10th Mar 2011, 10:34

Re: 19:49.

In many ways I agree with you. At some point the manufacturers need to be able to say that the car is used up and it is the owner's job to keep it safe. That would be rational. But a lot of irrational things are happening in this country. Trial lawyers make sure of that.

I still think that if a car owner has a complaint, and feels it is a safety issue, the correct procedure is reporting it to "safercar.gov". If there is a critical number of complaints, they will investigate. If it is a safety issue, they will talk to the manufacturer and come up with a solution.

20th Mar 2011, 06:31

Yes, my interior light has done the same thing on my 2000 Sunfire. Now it stays on. Want it to go off. The door chimes stay on after you get out of the car. Check engine light stays on also. No luck at fixing it.

19th Apr 2011, 13:57

I also have the same problem as you with my headlights not working, but my driving lights do. I took some cardboard and folded it till it would turn the lights on, and taped it in with electrical tape so I could still use my blinkers. I had to tape it pretty tight or it would still slip. I was just trying to see if anyone knew what was wrong?

Mine is also a 1996 Sunfire. My cruise also doesn't work. And my windshield wipers stay up when I turn them off. So I took the fuse out, and have to put it back in when it rains.

20th Jun 2011, 02:00

I had the same problem with my 04 Sunfire. I had the wires replaced and everything was fine. I was told it was from dry rot.

30th Jun 2011, 09:41

I am having a problem with my daytime running lights as well. I changed the headlights and the relay and they still don't work.

What worked for you?

Bart.

12th Jul 2011, 09:54

Check you O2 sensor. Located in front of the motor right off the manifold. Kinda looks like a spark plug with a wire hanging off it that clips to another wire. Remove it when the engine is cool. If you do it directly after turning the motor off and it's been running a while, you'll very quickly realize why you need to let the engine cool... trust me. Good luck!!!

12th Jul 2011, 23:19

I have a 2000 Sunfire. Bought it 3 months ago.

2 months ago I started blowing head light fuses, and I just keep replacing them. Now last night my fuse went again. Put in a new one, and nothing; the only thing that will work is high beams. Not too sure what to do.

You can reach me at adam-gorry-@hotmail.com

13th Sep 2011, 22:57

Under your fan is a chip for the fan settings; that's burnt out.

24th Sep 2011, 08:19

My Sunfire's head light goes out in park, but works in gear and neutral. I think it's made that way.

28th Nov 2011, 20:07

I have the same problem. Mine is a 2002 Sunfire, it sounds like a bunch of hair pins rattling, I'm not sure what it is. Have you any idea? Please let me know.

18th Dec 2012, 11:06

Check your power steering fluid level. The square light with a fluid level and the arrow pointing down monitors fluid levels. On mine it only came on with low power steering fluid when I had the rack and pinion leaking. It would go away while it had enough fluid, and come on when I had to add more... then I got tired and replaced the whole thing. Best spent $300... no problems at all after 6 months.

26th Aug 2013, 02:01

I know this is a very late reply.

The warning light is for low coolant level.

The sensor is in the lower front portion of the reservoir on the front passenger side (under the hood in the engine compartment, behind the left headlight assembly by about a foot).

21st Dec 2014, 00:35

I have the basic model of the Sunfire. Power nothing, and I have nothing but problems with the DRL not working; no high beams, and now no turn signals. It does the clicking sound when you turn it on, and sometimes it doesn't start. So it's not because it's the basic model. It must have something to do with where it is made.

24th Feb 2015, 11:38

For the fog light problem, I've been having the problem too. Tried the switch, fuse is good, bulb is good. Wiring looks fine. This is on a 2000 Sunfire GT. Seems hopeless.

Just going to put some aftermarket fogs in. And for inspection, fog lights are not an issue. Not all cars have them. Not included for safety.

Thank you for looking in.

10th Mar 2015, 17:58

Check the wire running from battery to the starter. If it's loose you may have to replace the nut. Just fixed this on mine.

10th Mar 2015, 18:06

Check the battery wire connection. Particularly to the starter. Make sure it's snug.

22nd Mar 2015, 15:59

My Sunfire was dead. No power anywhere. Neg connection at the battery box. It bolts to the battery box, about 8 inches down from the connection on the battery. 9/10 times that's the problem.

19th Jul 2015, 04:35

I'm having same problem. It also affects my windshield wipers too