2004 Saturn VUE Base 2.2 from North America

Summary:

The base model has been an absolute bargain for us based on how it has performed thus far

Faults:

No repairs whatsoever! Looks, drives and runs like the day I bought it. Everything works as new!

General Comments:

I have an 04 Vue with a 2.2 5spd FWD popular in Canada only. My wife loves this vehicle. Bought it with 40k in 06, and now has a 75k with NO REPAIRS WHATSOEVER! This vehicle has been flawless, and I expect will continue to be based on its history so far.

We researched this vehicle before we bought it. It had no dealer service history other than the pre inspection. I will say it was a little noisy as far as clunks and groans, but performs like a charm. I put new Goodyear Fortera Triple Tread tires on and a lot of the clunks and groans have disappeared. Previous tires were Bridgestone Turanza EL42's. I do not recommend them even if they are a deal.

I cannot ask for better fuel economy. We average 8.0 litres per 100k on highway trips, and have lots of room for everything we carry, far more than ANY competitor.

That being said, this vehicle does NOT have all wheel drive, which is as poor as the VTI transmission abandoned by Saturn. We did our homework and are very satisfied with our purchase. Thanks to everyone for their comments on what not to buy after buying it!

P.S. This is not written by a dealer, but someone who's wife wanted a Vue based on looks and nothing else. I am not a GM fan, but cannot say anything bad about the vehicle I own.

Bottom line... DO YOUR RESEARCH!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

5th Jan 2010, 17:29

35,000 miles isn't much put on it. And 75,000 miles overall is nothing. I've had cars with well over 300,000 miles. Just seems funny to me that you seem so excited about 75,000 miles.

6th Jan 2010, 21:17

This comment is for the moderator. Please read my review before putting an unhappy blue face for an emotion icon. I am clearly happy with the vehicle as you may or may not have read. Please do a better job of reading these reviews before posting the emoticons.

7th Jan 2010, 10:51

********************

steven@carsurvey.org

********************

The emoticon isn't chosen by hand; it's based on your answer to the question "Would you buy another car from this manufacturer?" Email me at the above address if you'd like this changed for your review.

Steven Jackson,

CSDO Media Limited.

7th Jan 2010, 15:26

This manufacturer no longer makes cars!

2004 Saturn VUE 3.5 V6 from North America

Summary:

Dependable SUV that meets my needs

Faults:

Driver rear window molding developed a crack.

Throttle body developed carbon deposits and I cleaned it with carb cleaner.

Interior paint trim pieces on center console and steering wheel peeling. I have not had any other mechanical issues, knock on wood.

All of these items are minor and car has been reliable. The engine and transmission are made by Honda Motor Corp, so the powertrain should be very reliable. It's the same 3.5 liter engine that is used in the Pilot, MDX, Ridgeline and other Honda/Acura models.

General Comments:

The Vue has polymer/plastic doors, fenders and quarter panels so it is dent proof. It has been a great SUV for my family of 4. Car has been hit in the rear (20 mph) and front (backed into by Civic) with no issues except some superficial abrasion scratches. It has a tough GM body. It bought the SUV because of the Honda powertrain. The GM body is simple and should be repairable when needed.

I'll provide a follow-ups and hope to drive it to over 200,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2009

3rd Jun 2013, 23:20

I have a 2004 Saturn Vue Redline. This has the Honda engine. It's been a great truck; no serious problems. I have 230 000km on it. I am getting some weird shifting or shaking. People are telling me it's the transmission. What is it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2nd Nov 2013, 00:27

Hi all,

I am over 150,000 miles on my 2004 Saturn Vue V6, and it's been reliable. The only thing that broke is the coolant sensor that indicates low coolant. Not important enough for me to replace, so I disconnected it. I just check my coolant when I change my oil or when I check under the hood. The engine is still strong, but I would say the transmission sometimes makes a rough noise. At 150,000 miles it's expected. I'm hoping to make it to 200,000 miles without issues.

Best All.