2004 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 11 of 12

2004 Renault Megane Authentique 1.6 16v from Romania

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance7450 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Cielo

Summary:

Good car, but not supported by the customer service

Faults:

CD-player broke down after about 10 days.

Extremely bad customer service.

After about 5000Km a strange noise kept hearing in the left wheel when driving on poor roads.

I found water in the passenger door pocket.

The rubber gaskets of the hand-break box fell off.

Sometimes it lacks power even at motorway speed (like fuel starvation).

Not exactly very well built.

Not too nippy.

General Comments:

Good stability in corners.

Very quiet.

Very good looking.

Good handling.

Huge boot space.

Good fuel consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

18th Jan 2006, 08:24

I have to comment on the very poor customer service!! Terrible to the point that I will never again buy a Renault!! Pity as the car has promise! Even the customer help line are unreliable!! I've been waiting for them to call me back for more than a month!!

27th Mar 2006, 13:38

I agree with your comments about the noise around the left wheel, I have now had this checked 4 times, but Renault have not found any faults!!!

I AM NOT DEAF!!

Customer service are very poor and I will definitely not buy Renault again, I wonder if they would find a fault if the sound appeared in one of their formula one cars?

SORRY RENAULT, but I AM NOT IMPRESSED!!!

2004 Renault Megane Convertible 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Lovely to look at and a pleasure to drive when the roof behaves

Faults:

I bought the car on April 19th, on May 1st roof stuck for first time. This happened at midnight with rain threatened. AA fixed it by closing it manually, but it went wrong again on May 18th. That was the last time I saw it until July 19th. Renault put a technical block on the part until it had been tested.

Once the new parcel shelf had been delivered, they discovered a stretched cable, which again had a technical block on it. All parts finally arrived and installed two months after taking car to local Renault dealer.

General Comments:

Other than this fault the car is brilliant and I love it! However what is the point of a convertible that I am now extremely nervous of converting!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2004

26th Apr 2005, 04:44

I just ordered a Megane convertible which I should take delivery on the 11 of may 2005. Do you think I made the right choice and will be able to enjoy this car trouble free?

24th Jun 2005, 09:40

We have now had a megane convertible for over a year, and the only problem I have is that my wife will not part with it to let me drive it. I am happy enough to be changing my Nissan Primera for a megane sport hatch in September.

Did have slight rattle in roof where it locks down, but local dealer soon adjusted that.

We love it.

2004 Renault Megane Sport Tourer 14. 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 14. 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1750 miles
Previous carRenault Kangoo

Summary:

Looks Well, Comfortable, Safe, High Specification, Would Buy Again

Faults:

No Faults to date.

General Comments:

This one is the Sport specification level, which in Ireland, includes the 16" Alloys normally fitted on the Dynamic specification.

I traded up from a 2002 Kangoo, and there's simply no comparison, the quietness, performance, comfort & safety are worlds apart.

The road holding is simply rock solid, with a very comfortable ride, Irish roads to tend to test both of these aspects to the limit...

Economy is good an average of 44mpg to date.

Boot size is very good and takes all shapes and sizes. For our family this involves Double Buggies and all the associated items children bring with them!

I like the Child Lock Button on the Drivers Door arm rest, this child locks the back passenger doors & disables the rear electric windows to prevent any mishaps involving same (I believe the electric windows have an anti-pinch feature anyway, but better safe than sorry).

The leg room in the back is very good, considering I'm 6' tall and have the drivers seat almost all the way back, still plenty of room for an adult to seat comfortably behind.

Overall a fine car which I would have no problem in recommending to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

4th Oct 2006, 15:11

I posted this originally shortly after purchase (June '04), see update below:

The car has 27600miles on the clock currently, 4th October 06.

The engine temperature gauge began operating erratically lately, works sometimes etc. Fuel MPG started to dip off gradually, engine has started shuddering and eventually cuts out. Had booked into the Renault dealer, but actually broke down later that day, at rush hour of course...

AA towed to Renault dealer who after two days cannot figure what the problem is, as with all of these situations the car is just out of manufacturers warranty.

No fault lights show which is frustrating any resolution attempts.

Probable cause as explained by 3rd party:

Engine Temperature gauge shows engine as cold.

Engine Management System increases the supply of fuel to heat a supposedly 'cold' engine, engine floods and you're dead in the water regardless of speed, or like me turning right on a junction at rush hour.

Confidence considerably reduced in Car, Dealer understanding and ability to resolve same drops confidence even more.

Would I buy again? Don't know at this stage.

Regards,

Nervous owner.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 36 reviews