1999 Pontiac Sunfire Sedan 2.2L from North America


Good little car


Service engine light comes on while driving as well as a pass-key lock warning light. Had it checked a couple of times and re-flashed. Hasn't been cured.

Remote key entry has an annoying emergency horn beeper button that can be set off accidentally and quite often.

Just recently the thermostat had to be replaced. First GM dealership I took it to wasn't too cooperative. Next one took it in, gave me a courtesy car for 2 days until they could get to fixing it. Repair was covered under warranty.

General Comments:

Great on gas.

Trunk is just big enough to get all our baby accessories in for a week long trip.

Comes with 3 built in baby seat anchors in the rear seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

1999 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America


Fun to drive and own!


At 19,500 I had to have the daytime running light feature fixed.

I had to have all the O2 sensors replaced at 21,000.

General Comments:

This car is a great buy and well worth the money!

It should last for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

3rd Oct 2004, 13:09

I too have a 1998 and LOVE IT!! I bought my car after graduating high school in 2000, and it has been great. I have done routine maintenance on it and have had no major problems. I have just recently hit the 55K mark and she is still running great!

There are only a few things I would change, as an example power windows & locks, and a latch to release the trunk so you wouldn't have to turn your car off to open the trunk.

I do agree that the body and paint seems to scratch and dent easily.

Overall this has been an excellent car and I plan to keep mine for years to come.

2nd Apr 2007, 16:14

I just bought a 99 sunfire for 1500 hopefully it's as good as you say it is.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire from North America


The king of cars!!



General Comments:

Best car ever owned!!!

Reason for selling was I got a higher paying job, and went out and bought a Chevy Malibu instead.

The Sunfire is an excellent car!!!

The engine's a bit gutless when it comes to passing cars on the highway.

But other than that... BEST CAR ON THE ROAD!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 17:22

I used to think that my car was great too when I first got it. Of course the car is going to run great when it's new. Wait until after 50,000 - 60,000 miles and you will likely have to fix major items like the engine and transmission.

25th May 2006, 15:21

I hope the original reviewer bought a 1978-1982 Chevy Malibu instead of a 1997-Present Malibu - the newer models (especially 97-00) are unreliable and problem prone according to 06 Consumer Reports, and the many negative reviews (for the recent 97-00 models) on this site.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire Coupe SE 2.2 from North America




What hasn't?

Lining around the doors keeps coming off, 3 times.

Speakers have gone out.

Radio buttons keep chipping, 3 times.

Outside mirror won't stay in place.

Just dies on me once in a while, no one can figure it out.

Brakes had to be adjusted, etc. etc., and this all happened before I even had 10,000 miles!

General Comments:

I will NEVER buy another!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

19th Dec 2000, 02:30

I have had fan pulley problems, brake problems, radio/CD player problems, speaker problems, and shifting problems. My 1999 Sunfire is at 38,000 miles.

4th Apr 2001, 07:51

I have a 1997 Sunfire, and I had to have my radio replaced right after I bought it.

The piece that attaches the seat belt to the side of the car has broken twice, and my radio buttons are chipping as well.

I recently had to have my fuel pump replaced ($750) after my car died on me. I also had to replace my power steering hose ($100).

Is anything for this car not outrageously expensive???

Lately, my check engine light keeps coming on, but I'm afraid to see what it is. And the rattles! It sounds like the car will fall apart if I hit a big enough bump.