1998 Toyota Camry LE 4 Cylinder from North America


High value car


I have had no problems with this car since I purchased it.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. It has been great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

1998 Toyota Camry LX 2.4 liter 4 cylinder from North America


A few minor problems, and one not so minor


Brakes started grumbling when applied. I thought it was the anti-lock brakes, but it turned out a thorough cleaning of the rear brakes fixed the problem.

Rear cup holder lasted about a year.

The throttle had a ‘catch’ in it due to a loosened throttle choke plate. This was rather exciting at times on starting from stop sign, as it wouldn’t release initially.

Ignition switch was replaced.

Periodically the trunk lock fails to work.

One design glitch is that there is not enough ground clearance under the front bumper. It rubs the concrete on normal height curbs.

The only failure of significance are the valve stem seals leaking, causing smoking for a few seconds on startup. Although I don’t know for a fact, I have read where the seals have been a problem with the 4-cyl engine. Dealer cost is nearly $1000 to replace.

General Comments:

The pluses are the car is quiet and comfortable. Visibility is good. Fuel economy is very good for a car of this size, around 32-34 on the highway, 28-29 overall. 4 cylinder engine has adequate power for most driving, although when driving in the hills, the 6-cylinder would be a plus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

2nd Feb 2004, 17:29

My rear cup holder is history, as well. Not very sturdy, durable or even functional when it was not broken.

1st Oct 2004, 09:51

I have three toyota camrys 1998 and all of them have a problem with smoking on starting up. Additionally, the door arm rest becomes malformed over the years and leaves a gap between the electric window/lock panel and the rest.

10th Oct 2007, 16:28

Your valve guide seals leaking is more of a common problem than you might think. I am certified with several manufacturers and have seen this from all of them. The difference in the petroleum based oils can cause the seals to dry out and crack as well as carbon build-up can push the seal away from the valve itself allowing oil to leak in the combustion chamber when the car is not running.

I have had great success in using Top Engine cleaner available at the GM dealer. I do suggest allowing the technician to do it because there is a chance you could hydro-lock the engine. But I really do swear by this process and have seen it do amazing stuff. And I am very opposed to mechanics in a can.

1998 Toyota Camry LE V6 from North America




Pulls to the left, especially at freeway speeds. Replaced original tires at 15000 miles. Two tires were completely worn smooth. Have aligned wheels 3 times. Dealer says he cannot duplicate symptoms.

Transmission will not shift into third gear until engine is warm. Usually requires about 2 miles driving in winter. Dealer said he could not duplicate problem.

General Comments:

I have been very disappointed in Toyota's inability or unwillingness to fix these problems. I will probably go back to Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

14th Jun 2003, 13:24

How many dealers and/or mechanics have tried to duplicate your concerns? I wouldn't say that just because one mechanic could not duplicate two less than obvious problems that a vehicle is disappointing. Maybe you should try to ride with the mechanic, or try another dealership. But one attempt to fix problems that may or may not exist is not proper justification to categorize a car that performs well in all other aspects as disappointing.

1998 Toyota Camry CE 2.2L, 4 cylinder from North America


A good economical purchase


Driver's side seat belt broke, easily fixed.

Cup holder for back seats broke off.

Emission controls needed 'tweaking' several times.

Slower acceleration than other cars.

General Comments:

This car is a CE with most of the standard features on the LE (CD player, power windows, cruise control, etc.), so driving is enjoyable.

Steering is good, and the car handles well in most conditions.

The Toyota dealer near me is very kind, even if I had to go up more than I wanted to for a problem. This car for the most part is very reliable, so it only had to go in a few times.

Good fuel economy, averaging 22.3 MPG city (highway unknown).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003