1999 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 6 of 10

1999 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.4 Twin cam from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

It is a great car if you want something sporty for a low price

Faults:

My alternator died at 55,000 miles.

General Comments:

It has great performance for the price.

The car handles great with the factory tire and wheel size, 205/65R16.

The Sunfire GT can be upgraded easily.

I've added a strut stabilizer bar, air intake, and exhaust which has improved the performance.

I love the car and I will own it until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2004

14th Feb 2005, 12:26

I have had my car for only a few months. I took it from Texas to upper New York and back. It had great gas mileage and handled perfectly in the snow and ice.

13th Mar 2005, 12:30

My 1999 sun fire GT coupe is a great car... handles well in the snow. Few things need fixing because the previous owner didn't take good care of it. I live in the southern tier of Ny (snow belt) and it handles wonderfully!!! I LOVE my sunfire!

5th Aug 2009, 16:46

I agree with the above comments, the car drives great in the snow and is quite cheap to buy. I love my 99 Sunfire GT.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

In the price range, it is a very nice car, reliable, and fun to drive!

Faults:

The alternator went out without warning at 74,000 miles.

The trip odometer will not switch back & forth.

The air conditioner on switch went out at 38,000 miles.

Had to replace all 4 fuel injectors, the spark plugs, the catalytic converter, & a relay at 72,000 miles due to buying some bad gasoline.

The valve cover gasket began leaking at 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has a sleek design and handles very well.

It is relatively cheap to drive & requires very little "out of the normal" unscheduled maintenance.

The backseat passenger area is a little cramped, but, I don't have to ride back there & what else would you expect from a compact car?

The interior looks cheaply made, but overall is comfortable & durable.

The car does have quite a few blind spots.

The car has a roomy trunk. However, getting something in the opening can be a pain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2004

20th Jan 2007, 14:44

Gosh you obviously don't like the car.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire GT Convertable from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A reliable convertible at a good price

Faults:

No problems, radio control seems stripped, but it still works fine.

General Comments:

Nice convertible. 94,000 miles and the only thing I had done was a break job.

Handles well, good pick-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2004

1999 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

LEMON of a so call CAR

Faults:

Had to replace the transmission twice. Once by the dealer under warranty the next time at my expense. The radio had to be replaced due the knobs were striped out and now again they are striped out(which this is minor compared the transmission). The motor feels as if it is loose although I have had it checked and the mechanics told me that is just the way the car is. We had a 1998 sunfire and it was great. I don't know what happened with this one. I worry all the time due my daughter lives out of state and it is constantly breaking down on her. Pontiac please quit making these lemons

General Comments:

LEMON

I would never buy another sunfire.

FOR SALE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

17th Feb 2005, 10:51

I agree, I like my sunfire, but it's not very impressive on the road or in my driveway. My front speakers sound terrible, my back speakers are just hanging in there. I resorted to buying a bass system to drown out my door speakers. I'm never going to fix another thing on this car and I'll just wait until it breaks down for good.

17th Mar 2005, 19:20

I bought my 1999 sunfire with 5000 miles on it in 1999. I've never had to put ANY money in it, except of course tires, and oil changes... wiper blades...brakes. Just what you'd expect from any vehicle you've had for 6 years. My only regrets are that I (being a single girl) bought it because of the color...that's about it, and I wish I would have paid attention to the bottom of the line things that irritate me to death. no automatic windows being #1. It still runs beautiful, and the body is in great shape, as is the interior. I live in the snow belt, and I am thinking of trading it in for a 4x4 but I'm scared I'll get a lemon.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews