2003 Toyota Corolla LX from North America

Summary:

Very Reliable and still going

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with it all.

General Comments:

Absolutely wonderful car! I owned it since it was new. All I do is change the oil and put in the gas, and I'm up to 134,00 miles and going strong. It's my second Corolla in a row, and I probably will stay with Toyota's from here on in. This car isn't real flashy, it just gets you where you want to go without fail. Very dependable. Great gas mileage. Good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

2003 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 VVTI from North America

Summary:

No regrets about purchasing a Corolla

Faults:

Driver's seat seems to be losing shape.

Brakes squeal, but bite is still good.

No major component failure.

General Comments:

Car has proved to be very reliable and just gets on with providing reliable and economical transport.

Nothing about the car is exciting, but it has few faults so I personally don't think about the car as it just always goes and everything works.

Stereo is decent and the space (interior and trunk) is good. The trim is wearing well and cleans easily. The interior is well designed and has an upmarket feel (for its sector).

During 2006 when the fuel prices spiked I was not in a panic as my fuel costs were still reasonable. I suppose the Corolla's excellent fuel economy is one of the reasons for the high 2006 sales figures in North America.

Engine is a bit noisy when cold, but quietens down. Acceleration is OK, but not great.

All in all, a good car that I have no regrets about purchasing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2006

2003 Toyota Corolla T3 1.4 vvt-i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fast, reliable pretty little car

Faults:

The water drips in the front doors onto the seats on wet days - very annoying.

A lot of brake dust on the alloy wheels even after as little 30 miles.

General Comments:

Great little car. Goes like a rocket and not to shabby at the handling either. Vast improvement on the last generation. Very womanly needs to be beefed up a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2006

2003 Toyota Corolla S 1.8 16-Valve from North America

Summary:

Without exception, the most dependable car I've ever owned

Faults:

Nothing so far after three years soon.

General Comments:

The car looks good, handles well, and is as reliable as modern technology can make a car. None finer in this respect. Mileage on highway runs 38-40 mpg. Would have to go to Fantasy Island to get a better car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

2003 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Summary:

Well built and ultra-reliable

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

Very reliable car that has not not missed a beat yet. I prefer the high seating position to that of the Civic and was one reason why I chose the Corolla.

My only quibbles are (1) steering wheel does not adjust for reach (rake only) so I find it uncomfortable if I drive more than 1/2 hour as my arms ache. Most European cars I (I lived in Europe for 15 years) have both rake and reach as standard and it makes for a much more comfortable drive.

(2) The A/C struggles to cope with the Toronto humidity (I had it serviced and recharged).

Other than this I have no issues with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.7-liter 4-cylinder gasoline from North America

Summary:

I should have bought the 100k mile extended warranty

Faults:

Car was delivered with faulty windshield seal. It took over a month and four tries to get the windshield sealed correctly. This was warranty work.

Serpentine belt had to be replaced after two years. This was warranty work.

Battery had to be replaced after three years. This was NOT covered by warranty.

Headlight switch had to be replaced after three years. This was NOT covered by warranty.

Catalytic converter and oxygen sensor need to be replaced now. This is NOT covered by warranty, and no aftermarket catalytic converters are available. The PART ALONE, from Toyota, costs $1300.

There's a suspicious bearing noise that seems to be coming from my alternator. The alternator is still putting out the proper current, so I'm ignoring it for now...

General Comments:

Gas mileage has been excellent. Until the recent emissions problems, I was getting up to 43 mph for highway driving and 30/40 for mixed.

I'm at 92,500 miles, and I'm on the original brakes. And they're still good - I've had them checked.

The clutch still feels like it did the day I drove it home.

The car maneuvers well and is comfortable for day-to-day commuting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

8th Jun 2006, 12:44

I am a bit confused because the review is for a 2002 corolla, but in another part of the review it says that the model year is 2003. Which is it?

10th Apr 2007, 07:04

The catalytic converter most DEFINITELY should have been covered by a warranty. This is federally mandated on this emissions control device... even if the vehicle didn't come with any sort of powertrain warranty whatsoever, your dealership would have been obliged to replace the part on your 2-3 year old car for free.

If they didn't I'd file a complaint with the fta, and start looking for a new dealership.