2001 Pontiac Sunfire Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2L from Puerto Rico

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance41653 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Expensive, but cool

Faults:

Many problems with radiator.

Electrical systems many repairs needed after it burnt out some wires due to radiator excess heat.

Transmission broke 2 times.

General Comments:

The car was fast enough for anyone who likes speed, comfort and roomy cars in one package.

HOWEVER, it was broken easily, almost every month something needed repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

2001 Pontiac Sunfire 4 door 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Reliable and dependable

Faults:

It has a lot of highway noise.

General Comments:

It has a nice audio system, and a nice heating and air conditioning unit.

The back seats are not very roomy, and it doesn't have an ashtray.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

6th Sep 2003, 12:55

I would just like to add that the reason for not having an ashtray is because not everyone needs them and they only take up needed space. I noticed that mine lacked one, but I wasn't affected by it. That's one more cup holder for me.

2001 Pontiac Sunfire SE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10996 miles
Most recent distance36680 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good for just scooting around town

Faults:

Since purchased used in May of 2002, my 2001 Pontiac Sunfire has had to have the rotors resurfaced around 20,000 miles. Now it has 36,680 miles and I just had the brake pads replaced and rotors turned. It is also making a rattling noise that sounds as if it coming from near the glove box area near front of car. Any other 2001 Pontiac Sunfire owners out there please advise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

23rd Sep 2003, 07:39

The lid on the Pontiac Sunfire glove compartment holds in most of the contents, so if there is anything in the glove box it will rattled against the lid. If you have problems with this noise try placing a face cloth in the glove compartment. If you hear a loud metallic rattle coming from this area your may want to have your strut mounts checked as they are just behind the glove compartment.

24th Oct 2003, 02:00

I have the same problem. the sound is like someone jumping on an old mattress. something like that, but not like metallic though. I tried once to get everything out of the glove box, but it still has that sound.

1st Jun 2005, 19:48

I hear a rattle too, but it is more like the squeak the other person described. I figured it is coming from the shocks or something because it only happens when I go over bumps.

5th Jul 2006, 11:57

I have had the same problem, it drives me insane. When I go over bumps, I hear like a sqeaking noise. I took it to the dealer and they said it was due to bad strut mounts. This is a very common problem in both Chevy Cavaliers and Pontiac Sunfires.

7th Jun 2007, 13:27

Just some input.

My boyfriend works on cars and his sister had one for a while. Hers did the same thing, especially over bumps in all that. It was the struts. I guess the struts in a lot of sunfires go.

7th Jun 2007, 17:15

Ya my pontiac grand am did that too and it was a 94.

2001 Pontiac Sunfire Sedan SE 2.2L-4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L-4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired180 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A good buy

Faults:

The trunk would not latch properly one Saturday. I had to tie it down until Monday when I could get it to the dealer where they repaired it under warranty.

Some of the dash backlighting does not work.

General Comments:

The car runs well and is reliable.

Excellent sound system, however it has some really advanced features (Traffic reports, program type selection, program information) that I could never figure out.

It's comfortable and roomy with a fair amount of trunk space for a compact.

New "Indigo Blue" color for 2001 is really sharp, but I think the paint is already starting to fade. Shows a lot of dirt and needs to be washed often.

I like the chrome wheels.

Handles great in icy and snowy conditions.

The front brakes pulsate and are already over 50% worn.

Lots of noise and rattles on bumpy roads, but handles well.

Fuel economy (for me) is slightly better than advertised, but sharply decreases in cold weather.

I smell oil burning every time I get the oil changed; mechanic says it's a design flaw in the placement of the oil filter. It's harmless, just a little annoying.

I good car if you can deal with occasional small annoyances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

11th May 2011, 21:25

Your mechanic is right. The oil filter is in a tight spot and is directly above the exhaust/flex pipe. So oil drips onto the exhaust and burns as you drive, causing the smell you spoke of. Should be gone once the few drops burn off.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 31 reviews