2003 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 gas from North America

Summary:

Faithful companion that barely sips gas

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Car has been excellent. Drives like a dream, gives you 110 miles per hour or up to 42 miles per gallon.

People have no right to complain about this car.

Easy to park, acceleration is excellent.

Stopping is good, not a hard car to drive.

Seats up to five, decent trunk, rear seats drop down.

I just finished a 4000 mile vacation in this car without one bit of trouble.

With gas over $4.00 a gallon, you'd have to be crazy to not love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

2003 Toyota Corolla S 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Not worth it

Faults:

The center console broke within the first 6 months that I had the car.

The carpet below my driving foot wore through from basic use. Like there is a hole there now, from just shifting my foot from gas to brake and so on.

My driver side window recently came off the track and now won't go up or down and makes a horrible metallic thumping sound in my door whenever I tried to use it.

The air filter often smells of dirt and debris even though I have it changed every time Jiffy Lube tells me to.

The strip below my driver side rear door came off after less than a year.

General Comments:

It would be a cool car if you bought it used and got all the kinks out of it, but I would never recommend buying this car new because of the problems I have had with it. Gets decent gas mileage, and the tires are pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2008

16th May 2010, 07:45

You do know that the issue you have with your window was posted for recall, right? Take it to your dealer and they'll fix it for free.

16th May 2010, 11:34

We literally had pieces of interior trim falling off a brand-new Toyota during a test drive. It also had defective brakes that nearly caused an accident.

We bought a GM car. It now has 90,000 miles and has had nothing but one battery and one light bulb. It even still has the original brake pads... and the interior is STILL intact!!

2003 Toyota Corolla LX standard gasoline from North America

Summary:

Major disappointmet

Faults:

By end of second year neither door could be opened with the key.

The trunk release doesn't always work and the trunk key frequently gets stuck.

In the third year I noticed the driver side door gasket was crumbling.

Less than 5 years old when I discovered the little metal flap in the gas filler tank was gone.

General Comments:

The front seats are too soft, causing fatigue and backaches on trips.

The rear post is huge, limiting visibility.

The right door mirror is too big and makes it hard to see in a right turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2008

2003 Toyota Corolla ce gas from North America

Summary:

Amazing quality for the price

Faults:

Nothing!!!

General Comments:

We bought the corolla new in 2003. I own a 4 runner with more than 250,000.00 miles on the original motor/tranny that still runs great so Toyota was my first choice. we bought the base model.

Pluses- 93k on the car and it looks/runs/drives like new.

Zero problems with this car. gas mileage is unreal- 44 mpg highway at 70mph with a/c on. car has plenty of power and rides well given its size. amazing amount of room inside for a small car.

We've replaced 2 tires and the front brake pads- that's it!!!

Minus- this car is not for big guys- at 6' 2" I don't really fit behind the wheel comfortably. since my wife drives this car it's not an issue.

This car explains why Toyota will take over the auto industry- quality! I'm certain this car will go past 200k with no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2007

2003 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from Curacao (Netherlands Antilles)

Summary:

Overrated; Buy an Honda Civic if you need fuel efficiency

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with this car. It is in perfect running condition, except for damage to the components that make up the central console breaking off. Very the cheap interior as that of the VW Jetta.

General Comments:

I bought this car off reviews. I had heard about Toyota and its popularity. I was looking for a fuel efficient car. But instead I got a car that I literally see my gas gauge going down with each KM. I get like 250KM for the tank, driving normally. Gas mileage was better with my 2.5 liter BMW 323i and 2.3 liter Vtec Honda Accord.

Another downside is the very cheap interior; not very durable, you have to be very careful to open the internal pockets. Also very difficult to find a comfortable seating position.

Be very careful how you drive as the handling is poor. Too much body roll. I am very scared to drive this car. Think I will sell it soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2007

7th Jul 2007, 13:54

I always get over 700km per tank of gas and 40+ mpg I don't know what is wrong with your car?

14th May 2008, 23:49

I agree with the first user; I have a Corolla 2003 CE and gives only 220 miles per tank (and I did my maintenance recently).

16th May 2010, 16:36

You should definitely get your car thoroughly inspected because that mileage is way off. I used to own an '03 CE, and even when running the A/C, I still managed to get about 40mpg.