1999 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews

1999 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired239000 miles
Most recent distance349000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

It was awesome

Faults:

Replaced the exhaust system, including the cat and sensors.

Plus 4 tires and a starter, one fuel filter, a gas line and one wheel bearing, and one set of brakes, over almost 5 years.

General Comments:

This car was extremely reliable. I paid 1500 dollars for it almost 5 years ago, and approx 1500 dollars in parts, other than oil changes, every 5000 km. I also put 110 thousand km on this car.

It is going to the scrapyard this week, and I will get about 300 dollars for it.

This car was unbelievable. I bought a 2005 Malibu, which is a bit bigger, and also has a 2.2 engine; I hope it is as good as my old Sunfire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2012

1999 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carKia Rio

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Brakes pads have been replaced in the front.

New drums on the back.

General issues with the AC - no one is quite sure what.

Some wiring was recently fixed, fuse replaced, $50.

Odometer sometimes skips out - a good bang on top fixes that right up!

Was running hot when I first got it.

Think I might have a clogged fuel line... but a little cleaner will fix that.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my car!

Is driven very roughly.

Handles well at 80 miles an hour - who needs to go faster?

Has jumped multiple railroad tracks.

Steering is awesome.

Accelerates pretty good.

Cute car.

Good mileage.

Does well even with issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2010

11th Sep 2011, 22:37

This review seems very typical of the reviews that import fanatics love to cite as "evidence" that domestics are somehow unreliable. It's the typical scenario: Someone buys a horribly abused car with half a million miles on it for a few bucks, has trouble with it and writes a bad review about it.

Our GM vehicles have all been flawless, including our last Pontiac (a Grand Am 2.4). Never a single problem with them. We take care of our cars. They last until we are tired of them (sometimes 300,000 miles) with virtually no repairs. It's not the car, it's the care (or lack of care) it gets.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire EX 2.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.2 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Read before buying!

Faults:

I paid 1400 for this used Sunfire in 2007; the engine was at 190,000km.

I brought it up to 207,000km and during the 17,000 I've spent:

Car itself: 1400

Safety: 860

Door lock: 200

Gas tank: 400

Engine: 1200

Wheel bearing and to pass the e-test: 850

Starter: 200

Wheel bearing again: 400

Coolant flush and misc: 200

New battery: 120

Tires: 240

TOTAL : 6070.

And now it needs:

Need to fix:

Head gasket 500

Water vault: 125

Leaking gas tank 400

Horn: 100

New brakes: Who knows?!

And whatever it takes to pass the E-test:???

Total: OVER 1200!!! MORE!

It's an awful car and no one should EVER buy it!

Sea.

General Comments:

It's beyond a lemon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th December, 2009

26th Dec 2009, 14:17

I don't think it was all the car's fault, sounds like you got ripped off big time by the previous owner's misuse and abuse of the vehicle.

After spending 1400 for it and then nearly another 1000 to safety it, I would have junked it after the first 2 new problems on your list.

I own a 2001 Sunfire, previous owners looked after it, I look after it and it's very reliable. Just the usual tires, brakes, etc.

Next time I would do a bit more research on the car, previous owners, take it to a mechanic before buying and all that. The Sunfire/Cavalier are economy cars that weren't built to last forever, that's why they are so cheap to buy, most people run them to the ground in 5 years and then try to sell them to some poor individual for a pretty penny.

10th Sep 2011, 01:08

I have a 1999 Sunfire, and it is the best car I have ever owned. I haven't had to do anything to it but change the brakes and valve pan gasket, and I have had it for 6 years and it has 185000 miles on it, and it is still going strong.

10th Sep 2011, 17:23

This is my first car, and I will admit, I wish it had more power. I think it's a great car otherwise though.

You can't really count the brakes, the second bearing replacement, and tires, when those are all either obvious routine maintenance or because some mechanic ripped you off. You probably should have spent a little more than 1400 on it, because even though Pontiacs have low perceived values, they aren't that low.

Most of this stuff just needed to be replaced because the other owner neglected it.

On my car, I have needed to replace the A/C, the transmission seals, and the fuel pump, all of which cost about $300 at the most, although I will admit, we did the work ourselves.

The Sunfire is a great little car that always starts and has never left me or my uncle, who owned the car for 10 years before I got it 6 months ago, stranded.

Believe it or not, I have actually gone off roading with it; nothing too intense, but it was the highlight of me and my best friend's summers.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews