2004 Renault Megane Reviews - Page 5 of 12

2004 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.5 dCi from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 dCi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Really nice car let down by the odd electrical gremlin

Faults:

Sunroof refused to open or close - twice. Now fixed.

Keyless entry system

Electric window (rear). It dropped like a stone and wouldn't go up again.

One-touch electric window (front). Seems to have fixed itself.

Dreadful brake squeal. Unresolved.

Electric door mirror (intermittent fault). MAde a strange buzzing sound.

Digital dashboard window/panel (intermittent fault)

Auto wipers (intermittent fault).

Rear wiper (intermittent fault). Seems to have fixed itself.

General Comments:

Despite having had some problems I really like this car. It has many good qualities and it has never broken down. And the dealer has been extremely competent in fixing things. I have not reported all the faults because they don't always occur and I shall be buying another Megane soon.

The turbo diesel engine is an amazing piece of engineering. It's fast, economical and very refined.

It is extremely comfortable, the seats are very supportive on long journeys and the fabric is wearing well.

This car has masses of character, it is a very pleasant car to drive and I have no regrets buying it.

Overall I am a satisfied owner. However Renault need to spend a bit more effort ensuring all the electrics are robust. In my opinion they still have some work to do in this area. It will be interesting to see how 2006 Megane compares.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

28th Aug 2006, 15:40

Renault Megane Dynamique purchased new July 2003

Problem experienced: difficulty in starting - engine turns over, but does not fire; immediately stalls; if revs maintained starts off running roughly. Intermittent fault - six attempts this year to remedy fault, but fault occurs again

-has occurred again 27/8. No other problems, but this fault makes the vehicle unreliable. Renault UK advised.

2004 Renault Megane 120 hp d from Norway

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 120 hp d Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Oil light keeps comiing on, and the oil is fine.

General Comments:

Well the car has failed on my scale!

The performance blatanlty stinks, if you put the pedal to the floor there is like a 2 second delay before it goes anywhere. I have to say that even the key is a pain n the ass it's a card key, its just outright annoying. my wife likes it, but she doesn't know squat about cars as long as its pretty I guess.

Handling like a boat out of water and forget about the traction control, we live in Norway where there's a lot of snow... forget about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

8th May 2006, 00:36

You call it Crap because the oil light came on? and 2 seconds isn't that much time anyway, you are not driving a Renault F1 car..

9th May 2006, 05:42

Aw c'mon! the megs surely performs better than you're claiming...2sec! how fast is it taking YOU to press the accelerator tho???

9th May 2006, 14:56

Well I tell ya its been in for service 3 times cause of the oil light and they just can't seem to fix it.

The sound system stinks and compared to my 92 Peugeot which thankfully I still own, the acceleration really is crap!

Try merging onto a busy highway with a 2 second delay lately? When you hit the gas the car should go instantly like every other car I've owned in my life, which is about 24 cars (they are cheaper in the states).

So I will stand by my claims that the Megane is crap, sorry folks one mans opinion.

Jerry g.

2004 Renault Megane Dynamique 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carSeat Leon

Summary:

An ideal family car

Faults:

Air conditioning malfunctioned at 7,000 miles.

Dashboard trim began to crumble at 17,000 miles.

General Comments:

So far the Megane has been a dependable and practical family car.

With just a 1.4 petrol engine, performance has hardly represented the cutting edge of excitement.

Interior is comfortable, but feels flimsy.

Fuel economy and all other running costs are relatively low.

Was great value at £10,700 and has so far proved to be worth every penny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 36 reviews