2003 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2003 Toyota Corolla from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

An OK car, but not great

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, but I am concerned that something will.

General Comments:

The car is a little scary in winter or icy conditions. Very poor tires come with new car.

The engine noise at about 3000 RPM is very loud and annoying. It makes the car feel cheap. This is a real design issue that I am sure Toyota knows about. I bought a Corolla for quality, not a Ford Escort, but this is very disappointing.

Interior noises crop up from time to time, like dashboard vibrations, or window/door vibrations.

Visibility is somewhat obstructed by the windshield frame that protrudes so far forward. I have been surprised by cars that appeared out of no where blocked by these.

I can't get the radio/CD adjusted for quality sound. It seems to have too much bass, or becomes very tinny.

Car is efficient, and if it has the longevity that I am accustomed to I'll probably have it for ten years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

3rd Jun 2004, 05:50

In regards to the scary winter conditions, I had my 2004 Corolla S skid off of the road in the snow last winter. Probably could blame the tires and a little too much speed, however it happened without any warning.

6th Aug 2004, 14:50

I have a hard working 2003 Corolla LE driven 60,000 miles in 23 months. The car is well maintained by the dealer. Life time oil change service cover the every 3000 miles oil change. The rattle noises from the dash and windows is true. I have the same problem. But one problem I have is that when I am driving at 2,000 RPM, about 50 - 55 MPH. There is a humming noise coming from the transmission. It is annoying. The car was took back to the dealer, but the dealer claim they cannot duplicate the noise. For this matter, I have emailed TOYOTA. The result is pending. Does any one have the same problem? I also have a 1999 Corolla CE. It runs great no problem.

2003 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Beautiful, reliable and quick!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am very happy with my Corolla LE. It's good car: quick, reliable, comfortable & beautiful, very easy to handle...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2003

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A quality car for the masses

Faults:

There has been a rattle from the driver's side window when it isn't closed tightly.

Absolutely nothing else.

General Comments:

I chose the Corolla after driving many of the competition's models.

I found the Corolla to be much quieter and smoother riding than any other car in it's class.

I feel that Toyota has done an excellent job in offering a well built, solid and very fuel efficient car at a reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2003

2003 Toyota Corolla LE from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great dependable car for a great price

Faults:

My car is still pretty new, the battery did go dead on one of the coldest nights this past winter. Also the door above the console broke, but was under warranty..

General Comments:

I bought the car because I knew I could depend on a Toyota.

My car is very comfortable and roomy.

I'm very happy with the car's performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2003

2003 Toyota Corolla 1.8 TS 1.8lt (190bhp) from Greece

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8lt (190bhp) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Not for people hating rattles - noises

Faults:

(i) The car has interior build quality problems and the following rattles have appeared:

(1) Dashboard rattles in the region of radio-CD/vents, where the assembly is obviously very unstable. It is very sensitive to differential thermal expansion-contraction and the plastic board bows over the radio when heated during the summer day. The dealers may try to cure it by inserting sponges etc.

(2) Rattles at front door windows over bumps when not fully closed. The glass window appears not tight within its plastic frame.

(3) Occasionally rattles from the window when fully closed.

(4) Rattles from the driver's seat.

(ii) It does not have Double-locks in my country.

General Comments:

Excellent performance of the engine and 6-speed gearbox. Good acceleration over the entire range of engine's operation.

The steering wheel is very "light".

The suspension could be tighter, without loosing the car's comfortable character.

The absence of reach movement for the wheel steering makes the driving position very inconvenient for tall drivers.

Very noisy engine when rotated above 4000rpm.

Nice look when front and back spoilers of Toyota Team Europe (TTE) are installed, but they are not standard.

Nice look of the interior materials-decoration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

31st Oct 2007, 11:56

If you don't like noises, why did you choose this car? Why don't you buy a Mercedes? That one is quiet enough.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 37 reviews