2001 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired126752 miles
Most recent distance126752 miles

Summary:

Buyers beware!

Faults:

First problem : Lash adjusters loud and need replacing.

Second problem: Car lost power, would not start, wire between starter motor and soleniod started smoking, solenoid blew, now not working.

General Comments:

Hi, my wife and myself are recent Sunfire owners and it sounds like we purchased someone else's problems from all of the reviews I have been reading. We purchased the car used for 1000.00, it had some body damage, which was not difficult for me to fix. Then started the electrical problems.

Every one I have spoken to has advised me to trace the ground wires, that it sounds like a short.

Easy to say considering that there is a mile of wire under the hood!

I have thus far replaced the starter and now will be replacing the soleniod come payday, but unsure if this will fix the problem.

It sound as if Pontiac used some very cheap wiring in this car.

If any one else has had the same problems, please post it as I am sure this will be just the beginning of my adventure with this car.

Oh, by the way, we only got to drive the car for two days.

Frustrated Sunfire owner number?.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

26th Jul 2006, 15:37

Take your care to a certified Pontiac dealership and have them test the mother board on your car. If it is having the same no start problem my car is having, go trade it in. It's an $$$$ part to replace and a common one on all Pontiac models. I will never buy another pontiac.

1st Aug 2006, 16:16

You said motherboard problems... so was your car not starting, but sounding like it wanted to, but wasn't connecting to something. I'm having this problem and I heard one of the mechanics says something about reprogramming the board. How much can I expect to be out of and should I just trade it now?

15th Oct 2007, 02:16

Taking the original starter to an auto parts store would have been my first move.

Most will bench test for free.

Then go from there.

Most non-starting issues turn out not to be the starter itself.

If you are handy with a multi-meter, it can be traced.

9th Oct 2008, 18:44

2002 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.2 Ecotec - bad fuel pump 4300 miles, fathers car 5 yrs old. Real grocery getter... changed filter NO LUCK!!!

Weak fuel pump, difficult to change, dropped Dual exhaust. drill out heat shield rivet (many more than needed).

Drop tank straps, engineers should have made them easier to change.

I wish gas was cheaper; I would just use my 89 5.0 Mustang LX. No wonder we can no longer compete with foreign auto makers. SH$%@#$...

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.4 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A great car for the value.

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my 2001 Pontiac Sunfire.

General Comments:

I purchased my 2001 Pontiac Sunfire 2 door in November 2004. I love it. Nothing has gone wrong for me. I get good gas mileage, and the stereo, 200 watt monsoon with cassette and compact disc, is awesome. The 150 horse power engine has no lack of power as it will sit you in your seat when you take off. For being a two door it has lots of room in the interior and the trunk is a relatively good size. The traction control is a great thing to have. I would buy another Pontiac in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

2001 Pontiac Sunfire 4.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Blazer

Summary:

For an economy car, it ranks high for performance

Faults:

I have had to replace the fuel pump twice in the past 2 years. I have asked the mechanics why this would happen, two fuel pumps in two years is not common I wouldn't think. I was curious if anyone else has had to replace their fuel pumps for this model and if so, what is causing this. Is this possibly and manufacturing defect? If anyone can answer this question please do so, I would like to know.

General Comments:

Looks are great for an economy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2005

10th Mar 2006, 07:46

I am on my third fuel pump, so I'm also curious. My pumps have gone out in the middle of traffic three times. I have also had the fuel filter changed twice. I have about 70,000 miles on the car.

1st Jun 2006, 19:07

I have had to have my fuel pump replaced. Not a cheap item to have replaced. I only have 60000 miles on my car. But besides the jumping gas meter and bad fuel pump, I have to say it has been a great car. Good on gas on easy to drive.

1st Jun 2006, 22:30

I am guessing that you guys are getting cheap rplacements from some cheap auto store? I would suggest an A/C delco replacement part. More expensive, but you get what you pay for!

28th Jul 2006, 09:47

My air conditioning is down. I have yet to find why. The freon level is 100%.

9th Sep 2007, 16:27

I have replaced the entire fuel injection system in my Sunfire 3 times in 6 years. The guys at the shop said the original appeared to have a faulty chip and didn't always detect fuel?? Noone can explain the other 2 times. I take good care of my car, so I think Pontiac is to blame on this one.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 31 reviews