1996 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1996 Toyota Corolla GLi 1.3 petrol 16v DOHC from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol 16v DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13100 kilometres
Most recent distance133500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Atoz

Summary:

Reliable and well built-in

Faults:

No much thing need to be repair for this second hand 7 years car.

Air con and water pump

Bottom Engine mounting

Water Container (Wiper Part)

Brake Pad (Front and Rear)

Engine Tuning.

General Comments:

This is 1,332cc car only, engine is 4E-FE 16V EFI DOHC (same with Starlet Turbo Engine)! Not for fast and speed, but for comfort and stable ride. High speed, the engine will rev 3K rpm when reach 100KM/H, a bit noisy. Cheap to maintain, parts are almost compatible with previous corolla. Excellent fuel economic and good power for such 1.3 to support heavy chassis. No regret!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2003

1996 Toyota Corolla Conquest 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Good reliable transportation

Faults:

The trim on the drivers door adjacent to the door opener had sagged with time.

My example had an alternator replaced at 45000km and again at 95000km - it was on its third one when it was sold.

General Comments:

The car is very well built and finished and drives well.

Reliability is great (except for the alternator - see above).

Performance is quite good when coupled to the manual transmission, but if there is a criticism it is that the handling is only average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

1996 Toyota Corolla Sportif 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48 miles
Most recent distance52 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A car worth owning

Faults:

The only thing to go wrong was the boot release cable which has either snapped or come loose.

General Comments:

The car has always been reliable and an excellent runner. I passed my test in the same car in 1997 and I even believe it helped me.

Very comfortable to ride in.

Spacious boot.

Mint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

1996 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Best vehicle investment I've ever made!

Faults:

Not one thing has failed on this car. It is still in excellent condition.

General Comments:

Has been one of the best cars I've ever owned, period.

Excellent gas mileage, 28-34 mpg.

Just changed the oil every 5000 miles, and put one set of new tires on it.

It still has original brake pads on it, at 94,000 miles.

Expect to get 250,000 miles before it dies, Toyota build quality cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

30th Jan 2003, 14:38

I own a 96 Corolla and just replaced the motor at 264,000 miles. Other than that, only routine maintenance was needed to be done. If you find one of these, do not hesitate to buy it!

10th Oct 2003, 00:43

I just purchased a used '96 Corolla, and I'm completely impressed with the smooth ride, capable handling, fuel efficiency and zippy (for a small 4 cylinder) performance--what a solid car! It seems like rear power window problems are persistent in the '96 Corolla. Although mine haven't failed, they do squeal loudly when used. But for as well-built and dependable as this car is, it seems a fair trade-off.

26th Nov 2005, 23:57

Regarding squealing windows. Take out the cover and spray some WD40 on the gear teeth. That really helps.

1996 Toyota Corolla DX from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Toyota makes one of the best cars sold in the USA.

We have had them since 1979.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 1998

23rd Jul 2001, 07:43

I love my 96 Corolla! I bought it with only 32 miles and now I have 127,000+ miles. I have only had to replace the starter and the timing belt (which had not even gone out). I would definitely buy it again as well as recommend it to anyone.

26th Feb 2004, 21:25

I have a 1996 Toyota Corolla, I'm 57 years old and owned my own garage, this is the best buy on the market, I have over 103,000 miles on it with only tires to buy. Buy one you will thank me later. Toyota made this car to last.

Sincerely Dave.

5th Dec 2006, 14:34

I own a 2004 Toyota Corolla S since the end of 2003. I purchased the car brand new and put 60,000 miles on it. At 30,000 miles, I changed the brake pads and routinely give it an oil change about every 3,000 miles. The car runs perfect! This car continues to be a reliable and stylish vehicle that is very fuel efficient. Just add gas and go! No worries.

13th Mar 2010, 04:14

My Toyota Corolla DX 1.3 is still working perfect until now.

14th Jan 2011, 09:26

I purchased this wonderful car in 2000. Since then it is perfect. I love my car.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 32 reviews