2001 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

The best American Compact on the road

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I cannot recommend the Pontiac Sunfire enough for anyone in the market for an American compact "starting level" car.

It has been totally relaible for more almost 4 years.

The car is beautiful for a car in its price range. It doesn't have an econobox or cute "chic-car" design, but rather looks like a mini Camaro.

COMFORTABLE SEATS. Unlike most other compact cars that come with those rock hard "Styrofoam" seats, the Sunfire comes with seats you just sink into.

Has plenty of pickup and handles well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 02:08

My 2000 Pontiac Sunfire was recalled. There was a problem with an ignition wire. The dealer sent out a letter and fixed it for free.

I would also like to add that the cup holders are directly in front of the air conditioning/heating controls; making it difficult to adjust them with your coffee in the way. Especially when there is two of them.

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

I will never own another Pontiac again

Faults:

A drunk driver hit me, and my Pontiac Sunfire this past March. The car was completely totaled and started fire.

With in the first 3 weeks of owning the car, it was at the dealership 3 times. The car just would not start. The staff at the Pontiac dealership were rude. The last time it was at the shop, they kept it there for a week. Turns out there was something wrong with the fuel injectors. The brakes were horrible, and the entire front end of the car would SHAKE when any sudden pressure would be applied to the break pedal.

General Comments:

It was very good on gas, and it was a fun first car.

Stereo was bad. Back speaker blew the first time I put the bass to its fullest potential. Cup holders were in the way of the air controls.

The back seat was very small, yet the trunk was huge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2004

25th Oct 2004, 19:54

The reason your Sunfire seemed to vibrate due to heavy braking was the A.B.S. system. That is absolutely normal and a sign that you're A.B.S. is functioning. It's not something to worry or complain about.

25th Jan 2005, 18:25

Depending on how new the car was, it may have been that your rotors needed to be turned for the brakes. This would cause a shudder.

15th Oct 2007, 02:05

GM stereos are just junk.

And my guess is, your braking problem is the rotors.

Not ABS.

And if it is ABS, than YES, you can complain about it!

I've never heard of a car shaking that was "normal".

:)

23rd Aug 2008, 23:25

You can see where the cup holders are before your buy it and same with the size of the backseat.

Factory stereos are not meant to be used to their highest potential, so blowing the speakers is your fault.

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13350 miles
Most recent distance13400 miles

Summary:

A very good deal

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with my Pontiac Sunfire yet.

General Comments:

My Sunfire only has aabout 13,400 miles on it. It is a very well running car and takes turns great and just fits me well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

2001 Pontiac Sunfire GT 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A lemon on wheels

Faults:

Everything. The sunroof leaks, the cruise control works when it wants, the paint is peeling on both doors, the AC never blows cold air even at full blast, the CD player has scratched several of my CD's and the radio buttons stick constantly.

General Comments:

I hate this car. I traded out of my 1999 Nissan Maxima to get my payments lower and thought I was getting a good deal because of the $3000 rebate. I found out that the reason GM offers these rebates is because that's the only way they can get people to buy their lemons. I tried to trade out of this POS and found out I still $4,000 more on my loan than the car is worth. I am stuck with this car for at least another two years. I paid $18,000 for it and the most I can get for it now is $5,500. And they wonder why more people don't buy American?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

10th Apr 2006, 12:52

I disagree with this person's review. I've had my Sunfire since 2002 and nothing has gone wrong on it. Nothing leaks either. I love this car. Worst cars by far are anything made by Ford.

1st Mar 2008, 16:07

I have a 2001 Sunfire GT and I love it! I live in northern Alberta, Canada and have had no problems driving my car in -51 degrees Celsius weather. Every winter we get cold temperatures averaging -45 degrees and the only difficulty for the car is that the tires are frozen and it makes the ride rough. I guess it depends who your dealer is, because any repairs that I have needed have been minor.

21st Aug 2008, 07:15

I've had my Sunfire for 2 years now and haven't had any problems with it. It runs nicely, doesn't leak, and my air conditioning is TOO cold sometimes.

The paint is wearing off on the top of the doors, but I've noticed that in every sunfire I've seen. I'm not sure what's up with that.

I used to drive a Ford Ranger, so this little Sunfire is heaven compared to my old truck.

5th Mar 2010, 09:52

I have a 2001 Pontiac Sunfire and I am trading it in for another vehicle. I was young when I first received the vehicle, so I was merely attracted to the outwardly appearance. Well, let me tell you, I will never buy another Pontiac in my life, even if the price was for one dollar.

My sunroof stopped working, my car floods on the passenger side if it rains, the power-steering has gone berserk, the car smokes whenever I drive it, and I get tired of people watching the vehicle like it's going to explode.

Additionally, it recently takes a long time to start.

I also have a hard time opening the trunk on occasions, a CD has been jammed inside the CD player for more than three years, the steering wheel has lost a lot of its material, the clock on the radio has been cracked from the heat, my inside mirror has fallen off the windshield, the tires always are flat, the indicator lights only work in the front and I have to continuously make hand signals, and the alarm stopped working.

I am sure there are plenty more reasons why I hate this car, but I can't seem to think of any.

I hope this comment helps all those people who are considering investing in a Pontiac: Walk away!!!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 31 reviews