1999 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 3 of 10

1999 Pontiac Sunfire 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Good basic transportation with style

Faults:

Starter was replaced, but it turned out to be a nut was missing on the stud.

The car makes this clicking/mechanical noise, like the timing chain was rubbing against something.

The seat has "flattened" to to a point where I can feel the metal support bar pushing into my back.

The AC compressor literally blew a hole out the side, and obviously doesn't work.

Fan speeds 1 and two don't work - weird that my Malibu has the same problem.

Front "bumper" is discolored and sagging slightly below the hood - seems to be a common thing.

Needs struts badly, and rides horribly.

Otherwise a very reliable car.

General Comments:

If you can get one cheap that has been maintained well, then I'd say it's worth it.

Had it for two years, and it only almost left me stranded once (starter).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

9th Sep 2008, 01:47

My Sunfire as well has the discolored bumpers, and sags a little below the hood.

Fan speeds one and two do not work for me as well, my A/C doesn't work because the compressor tube to the radiator went straight into the alternator belt and burnt a hole into it.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carPontiac None

Summary:

SWEET baby, SWEET!

Faults:

No problems with car. Some replacement parts are high cost.

General Comments:

Great little car. Bought it for my son when he was 16. At 18 he decided he wanted a small truck so I traded him my truck for his car. We have had no problems with this car. It runs great, great handling and looks beautiful. The GT model has plenty of power and the car is great handling. I WILL buy another Pontiac!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2007

20th Apr 2007, 12:25

Yeah, wait until the bottom half of the engine fails just like mine did with no warning.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70960 miles
Previous carpontiac sunfire

Summary:

Very reliable... when it isn't stalling in intersections

Faults:

I have a 1999 Pontiac Sunfire SE (2.2L) and just recently it has started stalling. I drive for awhile with no problem, then it seems like I can't get it to do anything. then it will let me start it right back up. In park it starts fine put it in drive and it dies again. I let it sit and then its fine to drive for a while. I have been told to clean my throttle body so I did and it still happens, I had a complete diagnostic done and everything came up clear. No codes were found in the computer that issue it having a problem.

Also, my car leaks when it rains. It comes in through What I believe is a hole in the molding by my back window and leaks through the body and under neath my back seat.resulting in a very wet backseat ride. No fun for my passengers.

I love the car to death, but I need to know what's going on.

General Comments:

For being a small compact car the interior is very roomy.

I have the car lowered and the suspension is very stiff, but that's not a problem for me at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2006

4th May 2009, 11:56

Sounds like perhaps the torque converter is staying in the locked position. There's a solenoid that controls the lock up. If you like, simply disconnect the solenoid. You lose some gas savings on the highway but you prevent that stalling problem.

1999 Pontiac Sunfire GT from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance218000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

She's My Lemon

Faults:

The real question is, what HASN'T gone wrong with this car?!

The brakes have had to be replaced so many times that I have lost count.

My dual exhaust system currently has a hole in it right at the Y joint (of course!)

The alternator has been rebuilt - I couldn't bring myself to spend the money on buying a new one.

The wire connection to the battery failed four times over the course of a four month period. I might also mention that the battery is brand new.

The entire electrical system in the car was assembled by a monkey on crack.

For example, the digital display on my odometer, clock and radio station display works 10% of the time.

My automatic sunroof has literally been stuck open at the worst of times (ie. in the middle of a torrential downpour).

The base trim around the driver and passenger side windows has eroded (or something) making it look as though someone has taken a lit cigarette to a variety of spots down each side.

The gas tank had to be replaced due to severe leakage.

It feels as though my right wheel bearings are going - although I have yet to confirm this with my mechanic.

Rear window defrost does not work.

A/C and heating is either on full blast or off. The two fan options in the middle of the dial do not work.

Auto-door lock fails in the winter thereby forcing me to manipulate it with a blunt object in order to move it enough to allow me to close the drivers-side door.

General Comments:

Acceleration is very good considering the degree of abuse this car has taken.

The seats are comfortable.

The cup-holder is in a very awkward position so much that when I put the car in park, I am unable to remove a bottle or cup.

Gas to km ratio is impressive.

The vehicle is relatively cheap to fix - THANK GOD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2006

31st Aug 2006, 22:49

Sounds like you bought a lemon, man. Hope you didn't pay too much for it.

27th Feb 2008, 20:36

I was planning to buy a 1999 Pontiac Sunfire GT. good thing I read your comment first. It changed my mind.

23rd Mar 2008, 18:42

I have a 99 sunfire gt and have had nothing out of the ordinary go wrong with it. I keep up with regular maintenance I have about 160k mile on my car with no problems.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 41 reviews