2004 Saturn VUE Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2004 Saturn VUE AWD V6 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance25 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

A cheap cheap trill!!!

Faults:

The Car shook badly.

Cabin rattled.

Customer service was horrible.

General Comments:

I bought Black Saturn Vue with the 3.5 V6 and it was quick of the mark. I loved the was it handled. The 4500 dollars cash back was a plus and a major sales incentive. It looks sharp and is a rugged SUV for the money.

At 10 miles it started to wobble at about 35 mph and continued as it accelerated. I took the car back 5 days after I bought it to be fixed. I got the car back the same day. when I got the Vue back I drove out of the parking lot to find the problem was not fixed. So, I turned around and took it back. As they were taking it on the second test drive they had smashed my car into a curb ruining the tire and the rim. This happened to a car with less than 150 miles on it. So they replaced the tire and rim.

Later I was told that "The Trans axle on the AWD4 & V6 AWD Vues were faulty on most Vues, that's why there is a wobble. And they still sell these cars to people??? So they told me they would order a good one.

I then decided to exchange the Vue back and take another that didn't have the wobble and was not damaged.

Upon getting the new car home, we had to turn around and take the car back. The tail lights and blinkers did not work! This Vue has 5 miles on it and the tail lights and blinkers don't work! I am just fed up. If I have one more problem with this Vue. I will demand my money back. UGH!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 14:25

About the wobbling, it was probably a suspension problem and the blinker thing is probably the dealer's fault which if that's the service they're giving you, I'd write your local newspaper and tell people how bad this dealership is and I'd even contact GM too and from experience, they dealt with the situation well and I've found that the Saturn dealer has improved in service dramatically and my friends who own Saturn's feel the same way.

6th Aug 2004, 06:54

I don't see what all the complaining is about. Our 2004 FWD Vue is a wonderful vehicle. Our dealer is very good and the only problem I have experienced is that slight wobble, but it is not that significant. I had a 2001 SW-2 and loved it so much that I stayed with Saturn. So far I'm glad I did.

5th Dec 2005, 10:28

I love my 2004 Vue...V6, FWD, and completely fantastic from the beginning!

3rd Jul 2007, 11:31

I love my 2004 Vue, except for the loud clicking when you use the turn signals.

16th Oct 2007, 16:18

When I bought my 2004 AWD Vue, there wasn't a lot of problems except for the wobbling, but we brought it in with our warranty. I noticed the inside paint is chipping off next to my radio; also the seat warmers don't work. But I still have this car, can't trade it in, negative amount will roll over.

2004 Saturn VUE FWD 4 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Previous carSaturn SW

Summary:

This is a very appealing SUV backed by the Saturn dealer network

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I chose the 2004 Saturn VUE based upon previous experience with Saturns and with Saturn service. I traded a '96 SW2 with 98764 virtually trouble free miles. I asked numerous VUE owners about their experience with the car and discovered that these owners were very pleased with their VUEs.

The front seats are very comfortable especially with the leather option. The seating height makes for a good view of the road. It is a joy to drive. Handling is precise. Shifting through the gears with the 5-speed manual is super smooth and the 4 cyl. engine puts out adequate power and is quiet from inside the cabin. The rear seat is spacious and seat backs recline slightly. Rear lift gate can be opened with the handle without using the key which is convenient. Fit and finish is excellent. The Rain Forest Green paint is flawless and interior materials are of good quality including the plastic pieces. I like the shape design of the VUE and find little, if anything that I would change in this well thought out sport utility. I can fit my bicycles inside the vehicle mounted on an interior bike rack available and purchased from Saturn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

19th Mar 2004, 15:38

2 corrections on my submission of this review:

The dealer rating should read 10/10 not 1/10.

Add: I would buy another car of this make. (delete "Don't know") DHK.

16th Apr 2004, 10:08

I've owned a 2004 VUE AWD with the Honda V6 and so far so good. A sensor light fried, but was replaced. Handles well and has got great pick-up. a solid family car.

18th Jul 2004, 17:36

I love my VUE!!! Lots of space at an affordable price. So far this vehicle is mechanically sound.

12th May 2005, 20:17

We have a 04 Vue with the 2.2 and 5 speed manual. With a little over 9,000 miles on the clock it has been near flawless. The only problem has been warped brake rotors, but then every front drive GM car I have had (6) has had the same problem - The General never seems to learn.

Performance, gas mileage, and handling are excellent for the size of the car, and price. One tip chuck the factory air filter an put in a K&N lifetime unit - Gas mileage improved, and my wife did a little burnout the first time she drove it with the filter changed, not her style, and she has driven 80% of the miles on it. The power difference was evident immediately, and has really improved the ability to merge onto freeways - no problem coming off the ramp at 70 without flooring it.

I will admit there are things that look cheap, but then I bought it for that reason Out the door for about $14 K and I was able to dump a lease on a real lump of junk, a 2002 Blazer V-6 5 Spd when I bought it. The availability of a 5 speed was a major factor. 4 of our 5 vehicles are 5 spds, only an inherited 65 Mustang has an auto, but that may change.

Anyone who thinks the Gertag 5 speed is noisy or rough should try an manual v-6 Blazer - my Toro rider shifts better, and rides better too.

16th Dec 2010, 13:51

Warped rotors are caused by overheating your brakes. Consider downshifting before going down hills.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 35 reviews