2000 Renault Clio Reviews - Page 9 of 11

2000 Renault Clio Liberty 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

A brilliant little dodgem car

Faults:

Battery cell became faulty, thus resulting in a new battery needing to be purchased. This happened after about nine months (11,000 miles).

General Comments:

The car is excellent value for money.

The car has a personality of its own and is often referred to as a dodgem car as it is so cute.

The car is always reliable if treated well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2001

2000 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired800 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic 1.6 VTi Hatch

Summary:

A wolf in sheep's clothing

Faults:

Nothing really. Oh, everyone is afraid to travel with me 'cos it's so fast...

General Comments:

What a stormer. Excellent performer. Faster than hot snot on greased lightning, okay, slight exaggeration there. Slight! Great handling (takes a bit of getting used to) and great feedback through the steering. Beats the VTi I had previously hands down. In short, no problems / complaints to date. And I've clocked up over 3200 miles over the last 5 weeks. Loved every mile of it.

Only bad point - the torque steer is something to watch for - especially in the wet. Fun enough in the dry, but can lead to a skidmark or two in your undies in the wet...

If you're thinking about one, GO ON - TREAT YOURSELF!!! Performance wise this car won't disappoint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

14th Mar 2001, 10:07

You compare the Renault to a Honda VTI? - which is a 1.6 compared to the Renaults 2.0 litre and is also a larger car... no wonder the Renault is quicker, but wait for the new Civic Type-R to come out (2 litre also) and perhaps it will be a level playing field?

19th Mar 2001, 22:56

The comment I believe is not a comparison against a 1.6 Honda but rather a comparison against the last car the person owned.

Honda owners should not take this reviewers words as criticism. Mugen who?

13th Apr 2001, 07:27

I don't know why these people are getting so upset with you comparing the 172 to a VTi - that are direct competitors in the same class, i.e. hot hatches. They were saying that the VTi is a bigger car - it is only slightly bigger and has not got much more room in it than the Clio. The Clio is a cheaper, faster, better handling car with similar running costs. It also looks far better and is without a doubt a far superior car. I am not an anti Honda person - I have owned Honda's CRX Vtecs & Civic VTi's before and am a great fan of their engines et al, but I had a good long test drive in a 172 and immediately I realized it was a far better car to drive.

25th Jun 2001, 02:38

Haven't driven any Clio but I'm not expecting better handling than Honda with its double wishbones + low gravity center and excellent steering..

Honda should have better cornering and comfort...

I'm going to buy a Renault, after I'm sure about handling issues...

And: Anybody studied the Renault Clio Sport 172 's undercarriage? Is the camber adjustable?

--->>> Basar

2000 Renault Clio Sport 172 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio 16v

Summary:

Hot Hatch Heaven! - Part II

Faults:

Steering wheel needed alignment.

Water leak through wheel arch - had to be re-sealed.

General Comments:

A fast, smooth, car that handles very well. Acceleration and overtaking are a treat in this car, as is interior comfort.

All the options are included with this car as standard. A more sporty exhaust would have been nice.

For more info on this top car, visit my website: www.cliosport.net

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

30th Jul 2001, 11:39

I have a Renault Clio Sport 172, and I can say that: If the car had wings... I could fly away.

2000 Renault Clio RS Sport 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance800 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Faults:

Left rear brake disc caliper bolt fell out and the brake hose sheared off - lost the brakes completely!

General Comments:

Great car, but someone screwed up at the factory which could have cost me my life. Guess it could happen anywhere?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

12th Feb 2001, 05:08

Never heard of an RS Clio Sport, is this the 172 Sport from Europe. If it is I would love to know how you got your hands one.

Thanks,

Paul, Sydney, Australia

30th Mar 2001, 13:13

The "RS" he mentions refers to RenaultSport I think... Bit of a mouthful - RenaultSport Clio Sport 172. Doesn't exactly roll off the tongue that easily. Anyway, great car, I'm buying the Exclusive version this week (only 172 made)...Which means I'll be the owner of a "RenaultSport Clio Sport 172 Exclusive". Phew. That's even harder to say in one breath - but who cares?!

Al.

16th May 2001, 22:45

Just wondering how Al went with his RenaultSport Clio Sport 172 Exclusive- any comments on dealer/insurance costs. I am looking to buy one, but can't get anyone to quote to insure it for me yet!! The dealers have not been particularly helpful to date.

TL, Sydney.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 43 reviews