2008 Toyota Camry from North America - Comments

18th Jun 2009, 16:54

Yes, ummm... it is very patriotic to drive a car built in Mexico.

18th Jun 2009, 22:50

Good, I'm not the only one who has had tons of issues with my piece of S$%*@ Camry. I was able to trade mine in last week, and I bought a new Chrysler 300 because of the fantastic deals at Chrysler. I don't care if they are bankrupt. Why I bought an import in the first place is totally beyond me. I have NEVER owned a car that gave me more headache's than my 2007 Camry. My Camry was the first import I ever owned, and I can guarantee that it will be my last. Numerous people told me to by a Camry because they are "Indestructible." This car left an awful taste in my mouth. The dealer that I worked with was no help whatsoever. I looked up reviews on my new 300 and of course all these "enthusiasts" nit-pick the 300 apart, but I don't care that it doesn't have the most plush interior, it has already gone a whole week without needing to go back to the dealer for service, which is way more than I can say for my Toyota. Do yourself a favor. Don't buy one.

19th Jun 2009, 14:23

Fusion is built in Mexico by a U.S.-based company. A handful of Japanese vehicles are built in the U.S., and the money goes to Japan.

Confusing the number of jobs actually held by U.S. auto-related industries is a favorite tactic of Japanese companies. The U.S. auto industry employs 91% of all auto-related workers in the U.S. The Japanese auto industry employs only 9%. It doesn't matter if Ford builds Fusions in the Antarctic or Toyota builds Camrys in Mayberry USA. Those are the figures: 91% versus 9%. If you buy a car manufactured by a Japanese company, you are choosing to benefit 9% of U.S. citizens while HURTING 91%. That is simple math. The "It's made HERE" argument never seems to take that into account.

A few (VERY few) people based on overall industry employment actually benefit from Japanese companies building cars in the U.S. It makes for great hype, but does little to help our citizens. 9 out of 100 is not NEARLY as important as 91 out of 100.

20th Jun 2009, 13:23

Yes so how does employing Mexicans to build Fords in Mexico actually help those unemployed US autoworkers, who lost their jobs when the company they worked for chose to close plants here in the USA and open factories in Mexico?

At least Honda & Toyota have provided some manufacturing jobs for American workers, while corporate America has exported jobs.

It is not the American people who has hurt American corporations, in fact it is corporate greed that has hurt America.

22nd Jun 2009, 12:17

This comment should be more than adequate to explain this situation.

5th Jul 2009, 18:09

The 91 vs. 9 argument has been done to death - please give it a rest.

If you want to live in a country with closed borders, the USA isn't it, sorry!

6th Jul 2009, 14:37

Thanks for the honest initial review. I will avoid this model.

7th Jul 2009, 12:23

"Thanks for the honest initial review. I will avoid this model."

Although not all Camrys are this bad (but none are rated better than the Ford Fusion) I strongly recommend taking a look at the Fusion, Malibu and even the Dodge Avenger. With the U.S. auto industry in crisis it is important to remember that buying from a U.S. auto maker is beneficial to 91% of those employed in auto-related jobs, while buying from a foreign auto maker hurts our economy and helps a scant 9% of auto-related workers. People need to be aware of the damage done to our country when we turn our backs on our own industries. Yes, we are a free country... free to destroy our own way of life if that is our choice. It isn't my choice, and if you really care about a huge number of our citizens it hopefully won't be yours.

7th Jul 2009, 20:33

Why anyone would want a Buick over a Toyota is beyond me. But, it's a free country!

8th Jul 2009, 12:12

Considering that long-term reliability studies by J.D. Powers rank Buick tied for number one (with a Ford product) and Toyota is WAYYYYY down the list, I can easily see why anyone wanting a stylish, reliable car would opt for a Buick. It's ranked even higher than Lexus now. Domestics long ago surpassed all Japanese brands in quality and reliability.

8th Jul 2009, 13:18

Better car is my overall opinion. Ride handling is great quality, better warranty, room, performance, a couple more reasons as well. Drive both, best recommendation.

17th Jul 2009, 10:32

I grew up in the South, which has been enjoying a Renaissance lately in manufacturing. Toyota, Honda, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes, and Hyundai all have plants in that region employing 10's of thousands of workers.

The problem isn't squarely tied to people buying "import" cars, but rather states like MI, IN, OH, PA, and WI who have a legacy of industry controlled by unions. That and high state business tax. This in turn makes manufacturing in those states prohibitive. Thus why employees in those states have been suffering for decades.

Secondly if this really and truly is about supporting US workers, then you should remove the Ford Fusion, Buick Lacrosse, and probably Dodge Avenger from the from that list.

The Fusion is built in Mexico. The Lacrosse is built in Canada. Incidentally, the new Lacrosse about to hit showrooms was partially designed in China. The engine in the Dodge Avenger is actually a derivative of an older Mitsubishi engine and is built in Mexico.

Continuing on, the new Camaro was designed in Australia and based on a Holden platform. It will be built in Canada. The Chevy Aveo line is imported from Korea. The Pontiac G8 was designed and built in Australia. The soon to be released Chevy Spark was designed and will be built in Korea.

I could go on, but just because you buy a car with a US branded badge on it doesn't mean you're directly helping middle class families, which is what I assume you're meaning to indicate. I pay pretty close attention to where things are actually made. I care more for the little guy. My Toyota Tacoma was made in Fremont, CA. A good percentage of the Denso components are made by Denso USA in TN. A little over 64% of the truck has US sourced parts under the hood. But more importantly, the plant it was made in supports US workers. Given the choice between a car made in Mexico or a truck made in the US, I'd choose the later.

Lastly, only old people buy Buicks. Hardly a contender here.

17th Jul 2009, 13:54

I drove a Buick 455 GS to high school -I was 17 at the time Not an anemic potato shaped import.

18th Jul 2009, 14:46

Given the many Big Three's cars and parts are designed and made outside the US, I doubt that 91% of all American autoworkers are employed by the Big Three. This number, 91%, is not reliable.

Moreover, the manufacturing processes and labor costs of the Big Three are not efficient. Sooner or later, the Big Three and their new owners will have to downsize the labor force and improve the manufacturing processes. If the Big Three have been efficient, they would not have to go through the current much heralded financial problems.

People should have a choice of the car that they want to buy. Patriotism in consumptions of consumer goods is neither advocated by the US government nor the US legislatives because the US is still the strongest advocate of free trading and free market competition.