1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 liter guad 4 DOHC from North America


Piece of junk and will put yo in the poor house looks good though


I have replaced so many parts that it's not even funny. Everything has been major.

I have replaced alternator.

I have replaced thermostat several times.

I have replaced water pump and it still over heats on occasion.

Goes through brakes like crazy.

I have replaced the transmission.

New timing chain.

I had to replace the coil pack. Which is not cheap.

I had to replace the ignition coil.

I had to replace windshield wiper motor.

I had to have the ABS sensor replaced.

And now I am having major engine trouble. It is knocking.

And just think I make my last payment next week on 05/07.03. Isn't that just grand.

General Comments:

When the car is running it runs good, but when it breaks down you better be prepared to dish out some cash. I love my Pontiac as far as looks and drive ability when it is drivable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

22nd Apr 2004, 11:59

My Pontiac Grand Am GT is one of the Finest Automobiles I have ever owned. I have done a little customizing, Tinted windows,17"inch Chhrome wheels. As far as Complaints The radiator and Alternator are the only things I have replaced in the last 11 Months. The 95 model grand am gt. in my opinion is one of the finest productions GMC Produced. Michael Myers.

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 SFI V6 from North America


Buy 3: 1 in the shop, 1on the road, 1 for parts


The day I brought this car home I should have known it would be trouble because the radio knob broke off in my hand. The cars main computer has gone bad twice. After extensive electrical problems the car received a completely new electrical system, which I might add still did not solve the problems. The car overheats at least twice a month, and requires a new thermostat each time. The car shakes - constantly, and as you build up speed it gets worse. The steering has a tendency to float at higher speeds. Water appears from nowhere in the car, not dampness, but water. (no the windshield does not leak, I replaced it - twice) I opened the door one day last summer and it poured out of the car. (This car has not been wrecked and looks showroom new). I have spent more time riding in tow trucks than I have in this car. I now have this car up for sale because in the past month it have dramatically lost power (I don't know why), and the rack and pinion steering has gone bad and the car is hard to control (and dangerous!!!).

General Comments:

This car is beautiful. My car was triple black, and turned heads daily even though it was eight years old. But it is one of the worst modern cars on the market. Don't buy one! If you own one sell it while you can get something out of it, it will only get worse!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America


Still a nice car though


Like many others, the head gaskets and most of the cooling system,2500.00 later. Why isn't it a recall?

General Comments:

It rides like a truck, new bf goodrich, now I will be replacing the shocks this week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

1995 Pontiac Grand Am from North America


A thief for stealing all my money


Where should I start. I purchased the car for $4000 and have seemed to put in about 2-3 thousand in repairs. Besides the basic repairs, I seem to now be experiencing some white smoke coming out of my exhaust. Though when I checked my oil it was still full and the color hadn't changed, so I don't believe that it might be a cracked head. Also I seem to have a constant vibration going through my car. I'm not sure if the vibration is related to my steering wheel shaking, but this is also a problem. With the steering wheel I've had the tires balanced and aligned and it still does this. If anyone has experienced these problems, please help!!

General Comments:

If it didn't have so many problems it might be a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2003

3rd Apr 2004, 20:15

I have a 95 Grand AM SE, 2.3L 4-cyl., automatic. I too have noticed my steering wheel shaking occasionally. It sort of turns an inch, maybe an inch and a half in both directions (left and right). Its done at least since I bought the car (August, 2003) @ 67,000 Miles, currently at 76,000. I have no idea what it could be, but I'm not mechanically inclined anyway.

24th Oct 2004, 18:03

It could be bad lower tie-rods and ball joints.

19th May 2006, 17:17

I have a 95 Grand Am SE V6 and I experienced the same thing. I took it into the local tire shop and had the hub assembly replased and no more shaking.