals have shorts in the wires causing them to barely ever work. Someone told me it's real expensive to have that problem fixed.

My air conditioning is cold for about 10 or 15 minutes and then blows warm air.

It started making a weird noise in the engine about 4000 miles ago, I brought it in once and they said it was nothing important.

I also recently noticed it's began to leak oil. Someone told me the harmonic balancer is going out?

Though the interior and exterior hold up real well. Physically it's still in immaculate condition.

General Comments:

Personally, I've had a lot of trouble with the car. I realized that things are going to keep on going out and am currently looking into a new car.

I loved the way the car handled, but I've noticed it seems to guzzle gas and has a lot of outside noise. I also have a lot of trouble with seeing my blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 12:50

I've been weeping over trading in my 1995 Firebird (that I absolutely love!) to get a new 4wd truck because I'm pregnant, until I read your review. My bird has the same trouble; ds window motor going/ps window starting to go, constant brake problems, directionals go on when they feel like it, and my brake light is constantly on. The oil isn't leaking (thank god). I was going to have these things fixed because I didn't think they would be that costly. I decided to trade it in because it's not at all a family wagon and I couldn't afford a new truck payment without the money I got for the trade. I feel better about not fixing them and trading it in after reading your review. To anyone thinking about buying this car used, go for it if you don't mind fixing these things. I've had mine for 7 yrs and still am not tired of it (even with it's faults). It's a great ride with an awesome sound. Still has get up and go - nothing better on a hot day, tops down, stereo going... this car will be VERY missed!

1995 Pontiac Firebird Formula V8 3.57 from North America


This car is truly always a work in progress!


I have had the transmission rebuilt in the vehicle twice. I have replaced the alternator, water pump, and the normal replaced parts (i.e. brakes, battery, thermostat, headlights, etc.). I have a electrical malfunction. I have to sometimes wiggle the tail light bulbs to get my blinkers to work. Weird, huh? I have a head light motor problem the do not go up and down at the same time, so I have to crank it down at night or unplug them and leave them up.

General Comments:

I know my problems are plentiful, however this is the most beautiful car I've owned! It is an eye catcher. My minor problems are only known by me and not others. I love my Formula. Her name is Rachel (the young white girl). This car has had some magnificent upgrades and out performs many other street racers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 08:45

I know what you mean about the problems of your Formula, I have had some of the same. I love my car, but it is a lot of work to keep going.

7th Dec 2004, 23:42

Wow...reading these comments makes me feel like you're all writing about MY car. My '95 Black V6 ("Katrina" - Michael Knight's Firebird was K.I.T.T. so mine is KAT) has had it's share of problems, but is overall my pride and joy. Three alternators, window motor replacements, rebuilt transmission, tension pulley and a few other engine repairs, but I've put 105,000 VERY rough miles on her. I've also replaced the driver's side headlight motor. Apparently, Pontiac made their gears out of nylon which seems pretty dumb. There are a couple of outfits on the internet that sell brass replacements. I'm not a handyman or mechanic by any means, but the online directions made rebuilding the motor an easy task that saved me about $250.