2003 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 VVT-i from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVT-i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired225 kilometres
Most recent distance3400 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Great tourism sedan

Faults:

The all-new Toyota Corolla has many changes from the other generation, but I remarked some problems:

-Low quality plastic

-Strange noise from dash

-Low quality tires

-Non sporty transmission and drive.

But the car runs 800 kilometers with 45 gasoline liters with smooth drive.

General Comments:

Good car, I recommend it to everybody who has at least 18000 $CAN to invest in a car who has one of the best reputation in the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

17th Dec 2003, 21:44

800km on 45L is a bit optimistic, it's more like 600 km on 50L and that's if you light on the pedal.

23rd Dec 2003, 19:25

800 km to a tank of gas? I get 360 km maximum to a tank with my 04 Corolla which is the same as the 03. Is all your driving done on freeways? Most people do mixed. I was absolutely shocked at the lousy mileage with this car. I am wondering if yours is so much better, whether mine is indeed a lemon. Unfortunately the dealer does not care once you buy the car. I am about ready to buy a Hyundai, seriously... my old Pony got 425 km to a tank and it was a smaller tank than the Corolla...I am very disillusioned with all the advertised promises about Toyota.

2003 Toyota Corolla Levin 1.8 VVti from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVti Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15500 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Good price all rounder! Excellent build

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I was afraid of buying a Japanese car. I am someone who really emphasises safety, especially when it comes to crash safety.

This is why I had a Mercedes Benz for a previous car. The Mercedes was great, but I was not used to the feel of the steering wheel. The Mercedes C Class last generation uses gear box power steering system rather than rack and pinion, so it feels less communicative to the wheels.

This Corolla I must admit, unlike the previous Corolla, which feels a bit tin can and light, this model feels much more solid, and I must say, it's almost got the solidness like the German makes. It's very comfortable, very good head room, better than the last model C Class, and this model C Class. For the price, the comfort, the head room it offers, the 4 air bags, the running cost, I believe this car is very well made. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2003

2003 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

What else could you want for 14,000

Faults:

This car is near perfect.

The only thing that I do not like is that the radio and CD player is not of the highest sound quality.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable and nice looking car.

The engine is not very big, but it has decent pick-up.

The interior is very clean, and comes with power door locks, windows, and key less entry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Nice, reliable, good mileage, not expensive

Faults:

Bought new, the wheel alignment was way off. I had to get it realigned.

There is vibration in the front panel, but only occasionally so far.

The radio is located too far away to reach properly. It could also sound better.

The car is not designed for average height for men. Everything is cramped or too far for comfort.

The motor is a bit noisy, especially during idle when the motor is cold. By design it stays in the 2000 RPM for a couple of minutes to better burn emissions, but its annoying!

General Comments:

This car is very decent in curves.

It has an excellent gas milage of about 8.1 city.

Nice interior and exterior (although this is very subjective to individual taste).

It has Proven reliability track record.

The base model CE offers a lot more than other competing cars such as : power mirrors and CD Player for a slightly lower price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

6th Dec 2003, 10:42

Is it really designed to idle at 2000 rpm? My corolla does that too, I thought there was a problem and was going to take it to the shop.

16th Mar 2004, 19:45

Many new cars do this to help speed along the warm-up cycle. My 2001 Tib does it and so does my 2002 CR-V. It certainly doesn't hurt anything and on really cold days (-25C) it revs even higher.

17th Apr 2005, 10:54

For example, the Civic DX base model has no power mirrors, CD player, or even air conditioning. Corolla CE has them standard. By the time a Honda dealer adds air conditioning and CD player to a new Civic, it's a $2000 difference and still no power mirrors! Even Civic VP costs $1500 more and still no power mirrors! Gas mileage is identical between the two.

2003 Toyota Corolla Levin 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance3500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Holden SS

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Cigarette lighter faulty.

Right hand side vent faulty cable fell off.

General Comments:

Very nippy car for a 1.8 liter engine.

Comfort is good for a small car, drove for more than 4 hours and still able to walk after driving for this long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews