30th Nov 2007, 11:20

I have the same motor as the Vette and zero issues... and not the super blah boring import sedans.

30th Nov 2007, 11:45

With the precipitous decline in quality of the imports, notably Toyota and Nissan, I doubt that any of the Big Three have anything to worry about.

30th Nov 2007, 12:28

Corvettes have nothing to do with Camrys nor does this review have anything to do with imports versus domestics. But if you want to break it down that way and base an argument over build quality, I don't think anyone that knows anything about the automotive industry can sit and look straight faced and claim that "Domestics blow imports out of the water!"

The only thing that Corvette can claim is that it is a cheaper sports car compared to say- a Porsche/Lamborghini/BMW M5, etc etc. You get what you pay for, and in the end the Corvette is a cheaply built car with an econo-car interior.

In regards to Japanaese companies not having a stellar sports car, well they have plenty, of which two come to mind: The Subaru WRX, and the Nissan Skyline, which is legendary in Japan, but not sold in the US (yet)

30th Nov 2007, 12:34

What "precipitous decline" are you talking about? All five Japanese brands are still ranked in the top five of the same JD power report that you anti-import guys keep using as "proof" of how bad imports are. That sounds a bit contradictory. Secondly, the two problems that have been mentioned in these reports are for two vehicles total: the V8 Tundra and V6, 6 speed automatic transmission Camry.

As pointed out countless times before, the problem with the Tundra was with a defective Camshaft which has so far affected a grand total of 20 trucks. The problem was fixed quite awhile back. In the case of the Camry, the blame was for a snap ring that had a tendency to come loose inside the transmission. This also affected an extremely marginal percentage of the production. This 'problem' has also been remedied.

Keep on preaching the anti-import gospel, but at least have some facts to back up the sermon.

30th Nov 2007, 14:07

I always thought Corvettes.GTO's, Trans Ams<Camaro etc etc by GM throughout the 60's and to date were sports cars... thanks for enlightening us.

30th Nov 2007, 16:13

"GM doesn't make a sports car and never did"???

What do you consider a sports car? A Toyota Camry Solara with a rear spoiler? The American domestics are what started the sports car trend, and saying that GM doesn't make a sports car is just flat out wrong. The Corvette is among the purest sports car you can get. Sleek aerodynamic body, rear wheel drive, 400+ horsepower, 2 seats, and a driver's sport tuned suspension, you simply can't get any more sports car than that. There is not a single Japanese car in production that can be called a sports car. Rice burners that are all suped up don't count.

30th Nov 2007, 17:11

True to the econo import scrimp view, the interior is more important than what is under the hood. I do not need cup holders, snack tables and courtesy gadgets. It's totally impossible to dismiss facts such as 0-60 in under 4 seconds for the new Vette... If stitching and piping is your bag, more power to you.

Here is one that should make the econo mode only fans shudder... a new hood for the Dodge Viper costs a mere $19,000. Not too many economode fans are willing to pay $1000 month Viper payment, plus insurance and a set of rear skins on a weekend at $800 a pair. But it's worth every penny after you pay for your home, educations etc.

Reading about interiors are ludicrous unless your car has zero driving appeal. and certainly not indicative of capability, vehicle engineering, mechanical design and performance.

30th Nov 2007, 17:29

11:45 To say that the Big 3 have nothing to worry about is a joke in itself. They've each been losing many BILLIONS of dollars because Americans have finally come around to the fact that almost any import is a much better automobile.

Toyota and Honda are so far ahead of GM, Ford, and Dodge that the gap in quality will never be closed.

With the exception of a model or two in the last 15 years, Toyota/Honda have been rated higher in quality by anybody who knows anything. No surprise there, everyone knows they are, which is why the Big 3 just keep getting into worse trouble each year, selling less and less each year, and watching their already solid reputations for low quality junk get even worse. I really hope you were trying to be funny; if so, you got me!

1st Dec 2007, 07:20

As a sidenote, legislation has just been passed that states that by the year 2020; ALL automakers in the U.S. must achieve an average gas mileage of 35 mpg across the board. It will be easy for Toyota and Honda, they're not too far from it now. Watch the Big 3 give that one a try. If all three are still in business by then, which is doubtful. It'll be laughable, and the fact that they are 20 years behind Japanese automotive technology will REALLY become obvious. Telling gullible people they're 'Ford Tough' or 'Built like a Rock' isn't enough anymore. Better try to re-engineer that 'rock' guys.

1st Dec 2007, 15:36

16:13 'Rice burners' that are all suped up are much closer to the essence of what a sports car is than a Vette will ever be. Sports car to me means handling, maneuverability, and speed; has to be all three. The vette has speed, but is pathetic in the other two areas. GM doesn't make sports cars and never did. They once made muscle cars, but that era is over. The new Vette isn't a muscle car either. A '69 Chevelle is a muscle car. An Olds 442 is a muscle car. A new Vette is a pricey Cavalier that gets bad gas mileage. The Supra was a sports car.

1st Dec 2007, 17:25

17:29 but in turn more and more import owners have tracked mechanical woes of late and are becoming more enlightened every day. I bought imports only til 2004. My repairs have dramatically decreased.

1st Dec 2007, 23:01

Uhhh...I'm STILL waiting for the import fanatics to answer the one VERY SIMPLE question: If Toyota Camrys are so much better than their competitor, the Ford Taurus, why are there nearly THREE TIMES as many favorable reviews of 2003 thru 2006 Tauruses as there are 2003 thru 2006 Camrys??

Of course there is NO comparison between Camry and the new Fusion. The Fusion has the HIGHEST reliability ratings of any car ever built anywhere in the world.

As for the "sports cars", calling a Subaru WRX (a dumpy 4-door sedan) a "sports car" is like calling a skateboard an SUV. Putting a powerful engine in a riding lawn mower does not make it a sports car, just an ugly fast thing.

2nd Dec 2007, 10:01


My family owns many newer imports and have no troubles, and yet the ones who drive the domestic ones have the most repairs.

I just totalled my 1997 Honda and will go out and buy a 2005 Accord now, because the ones my family own have had no trouble.

2nd Dec 2007, 11:17

23:01 WHAT? I'd love to know how and why you invented that information about the Fusion.. why are we even talking about that car? It's already forgotten everywhere else, but on car forums. Just a blip on the radar compared to a Camry or Accord. This has been said every other day on this site, but apparently some people need reminded every day: Toyota and Honda, like always, are above the domestics in quality and reliability ratings. On paper, and for sure in the real world.