1994 Pontiac Grand Am grand am GT Quad 4 H.O. from North America


A fast car with cheap insurance


The engine went bad.

Brake dust gets on the drivers side front wheel.

General Comments:

The car is fast. I can race cars and win, it runs a 1/4 in about 15.1.

Plus the car looks real good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Am 4 cylinder from North America


Check it out carefully before buying or there will be big bills in the near future


A/C never worked, having it checked today.

ABS light was removed, so didn't know it was gone until the ABS almost caused me to drive into traffic instead of stopping. Turned out to be a bad sensor, wire harness, two bad connections, and the nut fell off of one of the gears in the ABS housing. Cheap ABS system.

Broken tie rod.

Leak in rear drum brakes.

Orignal muffler lasted until about 200000 km.

Switch in steering column burnt out causing a lengthy inspection to find out why the engine wouldn't turn over.

Chattering in front dash.

General Comments:

The car was cheap, so I had to foot the repair bills which popped up soon after. The ABS and other small things that go can be costly.

Gas performance is still quite good, goes about 700km on a tank with highway driving (120km/hr).

Comfortable, but like my girlfriend says it drives like a tank compared to some newer cars, but I like the feel of it.

Engine still running great with good pickup even for a little 4 cyl.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.3 Quad 4 from North America


Great Deal


The only problem I've had with this car so far was that I had to replace the alternator 3 days after I got it. I'm still blaming the dealership for this because they hosed my engine down before I drove it home.

General Comments:

This car has great speed and pick-up while still being good on gas. This is thanks to the 16 valve Quad 4 engine.

The interior is very roomy and comfortable. There are so many luxuries in this car like air conditioning, power everything, CD player, cruise control, and keyless entry.

It was well worth the $6000 I spent on it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Am Sedan SE 2.3 from North America


A great buy


When it rains outside, the sensors get exposed to the dampness, and the anti-lock brakes will not work correctly.

General Comments:

It is a very nice car. I only encountered small problems with it, they are to minor to list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1994 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America


Not a driver's car


No problems with the car. The battery was replaced as well as the tires.

General Comments:

The car is not for a true driver.

It delivers no driving pleasure.

It is unenthusiastic when braking, accelerating, and turning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2001

19th Aug 2002, 10:28

I disagree, I currently own this car with this engine and I have to say that this car is a lot of fun to drive. The acceleration is responsive and can take off on the on-ramp. It has more than enough passing-power once on the highways too. The braking is quick and tight. My only complaints are the ride, which is rough, and the steering which does not have the feel of a foreign car.

I love driving this car around and it has never let me down in the power department. If you don't think this car is fun to drive, then get a Mustang or a Corvette, because I think it is.

1994 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 V6 OHC from North America


A solid deal, with the V6


Bent rear axle could not be straightened, needed a full replacement.

Serpentine belt replaced at only 30,000 miles.

Eats oil occasionally.

Mysterious anti-freeze drip once (may have been caused by a loose cap).

General Comments:

The car's best attribute is the engine. I drove both a QUAD 4 and the V6, and the V6 is smoother, faster, and much more quiet.

Started up with no trouble in below-freezing weather.

VERY comfortable and reliable on road trips. The car does not want to run out of gas at highway mileage, and runs just as good after a long days journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

14th Nov 2002, 03:36

I have a 1994 Pontiac Grand Am SE, which was has just recently been given to me from my mother. She bought it brand new and the car is now 8 years old and it runs just like it did the day she drove it off the lot. It has always been the dependable car in the family. We have had no trouble with it at all. It is a car that I feel really safe in, because recently I was in a car accident in the Grand Am and there was a lot less damage that I had expected. This car was really designed to protect its passengers. I was surprised that there was not a lot of damage done to the car in the accident. That's how well built these cars are!

22nd Dec 2002, 03:55

I have had my 1994 Grand Am SE V6 for about five years now. Acquired it with 74,000 miles. Now has 150,000. This car has been one of the best cars ever. Starts very well in below freezing weather, almost right away with no cranking. I drove it door-to-door for three summers when I sold books to families in distant states going in and out of park, start and stop. Still have not had to replace transmission or starter!! (Automatic) Only thing now is I dislike the door panel design. Easily breaks away at bottom edge with rattles. Also had problem with turn signal, especially hazards do not always work, unless you turn the signal to left or right. Rear Brakes have been known to lock up on occasion, especially in wet and rainy weather. Had to replace radiator fan relay twice in one year, but not once since the last three years. Normal wear and tear now replacing small items on car. I would recommend this car to anyone and I am planning on buying a new one.